Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,474
Рецензии: 1,290

О курсе

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Фильтр по:

1151–1175 из 1,263 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

автор: Joshua G

May 27, 2020

Much of this course requires some previous knowledge of calculus and economic thinking. I found that much of this course was a mixture between my business calculus course and intermediate micro economics course that I have taken at college. I think it is unreasonable to call this a beginner level course given that I recognize a lot of the information from intermediate college level coursework.

автор: Jordan R

Mar 09, 2016

A good introductory course but it would have been nice to see a bit more of the math behind the models. I don't think the assessments were worth upgrading to the paid version of the course though. They were basically memorization and regurgitation directly from the lecture videos with very little, if any, thinking required. A bit disappointing from an institution like Wharton.

автор: YUTING W

Apr 03, 2016

The lecture is clear, but it's a fundamental lesson which could not learn many things, just theories. Furthermore, I suggest that there should be solution hints for Quiz, because students will be frustrated by not knowing the answers and not knowing how to fix them. In addition, the discussion broad is a little bit cold and lack of mentors to help students.

автор: Rechal S

May 27, 2020

The theory part is good but it is not explained with how the equation or graph is created, only meaning is explained which makes the course less dynamic as at the end of the course one feel that the knowledge is incomplete and have to go back and reunderstand when I will understand the logic and how those equation or graph is developed.

автор: Roshni R

Oct 27, 2017

The course was helpful to understand key statistical concepts but I hope it would have been worked on a little bit more to make it less boring. I do understand it's rather difficult to make quantitative courses interesting but this is just my feedback to the makers of the course so they can take it into account as and if they desire.

автор: Kaiquan M

Feb 12, 2016

This course was a good refresher of mathematical and statistical concepts. I found the mathematical and statistical concepts applied to modelling interesting. I never knew that what I learned in high school in the past can actually be used to come up with models to solve business problems. Some videos were a bit long though.

автор: Hanwen

Jan 26, 2020

I thought this course was going to talk more about quantitative investment model, there's going to be more finance knowledge, but it's totally mathematical models, and I had actually learnt these mathematical models in other courses. I don't think the name of the lecture and introduction perfactly matches the contentIs.

автор: Anna D

Feb 27, 2017

This is a quick run-through different types of distributions. I found it useful as a recap of things I learned in high school (!) and there were some additional insights. However, I think this course might be hard if you never did any more advanced (high school) math.

автор: Chetan D

Nov 25, 2019

Good Course but the lecturer misses a lot of details and assumes the target students understand most of the basic math such as logarithms. Without further researching those concepts, the equations are a bit difficult to understand and interpret in a practical way.

автор: Suraj V

Oct 16, 2016

I believe this was a very good course for beginners. However, from Wharton, I would have expected more realistic examples. I would have also liked some hands-on assignments. But, otherwise.. Great, great course from a beginners point-of-view! Thank you so much!

автор: Thanos V

May 04, 2020

The performance of the teacher was excellent, he is very communicative and you could watch him teach for hours, the reading material though should be more helpful, more available sources for further reading and any book chapters or hall books would be ideal

автор: Jose H

Nov 12, 2017

It would have been nice to have some of the back work for some of the numbers provided in the RMSE, or R squared numbers. To better understand how those were calculated... instead of just taking someone's word for it.

автор: Himanshu G

May 15, 2020

The course covers a variety of concepts regarding the quantitative modelling which is good, but the description is very shallow. It would have been even better had it described concepts in more detail.

автор: Abhishek J

May 30, 2020

I found this course a beginner level plus as it's one of the modules of Business and financial modelling I prefer to have some practical education in this module to how to use these in a spreadsheet.

автор: Daniyal A

Aug 19, 2017

Very basic stuff, not sure if it really helped me learn new things, just a bunch of terminology. Very well explain, perhaps I didn't fit the target audience (then again I'm just a student right now).

автор: Corentin R

Jun 13, 2020

Maths level required is really low while in the mean time explaining technical aspect but not digging in. Explanation are sometimes not enough to understand what the calculation steps really are.

автор: Stefan M

Mar 01, 2017

Course is helpful as a refresher to econ and business students who took some statistics in college. Someone who has never taken such courses will probably find this course much less helpful.

автор: Paolo X M M

Dec 16, 2019

A good course, but I had to use a lot of outside resources to wrap my head around the math. This course requires substantially more mathematical knowledge to move forward than it suggests.

автор: Nitay P H

Nov 30, 2017

the questions, even though the niveau is quite low but you don't really get any great insight and may be wrong if you didn't hear or read a word., Even though you've understood it.

автор: Luis M M d S

Apr 29, 2018

Useful Fundamentals, basic but helped to refresh college contents.

Coherent exams.

Could go deeper on the mathematical concepts and examples for better understanding.

автор: Dario R J d S

Apr 27, 2020

It would be great to give student a list of exercises to practice before the quizzes. It will help understand the content (specially the calculations) better.

автор: Alejandro E S R

Jan 15, 2020

More exercises after each concept, and more specifically non-similar to the example exercises might be very helpful in cementing the concept

автор: Aditya A M

Feb 01, 2020

The Explanation was a little too technical for me. Also I wasn't satisfied with the examples. Other than that, everything was solid.

автор: A D S F J

May 06, 2020

Really helpful in understanding the different models but if you wish to learn a bit more depth of modelling go to the next course.