Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,480
Рецензии: 1,291

О курсе

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Фильтр по:

1226–1250 из 1,264 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

автор: Mike B

Dec 14, 2016

Way, way too basic and hand wavy.

автор: Handong D B

Jul 26, 2016

the lecturer is kind of boring

автор: Krishna M R

Dec 30, 2017

This course is for beginners

автор: Syed M H A

Jan 17, 2018

P

r

a

c

t

I

c

l

e

E

x

a

m

p

l

e

s

?

?

?

автор: Shraman G

Oct 13, 2016

Basic but informative

автор: Apurva D

Aug 10, 2017

Good but too easy

автор: weihaochai

Jul 29, 2018

too simple

автор: Ng C

Dec 16, 2017

very basic

автор: Marta

Mar 19, 2017

The student needed to have a good foundation of statistics and high levels of math to be able to follow the class. I have not taken statistics or trigonometry in many years so I struggled. I would have benefited greatly if there were more examples of how to calculate the models, including the calculations part of it. The professor did not do that and that got me wondering (not knowing) how to calculate the formulas. I think if I had seen a few examples, it would have been enough to understand and keep up.

So, more step-by-step instructions on the mechanics of formulas, would be my biggest recommendation.

But the professor did a superb job explaining the concepts, and showcasing some industry applications of the models.

Thank you for asking.

автор: Rubén M F

Feb 27, 2016

Great explanations provided by Prof. Waterman, however for the price of this course (in my view quite expensive) the materials available are quite poor (e.g. the formulas shown in the pdf slides are a mess, not a mathematical summary, etc), and the level of the quizzes is very basic. I would have expected much more from a course coming from Whaton.

автор: Saman K

Mar 03, 2016

I liked the course because of its format and material. Basically it was comprehensive.

I did not like the presentation and lack of practical examples. I had to force myself to concentrate at times and search other sources for more detailed insight.

автор: nikhil c

Mar 11, 2017

Its good for the starters but touches very few and very basic concepts. No offense, but the professor could have made it much more interaction by making the better slights he would just read values without even using markers

автор: Nadine F

May 03, 2020

I love this subject, but the way it was taught here was extremely boring and hard to follow/focus. I took it this class at NYU for grad school (higher level), so I was just looking to refresh and almost died.

автор: Robert P E

Jun 23, 2020

Needs more interaction from the teacher. Use animations to make the math more understandable or dynamic. Consider adding practice problems as a check to see if students are understanding the concepts.

автор: Michael S

Mar 24, 2016

Really superficial overview, I suppose it's good for just familiarizing oneself with assigning the appropriate model, but to shallow for any real carry over to the real world.

автор: Davide B

May 10, 2016

It is very easy and somehow less impacting on real business problem. I hope this Microdegree will get into some kind of complexity otherwise will remain high school level.

автор: Savannah B

Jul 01, 2018

If you have taken a statistics course in the past, this course is not super useful besides understanding which models are used for specific business problems.

автор: Leah M

Mar 31, 2018

Explanations not clear. Difficult to follow equations in slides (variables and equations are not repeated from slide to slide).

автор: Abhishek T G

Jan 30, 2017

Personally, did not like the pace of the course. The course can be a bit more interesting with real-life case studies.

автор: nishanth

Jun 12, 2020

Content is good. But the overall course could have been designed better with some hands on exercises.

автор: Andrey V

Dec 31, 2016

Just the basics. No concrete explanations of models. You have to study them on your own.

автор: Deleted A

Apr 27, 2016

Very basic and the lectures are short in duration. Not what I expected from this course.

автор: Mohammed A O

Jan 28, 2020

Too difficult for a beginner, lecture fails to reach to the main point directly

автор: Alia s

Apr 27, 2020

at some point it was a little bit complicated for me