Chevron Left
Вернуться к Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 535
Рецензии: 164

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Лучшие рецензии

MR

Mar 02, 2020

Love this course! I've been obsessed with Egyptology my whole life and after taking both of Dr. Silverman's courses I feel I have a much greater understanding of the mystic civilization!

JT

Apr 08, 2018

This course focuses more on architect, art and language of Egypt, which are all rarely mentioned in other Egypt introducing class. Egypt culture and history is really fascinating!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 163 отзывов о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt

автор: Tihana I

Apr 30, 2019

Very interestingly presented, with a lot of photos. I also loved the story of the discovery of Tutankhamun's tomb, it was like watching a really tense show. :) Thank you, Dr. Silverman, you've taught me a lot.

автор: David K

Dec 02, 2017

This is a very interesting and enjoyable course, and an excellent companion to Professor Silverman's first course, Introduction to Ancient Egypt and its Civilization.

автор: A S

Sep 20, 2019

Excellent course, very interesting topic and very well-presented. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in Egyptian history, art, and archaeology.

автор: Kelly-Anne G

May 14, 2019

Very informative and easy to follow. Would recommend to anyone looking to learn about Ancient Egyptians.

автор: Paolo I

Jun 15, 2020

I liked it. This course is more about the culture than hystory of Ancient Egypt, and I found it's fascinating. Their culture has some kind of mystery and magic, and it is interesting to know more about it. It make me more interesting on learning a bit more.

The only complaint I have is a very minor one, but I think the last lesson could be improved by talking more about the discovery of other tombs, with Tut's being like the high point of the lesson (the last lesson, for instance). I think this a interesting subject and perhaps a miss.

автор: Joseph O

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent Course! Since I live in the Philadelphia Area, I have visited Penn's Museum (many years ago) and now this course has sparked my interest in returning as soon as it re-opens, The intricate language, symbolism and elaborate burial systems used by the Ancient Egyptians are just a few of the reasons that Ancient Egypt was a truly great civilization and so important to the development and establishment of subsequent civilizations! We are forever in debt to the Pharaohs and their subjects!

автор: Lee M J

Dec 03, 2017

Wonders of Ancient Egypt also has further provided me a more in-depth knowledge and understanding of ancient Egypt. Dr Silverman is extremely knowledgeable in ancient Egyptian History and Language. I was very impressed by his Hieroglyph writing lectures as well. Reading and learning about King Tut's discovery by Howard Carter was the highlight of this course. : ) Thank you very much Dr Silverman and Penn University for providing this course. : )

автор: Khalukhaev S

Jun 17, 2019

Good and interesting course containing a great deal of useful information. For example I've learned 6 Gardiner's lessons of Ancient Egyptian and haven't received any information about "Interrogative sentences" yet. While Mr. Silverman gave a simple interrogative word that is used by egyptians like "Question mark" in english or interrogative word "Hal" in arabic.

автор: Emelyne R

Sep 02, 2019

I took this class because I was in a period of my life where I hadn't any job but I didn't have the will to actually do anything teaching or law related. I always loved Egypt and its history, this class actually taught me a lot about it. It's easy to stay on tracks and if you like history and Egypt this is a good course to do during summer and holidays time !

автор: Michael G L

May 28, 2020

Excellent and well constructed. I learned a great deal. I would not have found this without the course. I also appreciate the fact that this course DOES NOT make use of peer-reviewed assignments. Those are annoying, are poorly graded, and often get stuck when a course has few enrollments. The assessments are strictly quizzes.

автор: Angela C

Jul 06, 2018

10 stars if I could. I loved this course. I learned so many new facts. I think Mr. Silverman was a great teacher. He explain so many things perfectly to help understand. I would love to meet him if ever in Philadelphia. I have so many questions about what he experienced throughout his career. Thanks so much Mr. Silverman.

автор: Rishita D

Dec 04, 2018

If studies can be made so easy and readily available then I think we should not limit ourselves just what we are taught in schools and colleges. Let the door of knowledge open up to all. The course has indeed helped me to learn and kbow something which i always fancied. Now i want to learn more. Thank you.

автор: Eilidh M

Feb 18, 2018

This is a really interesting course, which I would strongly recommend to anyone who has the slightest interest in Ancient Egypt and its culture. Particularly interesting were the lectures about hieroglyphics and the tomb of Tutankhamun. I am overwhelmed by Dr. Silverman's knowledge about this subject.

автор: Harriet R

Jun 21, 2020

This has been a really fascinating and engaging course. The materials have been clear and relevant, and the subject matter has been incredibly interesting. Professor Silverman's videos are easy to follow and understand, and are paced well. I really want to take the companion course now!

автор: László S

Jan 13, 2018

A very thorough course. I recommend to anyone interested in this wonderful culture. I enjoyed every minute of it and the knowledge gained here will be useful to me in my own art history presentations. Thank you for the essential knowledge and I wish everyone a lot of success!

автор: Simrah N

Apr 30, 2020

David P. Silverman explains everything in such vivid detail that the entire course I felt as if I was in Egypt walking across the remains of the old burial sites. He is brilliant and I am thankful that I could take a course under his guidance and especially from himself.

автор: Akhilesh S

May 30, 2018

Thank you Dr. Silverman and the staff of Penn university for this excellent course. This course, along with the 'Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization' course, provides a detailed and delightful introduction to the world of the Ancient Egyptians.

автор: AMANDA M H

Nov 29, 2017

Excelent! I love It Very muchas And i ' ok but This course.

I like Very much study about Egypt Civilization, their religion, society, culture, ritual. I' mais From Brasil, but This is The Second course by teacher David P. Silverman. See you Soon gere!

автор: Dana C

Apr 24, 2020

This is my second course with this professor. The course was very interesting and held my attention throughout. The subject matter was clearly communicated and I learned a great deal about Egyptian history and culture.

автор: robert h l

Mar 21, 2018

This was an excellent course; containing in a few hours of lectures a great amount of learning and information. I learned how to write my name in hieroglyphics! I wish there were more courses on this subject.

автор: Jacob B

Apr 14, 2020

Extremely fascinating subject taught by an expert who truly knows his craft. It was a pleasure to take this course and I would recommend it to anyone looking to further their knowledge about ancient Egypt.

автор: Sue E M

Jan 26, 2018

It gave me such a thrill!!!!! Looking forward to vising the Pyramids, the Valley of Kings and the museum. They you very much Professor for the insightful and thrilling adventure that this course was to me.

автор: Lovely L

Mar 31, 2018

Thank you very much for this course! Let me get more accurate and in-depth knowledge of Egyptian religion, writing, art and magic. I hope can get more details about the priest in the future. Thanks a lot.

автор: Sirma S B

Jan 31, 2020

Captivating lectures and the material was presented with a focus on the most important historic moments.Absolutely recommend it to those who want to become part of this amazing civilization and culture.

автор: Anna M

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed very much this course! The explanations are very clear and detailed , it is a fascinating subject. I enjoyed above all imagines, pictures and photos! I recommend the enrollment !