Chevron Left
Вернуться к Improving Communication Skills

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Improving Communication Skills от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
stars
Оценки: 795
Рецензии: 190

О курсе

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Лучшие рецензии

AJ

Mar 10, 2018

What a great class!! I enjoyed every bit of it! and learned alot about how trust and deception work. The mechanism of Goal setting and ideas about how to have an effective conversation.

TR

Feb 25, 2019

Great material, the professor does a great job explaining complex topics in a straightforward and plain way. You will get very insightful takeaways for your life and work afterwords.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 184 отзывов о курсе Improving Communication Skills

автор: Robert C

Oct 29, 2018

Some parts of this course were good and some weren't. I would have liked to have heard less of telling stories and more focus on communication. I totally disagree with the whole concept that there is any platform where threats are a good idea. I would have like to have seen more clarity in the lectures about core and non-core violations. The lecture veered off into stories about well's Fargo, Martha Stewart, David Letterman and political figures. I would have liked to have seen the quizzes do a better job of reflecting the lectures instead of being a game of chance. Or, whack a mole. Mostly, I found this course to be a bunch of crap mostly because of the stories which had no real bearing on the course. After the second week, I quit watching the lectures and downloaded the scripts. There probably needs to be further readings if a topic isn't covered very well.

автор: César A d F R

May 12, 2019

Great overall course, multiple nuances, and insights presented on a variety of subjects related to communication. On the negative side, the evaluation could be more interactive, not only consisting of multiple choice quizzes but maybe include some written task or even video eschange.

автор: Olena W

May 29, 2019

I did really enjoy the course. I gave a different perspective on situations and personal behaviour. The approach was very effective and the knowledge sticks in your mind. Very good.

автор: bikram k

Sep 23, 2018

The course is good. I would like to see exercises and tools that can we used, practiced in daily life.

автор: Sergio C

Aug 07, 2018

I find the course simplified and therefore effective. I enjoyed it and believe it is going to be useful moving forward. However, I believe some quizzes were not clear enough and lead to confusion.

автор: Ella P

May 15, 2019

Professor Maurice Schweitzer is obviously an expert in this field, and it was great to be able to learn from him. Course was very useful and thoughtfully presented.

Thank you!

автор: Audra G

Aug 28, 2018

Gave me strategies on communicating with others

автор: Max P

Dec 05, 2019

I particularly like Prof. Schweitzer and you can actually download most of the papers he authored and co-authored from his university website. After reading at least abstract and discussion / conclusion of most of his paper (and with some already quite a lot more) published after 2000, I noticed that this course really does distill his work quite well. A lot of the practical implications can be learned in this course and whoever wants to dive deeper has his papers, for free.

I found most inspiring so far that negotiator self-efficacy moderates negative effects of anxiety on negotiator behavior (Schweitzer et al., 2009), which very much motivates me on learning even more about negotiations than learned in this course already. Apparently, University of Michigan just started offering a specialization on Coursera.

Working in the Customer Service Industry I found the whole course very illuminating. I use some of the concepts already but learning about context and theory behind them certainly will aid me in further developing on my tactics and influencing others in my company so that we can offer better service to our customers.

Thank you Prof. Schweitzer, University of Pennsylvania and everybody involved. Cheers

автор: Francesco A

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course, althought -- as some reviewers before me observed, the quizzes are sometimes too easy and could be more challenging; moreover, I would have liked to have the possibility of a more direct contact with the professor, as it happens with other courses on Coursera (ie: responses on the discussion forums). Expect to spend about the 20% more of the recommended time for Module (Week) 4, which is the most interesting and gives all the knowledge you need to apply the ideas you have learnt in real life situations. Do not rush. I suggest to binge-watch the course after completing it just as a refresh. Kudos to Mr. Schweitzer!

автор: Chiraz G

Apr 20, 2018

The course was really helpful and intriguing to me. it's richly embellished by real life examples that are sometimes funny yet very informative and relevant. This course will teach you a great deal about trust and how to build it using verbal and non verbal cues, how to negotiate effectively, how to apologize effectively and make the most of goals setting and many other useful and related topics. I really recommend it for anyone who wants to up his communication game. Last but not least, Prof Maurice is just amazing and very knowledgeable about what he's talking about.

