Chevron Left
Вернуться к Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript от партнера Лондонский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 5,817
Рецензии: 1,573

О курсе

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Лучшие рецензии

CM
10 окт. 2017 г.

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA
26 мая 2018 г.

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Фильтр по:

1126–1150 из 1,559 отзывов о курсе Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

автор: James B

26 июня 2018 г.

The lessons are really good. They are well presented and give a solid foundation in modern web design. I'm coming from a Java programming background and I found all of the information really helpful. The assessments do let the course down however. The quiz sections are pretty good with the exception of a couple of odd questions. But the peer review assessments are terrible. For week 3 the course is all about an introduction into Javascript and Jquery. Yet the peer review exercise is nothing more than amending some HTML code to change how images display. A trivial and totally irrelevant task.It is a real shame as the lack of care and thought put into the practical exercises somewhat undermines an otherwise solid course.

автор: Maksym S

16 нояб. 2015 г.

I'm not completely new to html and even javaScript, but I've read the eloquent Javascript book and was left with a bag of knowledge quite detached from the reality ... What this course does is focussing on the application side of required/acquired knowledge.

The course covers terminology and shows some basic examples, while for the rest, including the homework, expects learners to go and google. It is sort of guided self-learning process, which I'm more than comfortable with.

I don't give the course 5 starts only because I suspect, that people, who are completely new to the subject, would find it difficult to stay motivated. I even think that rather bold anonymous function introduction will be a show stopper for many.

автор: michael s

3 нояб. 2015 г.

HTML and CSS were stellar explanations. Matt really has a knack for adding humour to his lecture that kept me engaged and helped me understand as well. Cheers.

The JS portion though was rough. I felt like Marko has an incredible amount of knowledge but the method of the lecturers, content, and layout was hard to grasp on a first-time go. I had to re-watch every lecturer in the JS and I still am having problems...It's obviously a difficult language though and I'm honestly not sure if there actually IS an easier way to teach it. Marko's enthusiasm really showed though, so it helped keep me coming back for more punishment~

Great job all around to everyone! Really good beginner course.

автор: Xueli T

11 мая 2016 г.

A short course consists of basic knowledge about HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Little jQuery material is also included. It is a great course for me to review my knowledge in this area.

I am not sure if this course contains enough knowledge for the beginners. Also more practical and guided assignments are needed. It will be great if the teacher includes a "Recommended Book" section, as shown in HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers course (https://www.coursera.org/learn/html-css-javascript-for-web-developers/supplement/8VeLb/recommended-books) .

автор: Vijai K S

19 янв. 2016 г.

Not very thorough in my opinion. I would suggest students to finish the web design for everybody course first. It deals with the most important issues of web design such as accessibility, DOM and a lot more CSS in a good depth. This course kind of brushes up the surface and jumps straight to Bootstrap. This would not really be of much help to a beginner. I presume the courses in the rest of the specialization offer a good bit of explanation atleast. This would be a good course for anyone who wants to simply get things done though :)

автор: Laurent L

2 апр. 2016 г.

I liked the course a lot and learned the basics of html, css and javascript. My main suggestions for improvement would be to extend the course over 8 weeks and spend more time on each subject. I also believe that if we were asked to do an assignment per week (so 8), it would have pushed us to deepen our understanding of the subject matter. That said, I very much enjoyed the course. I also love coursera and the work of all schools that participate with them. Thank-you and keep up the excellent work and valued effort !

автор: Valery M

31 мая 2020 г.

This course is an amazing introduction to web programming. It is surprising how much you can learn in just four weeks. My only complaint is how steep the learning curve is, in week three I (and many other of my course-mates) did not understand some of the concepts we were being taught. The teachers always assume you will continue with the specialization, and say things like "this will be taught in more detail later on".

Besides that, it was great and I totally recommend it.

автор: doug c

27 дек. 2015 г.

Esta bien para comenzar, pero muchos de los contenidos que se necesitan saber para completar tareas y quizes no aparecen en los videos y al investigar cada tema el tiempo real que en el que se termina el curso se extiende, quiza sea de lento aprendizaje, pero lo ideal seria incluir los contenidos necesarios para llevar a cabo las tareas. Pero aun asi le doy cuatro estrellas porque aprendi bastante aunque tuve que ajustar las fechas limites 2 veces seguidas.

автор: Trang P

29 февр. 2016 г.

This course was very well organized, but I felt there were big jumps between the lessons within the modules. I would follow fine up to parts 7 or 8 out of 9 or 10 total parts, and then I would be lost. I know there is quite a bit to HTML, CSS, and Javascript, and the professors did a great job to separate the components. For a beginner, I would have liked to spend a bit more time on HTML and CSS for full comprehension before delving into JS.

автор: Russalia K

13 июля 2016 г.

