Chevron Left
Вернуться к Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript от партнера Лондонский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 5,568
Рецензии: 1,507

О курсе

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Лучшие рецензии

CM
10 окт. 2017 г.

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA
26 мая 2018 г.

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Фильтр по:

1376–1400 из 1,483 отзывов о курсе Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

автор: Michele E

3 февр. 2018 г.

Once Javascript started it felt disconnected and I realize there is a lot to cover but much was assumed to be known. I noticed a webpage was named or created every time we viewed a new video in Javascript it would be nice to see the connection, like we did on the last video of images and how the code comes together instead of in sections. Also, I am a hands on type of learner so I had no problem creating a Nav bar and adding pictures to my website the first week even tho this was not required. I thought that is how we would be learning. I copied what the videos showed then I figured out the rest, like how the code actually connects to create the page. It would be great to have a "project" website. Show video of code and steps and what it does to the webpage and then let us create a website giving us steps on what you want on the website from videos you have created, for me I would learn faster this way.

автор: David C V

10 мая 2020 г.

Even for a complete novice and even given how short the course is, the topics are barely explained. There's a lot of programming that's just left unexplained and the most you get from the course is by reading documentation. And then the quizzes touch a lot of topics that weren't mentioned even in passing. And the projects are just dissapointing, all of them can be completed in 5 minutes without really understanding what you are doing, offering no challenge and no real skill improvement. Especially the last one, "copy this snippet of code and figure out where to paste it - hint - if you open the file it tells you" it's just not worth the time honestly. Specially comparing this course to other beginner courses avaliable in coursera i found it lacking content.

автор: Rhonda B

16 янв. 2016 г.

Html and CSS were excellent!

I'm sure this is a great course for people with some coding background, but as a complete beginner to Javascript and coding, I found it nearly impossible to comprehend the 3rd and 4th weeks because we jumped in to Jquery without first getting to know Javascript.

Yes - the quizzes were too easy - I passed all of them even when I wasn't understanding most of the material.

I went over to CodeAcademy and Microsoft Virtual Academy to get a better foundation in JS, then came back and was able to understand a bit better. As for me, I am going to spend more time learning and practicing JS/JQ before moving on to the next course in this specialization.

автор: Bob C

13 окт. 2015 г.

Use this course to reinforce your front end skills and not to learn for the first time. There's too many gaps in the presented content for a beginner. The video and audio were presented in a professional high quality format that you would expect from a major university. However, the course structure was slightly unorganized and didn't flow as well as other courses of similar content. Sometimes the instructors seemed to be at a loss for words and stumbled along with arms flailing. At 2X speed it's very obvious and entertaining.

It was a fair attempt for their first online Coursera Web Development course. Hopefully, University of London will improve with future courses.

автор: Pauline

17 авг. 2017 г.

It is a good introduction to webdesigning and the 3 basic languages. To actually be able to design a webpage yourself, you should do additional self,study on more detailed webpages (given in this course) and/or learn the next courses of this specialisation. I liked the explanation through examples, allthough it can be difficult to understand the Javascript examples without knowing the basics of another programming language. There is no time to go deeper into details in this course. Giving some structured hand-outs could have been usefull. Great quizes with clear feedback.

автор: Amber

13 апр. 2020 г.

The HTML and CSS modules gave a great first look into these languages, I really feel like I have learned a lot in a short time and was challenged to try it out myself. The JavaScript modules, however, were not as good. A lot of high level talk, but not much explanation about the practical stuff, even though it's quite complicated. The assignments were very simple, I would have liked to have more of a challenge. And the the course doesn't end with making a website as an assignment, which I expected after the introduction.

автор: Tony H

5 янв. 2021 г.

2.5/5

The 2.5 is for the decent content and the presenters, who try hard. The course is strictly for beginners although the JQuery could be a bit off-putting and a little programming experience would certainly help. Not sure why Visual Studio Code doesn't get a mention as with live server it is very user friendly. I have only given half marks because the assignments are trivial in the extreme even for complete newcomers to the subject. For example, copying two blocks of code to marked places in a file tests nothing.

автор: Haim M

30 мар. 2018 г.

The HTML and CSS parts are nice, but the JavaScript one is very lacking. Just saying "we are going to use jQuery" and giving a reference to other sites where you can learn the language doesn't cut it. Moreover, one would understand from the title of the course that one is going to delve into vanilla JavaScript, which is a requirement in many job applications. The title should be changed to "Code with jQuery" to be absolutely clear about the premises of the course.

автор: Niek T

4 сент. 2017 г.

