Chevron Left
Вернуться к US Social Services Compared

Отзывы учащихся о курсе US Social Services Compared от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 103
Рецензии: 30

О курсе

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

IL
9 мая 2021 г.

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

TA
26 сент. 2019 г.

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 30 отзывов о курсе US Social Services Compared

автор: Sarah G

11 апр. 2020 г.

The content is overall useful and is a good introduction to understanding the US welfare state. However, some of the quiz questions are unclear and occasionally do not reflect the content discussed in the course. Discussions are not very critical, I would have liked to have a greater centering of marginalised communities. The honours option seems a little excessively time-consuming.

автор: Sean L

21 янв. 2019 г.

The quality of the content is good for an introductory course. The high amount of typos in the slides is distracting when you're trying to take notes.

автор: Joy S

17 янв. 2019 г.

good info, instructor really quiet. had to use earphones

автор: L. M

11 дек. 2019 г.

Dr. Robertson developed a great course. I was a little put off by Garfinkel. A few slides need to be edited a little bit because the errors are distracting and may be confusing for ELL e.g. venerable instead of vulnerable ... I learned quite a lot even though I have over a decade of experience working in Health & Human Services. THANK YOU!!!

автор: Leah B

22 мар. 2019 г.

very interesting and useful for my wider studies supporting my application to universities

автор: Hector O

6 июня 2020 г.

Excellent Course! Better than the one I took on-campus for my MSW at another institution.

автор: Maite S P

22 июля 2020 г.

The course was very informative, it definitely broaden my knowledge of Social Services in the US and other Countries. I would recommend my co-workers to take this course.

автор: Caroline R

8 нояб. 2020 г.

This course presented a good overview of the basics of the U.S. welfare state, but in many cases, arguments were not presented in a way for students to critically engage with the coursework. I wish that there was greater opportunity for critical engagement, because I found some of the beliefs presented to be biased yet present

автор: Mohammad O A

28 мар. 2021 г.

This was a great course, content wise. The quizzes are very simple and do not require much critical thinking. The Honors Assignments, however, are rigorous and require in depth reading, preparation and writing.

There was a bit of delay in getting reviews for my assignments for this course. However, I was able to work things out with Coursera Help Desk and also Professor was kind enough to reply to my email. It worked out in the end and I got my Honors credit on the certificate!!

Content wise: the quality of the readings was top-notch, drawing from book chapters to journal papers to think tank reviews. I am so glad I took this course!

автор: Leslie W

20 июля 2020 г.

This course taught me so much about the United States social welfare state and how it compares to other Welfare States. I was excited to review each new course as I learned a wealth of information that will assist me in my upcoming policy classes at Columbia this fall. A truly valuable source of information that was delivered in a highly comprehensible fashion. Thank you for creating this course!

автор: Quanchai K

22 апр. 2021 г.

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

автор: Ila L

10 мая 2021 г.

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

автор: Tofail A

27 сент. 2019 г.

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

автор: Eyasu M

9 авг. 2021 г.

I​ am a Human service profesioanl and student . This course has taught so many important insights that I can apply to my job now and the future. Very good course!

автор: Diana M

22 июня 2020 г.

Excellent information and well presented. Love the honors section that provides an opportunity for further learning and feedback from peers.

автор: Mushtaq M G

26 окт. 2020 г.

It is very true encouraging step to enhance educational skills and knowledge by doing this course.

автор: Syam S A

9 янв. 2020 г.

Very informative. I am very new to Social Policy, so the grounding was very useful.

автор: Denise B

12 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent content. Valuables knowledge about US social policy and welfare system.

автор: Ruben C

29 июня 2019 г.

Exceptional topics and Positive take-aways for our nations Welfare State

автор: Paulo

15 июня 2019 г.

Excellent course about the US welfare state in comparison with others.

автор: K L

12 дек. 2020 г.

I have a greater understanding of the State Welfare system.

автор: Diane H

12 дек. 2019 г.

Challenging class but also very informative!

автор: Robert B S M

6 янв. 2020 г.

Good course... thanks.

автор: Michael L B J

17 авг. 2020 г.

Un excelente curso.

автор: Codie J V

14 мая 2020 г.

Excellent Material