Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,569
Рецензии: 1,306

О курсе

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Фильтр по:

876–900 из 1,278 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

автор: J R R D

Mar 02, 2020

Very good course which provides of an overview of what fundamental of quantitative modeling is. The professor gives a practical examples in how to apply in real life the modeling. I think he is an excellent lecturer in this subject. I have seen these topics many years ago and now I have to review them and study to apply in my job and make my life easier and practical. Thanks!

автор: Ridhima J

May 23, 2020

Course is overall nice and is essential if you want to have a strong base in financial concepts but I think log - log model is a little advanced and difficult for beginner I mean the other concepts are been explained so well that a beginner can try hands on in modelling , but I want to say I m grateful that I attended this course because it had made my roots way strong.

автор: Matzen S

Jul 08, 2017

Helpful course in that it introduced the baseline topics in quantitative modeling. I would have liked to see two things improve, however. First, this course doesn't give any refresher or examples on how to calculate set up and calculate some of the models and summaries presented. Second, I would like more assignments rather than a simple multiple choice exam.

автор: Krystle J

May 10, 2020

Great course but the exams really need to have explanations for the answers to each question. Very frustrating to get things wrong and not know what the right answer is and why. Also, sometimes the exam marks you wrong when the answer is right! I had to email the actual professor of this course to confirm that an answer on the test was marked incorrectly.

автор: Bill L

Aug 27, 2017

The course was a good introductory course in quantitative modeling. I would have liked if the course required more problems to be done to gain some skills and a better and deeper understanding of the subject. I would say though that it was presented very clearly and was approachable, even for someone that hasn't taken calculus or statistics in 25 years.

автор: John M

Jun 15, 2020

The instructor presented the lessons well and explained the ideas and uses behind the models thoroughly, but it felt like this course brushed over some of the equations in the later modules without breaking them down enough for the novice. Without a background in Probability and Statistics, the math was doable, but difficult to grasp in a meaningful way.

автор: Pranav B

Apr 05, 2020

This is a very concise yet informative course. Ideal for people who can't dedicate a lot of time to learn about modeling, regression, etc and don't want to get into the rigorous mathematical aspects behind these concepts. Being an introductory course, this course satisfactorily provides a cursory glance at the content matter. All in all a Good course

автор: Hernando E

May 02, 2020

I was a bit apprehensive about this course, based primarily on its title.

The professor's lecturing style made learning very easy.

The quizzes achieved a near perfect balance between theory and equations.

The final module was rather complex and might have benefited from a little bit more explanation.

Overall an excellent course

автор: Rohit K

Jul 07, 2020

the course is well designed , from basic to a higher level and. Even though I knew the math functions , I learnt how useful and suitable in financial world.

Only suggestion: add more examples so that attempting the assignments becomes even better. examples are appreciated in pdf form if not included in the lecture videos.

автор: Teresa L

Sep 23, 2020

This course gives a good overview of different models and when you'd use them. It's pretty basic so if you've ever done economics or finance before, you'll find this repetitive. That being said, I found it to be a decent refresher course. The instructor is a bit dry, but it's rare to find a finance professor who's not.

автор: Jorge A

Apr 20, 2020

It is a useful course to help orient and introduce statistical concepts and refresh the toolkits priorly received on college or university studies, however, it should include material for refreshing calculus and other required techniques that are used in this topics to complement the reading/practice part of the week.

автор: Rahul R

Jun 11, 2017

Very useful course from a fundamental perspective. It really teaches you the base of all the models and why and how they're formed. It could have been even better if some problems would have been given for practice as after a certain period of time it becomes difficult to recollect the formulas and their applications.

автор: Ian L

Apr 02, 2020

Good course. The professor provided some good explanations and insight. However, I believe it could use a couple more walk-through's of the example problems along with more chances to practice. I think it should also show/explain incorrect answers after quizzes as to deepen the understanding of the person testing.

автор: William H

Sep 15, 2016

The instructor is exceptional at taking complex concepts and using examples to make them understandable. There is a lot of information so reviewing the videos within the different modules may be necessary. You will get a lot of good information and understand how to practically apply it. Very useful.

автор: Bonnie M

Feb 07, 2020

This was a great refresher course into math that I haven't thought about in a really long time. I wish there were more examples through the slides so that I could fully wrap my head around it, especially in relation to the quizzes, but overall, the course was great and did what it was supposed to.

автор: Amit G

May 24, 2020

Pros: This is a very good course to start with the quantitative modelling concepts, the professor explains every concept with well defined and structured examples. definitely recommendable to the beginners.

Cons: The professor could use some more practical examples/scenarios to explain better.

автор: Khalifa A

Jul 13, 2017

it's really a pleasure to get the certificate from such of great university by the deserve and knowledge ...i thanks to all the teachers who help us to achieve and understand the course , i mean it's was really good experience and the lecture that i got we'll help me in my professional life

автор: Varun K

Jul 14, 2020

It could have been more interactive. They should try incorporating a few practice exercises, or ask us to work out solutions to a few problems before the actual assessment.

Other than that, it is a really well explained lecture, and trains you in the fundamentals of quantitative modeling

автор: Dannie W

Sep 11, 2018

The course is relatively easy if you have taken economics, linear algebra, and probability and statistics in college. It's more like a review. This entire specialization does not applies more broadly to any quantitative models than just a DCF model that investment bankers would use.

автор: Nicholas J C

Jan 28, 2019

Should have short sets of practice problems to work through between the lecture and the quiz. While I can often go back and just find the answer from my notes, drilling is the best way to learn stuff like this imo, and at least optional problem sets would be hugely helpful.

автор: Daniel d G

Jun 30, 2017

It was great learning. This kind of subject matter has always been difficult for me to understand, and it still was to a certain extend. However, in this course complex concepts are broken down into more easily digestable chunks illustrated by clear examples. Great course.

автор: Ankit G

May 26, 2020

Course content was good, however I feel that the concepts should be explained with examples having large data. There should be database based assignments for practice and evaluations. This would bring in more confidence while using these concepts in the real world.

автор: Aseem K

Aug 25, 2020

It is a great course but the way of instruction could be more innovative and incorporate more interativeness. Also please develop a prerequisite knolwedge section as for many, the mathematical concepts or the knowledge thereof seems alien like or long forgotten!

автор: ricardo h

Sep 18, 2019

Good overview of fundamentals of Quantitative model, yet most is theoretical and lack the part where it shows some actual practice. this would be detailing software used for each methodology. So that it gives a glimpse of what other skills one needs to develop,

автор: Ana L P d S

Jul 24, 2017

This course is really good, but it would be nice of the professor would explain a little bit better the formulas of the course. I did buy the book written by the professor but still find it hard to solve some of the problems in the tests. Overall, great course!