Things are well explained and quizes are well constructed. Personally I didn't find the Assignments challenging enough. As a beginning developper I usualy find it difficult to come up with well sclaed assignment with which I main they are not too small and easy but also no too hard either. I know that's quite subjective but maybe a few optional Assignments (up for peer review but maybe not graded, might be usefull for people like me.) Kind regards, Niek

автор: Pablo P

16 апр. 2017 г.

The course is interesting, the professors are good, they know how and what they have to explain. But the exercises and tests are really easy and do not require lots of knowledge. In fact, seems more like an explanation than a test. So, if you don't practice by yourself you won't learn a thing. Even though Coursera give you an certificate.

I would add more and better practical exercises to make this course better.

автор: Andrew M

4 нояб. 2015 г.

The course could and should have digs a hole lot deeper into the material, a brief history of the web, the browser, wars standards compliance, I feel, should have been part of this course. Web-standards in general also, html/css/js versions which just have new versions or upcoming versions should have been presented and/or relevant links provided.

This course if full of missed opportunities.

автор: Oscar H

5 сент. 2017 г.

I think the Course could improve the Challenges.

I think that The Night/Day mode assigment and also the one that required to change the pictures was not difficult enough to exploit and test the skills we learned.

The first assigment in other hand was more about coding and doing something from scratch. I think every assigment should be as good as that one.

автор: Sean C

6 окт. 2015 г.

Great video instructions. Had some tech issues on my end. Not really a good idea to try this on a chromebook if you are just getting started. If you know the work-arounds to make the assignments with a chromebook it's below your level. Still very much worth the time to watch the videos whether or not you are going to complete the work.

автор: marsya a

16 февр. 2016 г.

Words... TOO MANY Words!! Talking talking talking, most if it without valuable content. I got bored listening to the instructors continuously telling us what they were going to tell us, repeating themselves, and then telling us what they told us again and again and again... Also WAY too many UMMMMsss from the instructors.

автор: Roy H

3 февр. 2019 г.

While the content was great the assignments were a let down. Many of them is making very minor changes and uploading screenshots rather than having the opportunity to try all the skills that were taught. I would have preferred if the assignments were to make the pages we were working with from scratch.

автор: January J

28 янв. 2016 г.

In my opinion, this is a decent introductory course but I feel it relies too heavily on the bootstrap framework and not enough basic fundamentals are taught. There is a lot happening within any framework and understanding the how, and why of web design is just as important as getting the final product.

автор: Miniapple E

17 янв. 2016 г.

Not that bad I've might have learned more visiting other MOOC like Openclassrooms where they give us more information about coding. This course is just showing the basic, not as complete as other online course platform where they show you how to insert video, contact form and audio.

автор: Andrew G

4 окт. 2015 г.

Got really bonkers listening to the University of London jingle at the start AND end of each of the 38 video's in this course. The content is just ok.. but not explanation is very high level. It is good for someone who has never had experience with web technologies before.

автор: Damir K

26 янв. 2016 г.

Needs way bigger scope and a bit more going into details. The Full Stack Web Development course is somewhat like that. Lectures are good and easy to understand, both visuals and speak are nice and clear. Hopefully next one remains great quality but with more content :)

автор: Ola S

24 янв. 2016 г.

As a learning course the final project was specification-less. they should ask for something specific and explained well they should test conecpts not asking for whatever idea you have, apply what you learned I think this is an old school method.

автор: عبدالرحمن م

10 авг. 2017 г.

overall is good , but it didn't show the full details for a beginner and i was confused about a lot of things , my advice for you if you've already know some information about the topics ,you 'll feel more comfortable with this course .

GoodLuck!

автор: Pona T

16 нояб. 2017 г.

I think it would have been more effective to do the coding step by step (especially in the JavaScript portion of the course) rather than having the entire code and then explaining it. I would have liked to see what each element does in action.

автор: QuangHuy T

8 янв. 2016 г.

Course is really helpful for whom start develop website, however, question set is too small so student can guess its answer in few trial (I don't like it).

At the end, I admire your effort in these series and will keep joining the next course.

автор: Thomas K

12 янв. 2016 г.

A nice introduction to the basics but I found the assignments a little to easy so I didn't feel competent at the end of the course. I thought the instructors gave the information in clear and concise way which made the course quite enjoyable

автор: Abdullah A F

16 июня 2020 г.

The overall lecture was good but instructor always shows readymade code. it is difficult to understand when a lecturer speech from readme code. It is easy to understand when a lecturer speech+write code simultaneously.