The course was great and I will be happy to continue with the next one from the stack. There was only one thing, which I would improve - the JavaScript lessons. They were not well explained at all and quite often I felt lost in the videos. I needed to know why the code was written like that, why was there a dot and a space, etc, not see it already written and just go with it.

автор: Evadry G

13 февр. 2016 г.

Great introductory course. The HTML and CSS modules were flawless. The JavaScript module was interesting and useful, but I felt it moved too fast for a beginner, especially someone who doesn't program in any other language like myself. Overall loved it, and will highly recommend it to friends and co-workers. I had so much fun that I went ahead and signed up for the next MOOC!

автор: Cedric H

13 февр. 2016 г.

I've learned a good deal about coding in HTML, CSS and JavaScript through this course. My only complaints are that the lecturer often whizzed through typing portions of the code during his lecture that I had to use more time than my schedule allotted reviewing the video slowly, and that some topics in the test questions didn't match any portion of the lecture.

автор: Karl S

17 февр. 2016 г.

I wouldn't mind if it meant one less certificate but I think it would be great if they let you test out of this and jump right into the 2nd course in the series. The first course is awesome for anyone whose never done any web design before, even if you have coding experience, but its absolutely excruciating for anyone with more basic knowledge of web design.

автор: Sam D

14 дек. 2015 г.

Good concise overview of the basic web design languages - this is a good jumping off point for people looking to get in to Web Design.

Keep in mind though, this covers a very large amount of material in a short amount of time. If you don't have any familiarity with coding already, you will likely need to do a lot of outside research to fill in the gaps.

автор: Lucy C

7 авг. 2016 г.

This course was really informative and the lessons were concisely executed. I recommend the course to anyone looking for a beginner's introduction to coding HTML/Javascript. My only criticism is that I'd like to have more peer-review projects to do, because I think letting other people check someone's work is a good way to see how they can improve.

автор: Edel J

12 мая 2016 г.

Very well organised, explained and delivered. Good introdution to good web development. The only aspect I would suggest changing is leaving code visible on screen while under discussion as I found myself going back to see the code after watching someone talk about it. Its nice to see faces but I would prefer to see code as it is being explained.

автор: David K

22 авг. 2017 г.

Some useful knowledge on HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, which allows for some understanding. The multiple choice quizzes do require a student to demonstrate a good level of knowledge and understanding. However, the practical assessments do not require the student to apply this knowledge sufficiently so that proficiency cannot be inferred from them.

автор: Pedro B

15 мая 2017 г.

The classes were engaging, particularly the first half. The examples were pretty good, and both instructors showed command of the subject. My only gripe is with the tests. I'd expect something more elaborate. The "take a screenshot" thing was a little less demanding and didn't really tested the skills we've just learned. Otherwise great course!

автор: Amanda G

10 февр. 2017 г.

Overall, this course was a great introduction to the basic web programming languages for someone with little to no experience. My only issue was that the assignments could have been more challenging, and one in particular was not put together properly by the instructors (missing information to complete assignment) this has since been fixed.

автор: Nikolaos B

1 мар. 2016 г.

Well presented content.

It was a little bit weird for me to jump straight to jQuery and spending so little time on Javascript but it works out for the course. I would suggest a couple of more examples and explanation of general programming concepts with providing relevant pdf.

Generally a very good and content-rich course.

автор: Brett W

8 апр. 2020 г.

If you're familiar with web design, its a nice refresher. If you're new to things like javascript or css even you may have to watch a few vids once or twice, but the instructors are great at making it look and feel easy. If you race ahead, don't be surprised if you have to wait for peer-graded assignments to review!

автор: Shivam K

4 окт. 2017 г.

This course is for those who don't even know the fundamentals of HTML, CSS and JavaScript but want to build a web development profile. The content is comprehensive. The assignments are very interesting. But yes, you may have to wait for long for your assignment to be reviewed since the assignments are peer-graded.

автор: Rhythm S

8 сент. 2020 г.

Most of the course is very easy for beginners and intermediaries alike,

Although there were some issues in the third week lectures as the JQuery functions were not explained in an way that was easy to grasp.

But the assignments and other lectures are easy and explanatory enough. So, it's a good course.

автор: Ioannis G

25 дек. 2015 г.

Sharing a satisfied amount of knowledge, overall very good. The HTML videos were excellent. The one thing missing is the methodology on how someone starts to think and makes JavaScript code that delivers a solution to a problem. How do we do our approach? Flow charts would really help on this matter.

автор: FILIPPO F

3 сент. 2020 г.

Final quizzes should allow students to reason more and write (or research) code by themselves. A quiz where you have to copy/paste code doesn't push the student to improve. If the objective is to obtain the same graphical result, another way to approach the exercise could be to correct wrong coding.