Chevron Left
Вернуться к Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications от партнера Датский технический университет (DTU)

4.6
stars
Оценки: 367
Рецензии: 94

О курсе

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Лучшие рецензии

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

XL

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 94 отзывов о курсе Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

автор: Robert F

Jan 28, 2019

This course is mostly just an advertisement for the particular tools created by the CGE. It would have benefited from deeper explanations of the algorithms at many points. It didn't really build skills, though I am certainly more aware of the breadth of their online tools now.

автор: Douglas A H

Dec 29, 2017

I quite liked the instructors, but after the first few lessons, the course essentially becomes an advertisement/user manual for their university's (admittedly free) online software tools.

автор: Sören W

Jan 07, 2019

It is basically a commercial for their tools. Not much content to learn.

автор: Pham T T T

Sep 17, 2017

Thank you great team from DTU, I get to understand NGS via your detailed explanation and useful demonstration as well as example exercise. Cheers

автор: Claudia M d l P

Aug 27, 2019

Muy buen curso para iniciar con el análisis de secuencias masivas de cepas que pudieran estar implicadas en brotes epidemiológicos. Felicidades

автор: Erica Y

Oct 01, 2018

Good course for a beginner. Generally, help me understand whole genome sequencing of bacteria. Will follow other course that they have provide.

автор: Marwa M M B

Aug 19, 2017

It is totally beneficial course for those who are working in epidemiology, however; I was expected to learn different tools for species and microbial communities identification.

автор: Gourab D

Aug 20, 2017

Madam/Sir,

I am a Computer Science Engineer, I am doing research in University of Calcutta in Machine Learning. I have some interest in Bioinformatics. It is not possible for me to grab all the aspect in that subject. So, I am grabbing it in scattered way. The course I have completed in "DTU" has captured a complete different aspect which I haven't seen before. The most important things is that it is a very neat and clean course with a specific direction. All the labs which I have performed here has been well taught in various videos. Though it is not possible for me to understand every parts of all the videos but still it gives me enough knowledge to complete the practicals. I hope it will help me in future run.

I would like to specify just one problem related with the course. Every course in Coursera has "Discussion Forum" corresponding to every week, which I have found missing, as it solves lot of dynamic problem in each week's tutorial. I am sorry if "Discussion Forum" is already there and I have ignored that.

Thanks You very much,

Gourab Das

автор: Varun C

Jan 02, 2020

First of all I would like to thank coursera and DTU for providing such a good platform where one can learn and get trained in the subjects of ones interest from the leading experts. The course was very informative and I should say that I have learned something new which I was not familiar with, and would surely look forward for more such trainings by DTU team in future. The way of teaching by the DTU team was very nice especially by Dr Pimlapas.

автор: Audrey V

Nov 21, 2018

I only just begin taking part in it and all I can say is I am enjoying it even though I am a bit behind schedule and my first attempt was 60%, I will try again and aim high with better understanding. Thank you for the opportunity and the financial aid that was approved for me to attend the course. I am determined to do my best. What I also like is the clear teaching or lecturing manner of all the presenters of the course.

автор: Kira K

Dec 04, 2018

This is a great class presenting a user-friendly web tool CGE pipeline that is ready to help all researches with their bioinformatics data. It can even build phylogenetic trees!

And I loved a small detective game at the end of the course when we needed to process unknown bacteria sequences to see if it was a real outbreak and what antibiotics were able to stop it!

A lot of thanks to the team!

автор: AKM F H

Jun 10, 2019

This is a really good course for beginners as it explained the use of some fantastic web-based tools to detect bacterial ST, resistance, plasmid, MLST, and phylogeny. I have learned a lot of new techniques to analyze the whole genome of a bacterium. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.

автор: Amro H

Nov 11, 2019

Thank you for the very helpful informative course. Very useful online tools. and great effort.

Only may we try to improve the English subtitles and attach answer for the quiz even at the end of the course?

Thank you again for all of your help, you are doing an OUTSTANDING job.

автор: Mohamed E

Jul 28, 2018

Not to mention, the power of the tools illustrated in this course, I just wanna mention that I am senior student in bioinformatics bachelor degree and Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon is by far the best instructor I have ever come across in the field till now. Thank you.

автор: Opeyemi U L

Feb 02, 2018

The module was easy to follow and the class exercises made it very easy to understand. I will highly recommend this course to microbiology students especially the ones without prior knowledge of basic bioinformatics for epidemiological study of bacterial infections

автор: Nimat U

Oct 20, 2018

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

автор: Dipti S

Jan 08, 2020

By taking this course, I am able to advance my knowledge on whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes and this course explores the applications of different tools for identification of bacterial species and its sub types. Thank you.

автор: Jolanta G

Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for the excellent course. It was very interesting to try upload genome and use various tools for identification of the pathogens and resistance mechanisms.Very useful information and excellent excercises. Good luck!

автор: David M M

Apr 11, 2018

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

автор: Mirza M V B

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

автор: Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

автор: Ana V U B

Dec 17, 2017

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

автор: Valeria O M

Jun 03, 2018

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

автор: Vanessa C d C L

Jan 14, 2018

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.

автор: sandeep K

May 18, 2018

The contents of the course were really very good and with loads of knowledge. Thank you very much for improving my knowledge in this area.