Chevron Left
Вернуться к Managing Social and Human Capital

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Managing Social and Human Capital от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 1,951
Рецензии: 339

О курсе

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Лучшие рецензии

DM

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J

Nov 05, 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Фильтр по:

301–325 из 334 отзывов о курсе Managing Social and Human Capital

автор: Daniele P

Jul 04, 2020

I come from the aviation industry so I am not new to human resources studies. I believe this course could use a bit more structure. I am a big believer in stating objectives of the lecture and content before diving in the content itself. Often I found myself at the end of the video before I was able to understand what the Professor was gettin at. A bit more structure could have made the course a little bit easier.

The tests were pertinent and the lectures covered all subjects.

All in all not a bad introduction to the necessity to manage human factors.

автор: Inés K

Jul 05, 2020

I found this course rather boring, too many common places, too many things that are obvious if you just give them a little thought. Going back to Taylor seems overdoing it, anybody with some knowledge of US history knows about Taylor. The examples seemed outdated (except for week 4, with Chuck). On the whole, not a course that made me gain new insights.

автор: Miguel R

Jun 19, 2018

I liked the first teacher. The second one, not so much. His slides were too information heavy and he just blazed through it without alluding to it. I know WE, the students, have the pause button. But come on, use your technology (example: the accounting professor Brain Bushee puts a little pause sign and lags a little before continuing).

автор: Waffa N

Apr 25, 2020

I have learn some interesting point. However, coming from a Psychology background, I've heard about a lot of what is mentioned in this course. The professors could be a little more engaging since a lot of subjects don't seem interesting and some examples are useless and not efficient.

автор: Vanessa A D S M

Sep 07, 2019

The overall course was informative however when talking about the cases/examples it became tedious and made the distraction more prevalent. It would be interesting to see if there can be a change in the structure of the course making it more dynamic/interactive for the learner.

автор: Aubrey B

May 08, 2018

The course was informative but shallow. I was hoping for a more in-depth review of the topics, and I felt that time was wasted on the professors' lengthy and mostly-irrelevant anecdotes that were hard to follow and harder to pull meaningful information out of.

автор: Trent B

Sep 03, 2017

You talked about Taylor without touching on Gilbreth. Both laid the foundation for our understanding of manufacturing and processes. Also, include a social capital portion on trust and managing that with public, customer and within the enterprise.

автор: Andrew B

Apr 18, 2019

The quality of this course compared to others in the Business Foundations specialization was disappointing. I did not feel that the professors took the same amount of time to create helpful visuals and presentations as they did in previous courses.

автор: Andreas K

May 24, 2018

A nice course with important concepts pointing out the importance of the subject Human and Social capital. On the other hand it scrapes only on the surface of this important area for a manager.

автор: Federico B

Dec 06, 2017

First two weeks were super interesting; the second two seemed a little "dispersive", lots of time focused on the details of the examples but not enough explaining on the core messages.

автор: Keiran H

Apr 16, 2020

Very much an introductory course with fairly slim content supported by a lot of examples. This felt a lot less substantial than the Intro to Marketing course in this specialisation.

автор: Amy T Z

Feb 13, 2020

I was hoping this course would go deeper into psychological managing. This course seems better suited to just learning the architecture of the building departments.

автор: Jonah R

Jul 01, 2020

Case studies were good but it was otherwise a very theoretical course and didn't often feel like it could be boiled down to everyday application.

автор: Rahul S

Jun 24, 2020

The notes from Mike were not very interactive. ALso the flow of Mike's presentation was not captivating

автор: Roman P

Jan 20, 2018

Great introduction. A bit more depth and breadth (ie. 8 week course) would be terrific!

автор: Gusen Y

Jan 19, 2018

Way too easy and general...I wanna learn more from the instructors.

автор: Gil R

Dec 19, 2016

I think more examples would have been better for the class.

автор: Balazs M

Aug 04, 2017

Thought provoking albeit at times vague and dragged out.

автор: Jordan X R

Mar 24, 2020

It started off strong but lost momentum.

автор: Kyle N

Sep 22, 2019

Could be a bit more interesting

автор: Marc T

Dec 19, 2019

Content is too anecdotal.

автор: Nolan S

Jul 13, 2020

Boring!

автор: Niwech H

Nov 20, 2016

5 points out of 5 for professor Peter. 1 point out of 5 for professor Mike. The first 2 weeks were good as professor Peter presented with very brief and sum up the ideas. On another hand, the last 2 weeks were bad, professor Mike didn't do well in term of summary. He spent 70% for introduction of each topic before reaching to the points that he want to make. Most of the time, he didn't make any points. Plus he didn't answer the questions that he asked. I am disappointed. I was expecting to learn more as the course structure was impressive BUT the actual lectures are not covered the topic.

автор: Steve M

Apr 21, 2020

This is a survey course. It uses several simple case studies to explain some basic points, but does not go into detail in any particular area. For example the course does not explain well different organizational models or their strengths and weaknesses (functional, regional, etc). I expected more than a cursory mention of matrix management, which is powerful but complex to implement well. There are no hands-on activities other than quizzes at the end of the week. The subtitles are broken and/or of poor quality in several of the videos.

автор: Janice A

May 04, 2020

I think the Professors are both great and well-knowledged, but I find that the presentation of the material could have been better. I find that case studies took too much time to present and discuss, and I also think that the quizzes do not highlight the importance of the materials. The quizzes contain too many trivial questions and those that do not have much added value to the learning experience.