автор: Bhargav G

Jan 12, 2018

I like the fact that this course has very solid points in very short videos. I appreciate that I am able to audit this course for free. I have enjoyed the concepts taught in the course and in fact felt surprising at times how much a communication plays in every role we play.

Caution: the course is very dense in valuable points and often without too much details. It is the duty of the viewer to take time to sink in the depth of the points on their own. It can be very easy to hover over the video without understanding the complete sense of points.

автор: Lydia M

Aug 11, 2017

This course was interesting to me because I originally thought it would be something about "how to get people to like you more", but it actually turned out to be on a much deeper level. We considered motivations, reasons for people to behave in a certain way as well as more practical ways to resolve situations through communication and better understanding of underlying motives and processes. Greatly satisfied with what I have learned!

автор: Adnan T

Dec 21, 2017

I would just like to say thank you for the effort and expertise that you brought and for the good learning opportunity. It was very informative, very well presented, plus enjoyable. I have learned so much and have already started to use some of the strategies and tools you gave us and they are working remarkably well. This was a whole new experience for me , and would really recommend it for others.

автор: Caroline H

Jan 28, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Schweitzer's "Improving Communication Skills" course. It was an unexpected lecture for me in terms of the materials being taught. However, I really appreciated learning about social dynamics, the breakdown and analyses, of communication. Professor Schweitzer is a great instructor and has kept my attention for these past 4 weeks of lecture. Great course!

автор: Mohammed E

Jul 04, 2018

Great course and I really liked the ideas and concepts shared in it. It really helps how you can improve your communication skills and how you can use these skills on a professional level. Also, it combines practical tips and tactics you can use to apply those different skills. I strongly recommend it to anyone want to improve his/her own communication.

автор: Kierra A W

Jun 24, 2019

I strongly encourage taking this course! The descriptions and explanations for each topic are rich, informative, and interesting. Each week holds lots of information that has changed my perspective on communication and the best way to get what you want. Overall, this course is extremely exciting and I strongly recommend taking it.

автор: Piotr

Jul 07, 2018

Very interesting course which is increasing awareness about people behaviours while we communicate. You can understand why some people are better in communication then others. There are few information which I can apply to my day to day life, whereas majority is more of informational knowledge.Still I am recommending it.

автор: Ruiqi J

Dec 10, 2017

The course is structured, informative, and not dull to take; the professor speaks with a loud, clear and engaging voice that adds motivation to stay in the course. Understand the materials used come from primarily academic studies, it'd be better/helps understanding if more example of life-related scenarios can be used.

автор: M V B

Dec 02, 2017

Improving communication skills is of utmost important course. It helps in learning the key concepts of communication by building the capability to understand comparisons, rivalry and other important concepts. Application of the concepts explained in the module will elevate oneself as a good leader.

автор: sara m m

Sep 11, 2017

Dr Maurice Schweitzer thank you very much for every thing really I learned a lot from this course that helps me in my life and I like your way in explanation it is much pretty I have enjoyed attending this course really I will miss this helpful , amazing lectures that I have learned a lot from it

автор: Chin L Y

Oct 17, 2019

Great knowledge that I can use in advertisement, networking, buying process, team management, sales/ profit motivation ( what not to do), interview, making friends feel important, portraying oneself as the more honest and approachable person, reducing rivalry and in turn becoming happier.

автор: Sharad A

Nov 10, 2019

Excellent material on important topics that are usually taken for granted or dealt with intuitively, and often incorrectly. A highly recommended course to better understand the way of the world, and equip oneself to deal with it, and transform it to a global good.

автор: Michele C

Oct 08, 2017

I really enjoyed the course.

I have learn smooch about communication by considering my counterpart first and also by considering her/his implicit communication.

Most of the topics touched in the course are very helpful in my daily working life.

Thank you for that.

автор: Shapkina E

Mar 24, 2019

That was a challenging course. A lot of new vocabulary and course by itself took a lot attention and time from me. I am happy I completed it and I wish now to read all notes and start applying knowledge in practice. Thanks for this course. Regards, Elizaveta.

автор: Hrishikesh

Oct 10, 2017

Brilliant course. Coming from the field of design, these communication skills are extremely important when dealing with clients and with users. The instructor provided plenty of examples to explain the concepts he was teaching. The load was not heavy either!