Chevron Left
Вернуться к Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 786
Рецензии: 260

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Лучшие рецензии

VE
10 июля 2020 г.

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
25 сент. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 258 отзывов о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt

автор: Angela C

6 июля 2018 г.

10 stars if I could. I loved this course. I learned so many new facts. I think Mr. Silverman was a great teacher. He explain so many things perfectly to help understand. I would love to meet him if ever in Philadelphia. I have so many questions about what he experienced throughout his career. Thanks so much Mr. Silverman.

автор: Rishita D

4 дек. 2018 г.

If studies can be made so easy and readily available then I think we should not limit ourselves just what we are taught in schools and colleges. Let the door of knowledge open up to all. The course has indeed helped me to learn and kbow something which i always fancied. Now i want to learn more. Thank you.

автор: Eilidh M

18 февр. 2018 г.

This is a really interesting course, which I would strongly recommend to anyone who has the slightest interest in Ancient Egypt and its culture. Particularly interesting were the lectures about hieroglyphics and the tomb of Tutankhamun. I am overwhelmed by Dr. Silverman's knowledge about this subject.

автор: Geng Z

23 дек. 2020 г.

This is an amazing course that brought me on a tour of ancient Egypt across it's art, culture, history and architectures. The videos/lectures are perfectly paced and clear. No doubt a very rewarding and eye-opening course and highly recommended for however fascinated by the ancient Egypt.

автор: Harriet R

21 июня 2020 г.

This has been a really fascinating and engaging course. The materials have been clear and relevant, and the subject matter has been incredibly interesting. Professor Silverman's videos are easy to follow and understand, and are paced well. I really want to take the companion course now!

автор: László S

13 янв. 2018 г.

A very thorough course. I recommend to anyone interested in this wonderful culture. I enjoyed every minute of it and the knowledge gained here will be useful to me in my own art history presentations. Thank you for the essential knowledge and I wish everyone a lot of success!

автор: YOGESH.B

9 авг. 2021 г.

HI, I am Yogesh. I studied this lesson from India. I love reading about history .It was very useful for me. I got to know Ancient Egypt and its rulers and people well. I hope it will be very useful for me to join the archeology in my country ….. Thanks COURSERA 😊😊👍

автор: Akhilesh S

30 мая 2018 г.

Thank you Dr. Silverman and the staff of Penn university for this excellent course. This course, along with the 'Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization' course, provides a detailed and delightful introduction to the world of the Ancient Egyptians.

автор: Andrea M

4 июля 2020 г.

A really good course. Maybe is not like a class but more like some data giving. Though, if you put attention, you can learn interesting facts of Egyptians. Also, you can see that professor master the subject, and that's quite nice. Congrats and thank u.

автор: AMANDA M H

29 нояб. 2017 г.

Excelent! I love It Very muchas And i ' ok but This course.

I like Very much study about Egypt Civilization, their religion, society, culture, ritual. I' mais From Brasil, but This is The Second course by teacher David P. Silverman. See you Soon gere!

автор: E R

1 мая 2021 г.

The content was so interesting and provided a great introduction to Ancient Egyptian civilisation. Also, the fact that deadlines and tests were set helped keep me on track as well as motivated. Would definitely recommend this course!

автор: Connie L

30 апр. 2021 г.

This is a very good follow up course to the first one on the History and Chronology of Ancient Egypt which I completed. I took it because of the interesting topics in this course relating to the different aspects of Egyptian culture.

автор: Yash M

27 июля 2020 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed the learning imparted to me and came to know about a lot of uncanny but fascinating facts about the history of Egypt. The whole experience quenched my desire to know about the wonders did in ancient Egypt.

автор: Michael F T

27 июля 2020 г.

A good introduction and overview of many aspects of Egyptian civilization. Very much enjoyed the concise, yet wide-ranging, discussions in topics such as art and religion, magic, the Amarna period and burial practices.

автор: Dana C

24 апр. 2020 г.

This is my second course with this professor. The course was very interesting and held my attention throughout. The subject matter was clearly communicated and I learned a great deal about Egyptian history and culture.

автор: Genevieve M

30 окт. 2020 г.

i loved this class! thanks so much to penn for making it available & to dr silverman for sharing his time and knowledge with us. i learned so much. if they offered more classes i would take them. i highly recommend it!

автор: Melanie D M

31 авг. 2020 г.

Absolutely loved this course! Much respect to Professor Silverman and his team for putting out such a fantastic curriculum. I have learned so much and wish to continue to do more such courses with University of Penn!

автор: Chelsea B

25 сент. 2020 г.

Dr. Silverman is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Ancient Egypt and I could probably listen to him talk about the subject forever. Lots of fun learning about Ancient Egyptian art, hieroglyphs, and more.

автор: robert h l

20 мар. 2018 г.

This was an excellent course; containing in a few hours of lectures a great amount of learning and information. I learned how to write my name in hieroglyphics! I wish there were more courses on this subject.

автор: laura k

5 июля 2020 г.

It was an outstanding course! A great follow-up to the Introduction class. I learned a great many new things about Egypt and found two other books that I cant wait to read. Thank you for such a good class.

автор: Jacob B

4 янв. 2021 г.

Extremely fascinating subject taught by an expert who truly knows his craft. It was a pleasure to take this course and I would recommend it to anyone looking to further their knowledge about ancient Egypt.

автор: Justine B

4 апр. 2021 г.

A fantastic course packed with detailed and interesting information regarding Ancient Egypt. I thoroughly enjoyed it -- particularly the week dedicated to Hieroglyphs -- and would absolutely recommend it.

автор: Sue E M

26 янв. 2018 г.

It gave me such a thrill!!!!! Looking forward to vising the Pyramids, the Valley of Kings and the museum. They you very much Professor for the insightful and thrilling adventure that this course was to me.

автор: Matheus A

29 дек. 2020 г.

Wonderful, amazing course! Thanks a lot, University of Pensilvania, for making knowledge accessible in all parts of the world! Thanks, Dr. Silverman, for sharing in a simple way little of your expertise!

автор: Lovely L

31 мар. 2018 г.

Thank you very much for this course! Let me get more accurate and in-depth knowledge of Egyptian religion, writing, art and magic. I hope can get more details about the priest in the future. Thanks a lot.