Chevron Left
Вернуться к Building Web Applications in PHP

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Building Web Applications in PHP от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,885
Рецензии: 373

О курсе

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Лучшие рецензии

YY

Feb 10, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

VN

Feb 21, 2018

Thanks for a great course by which I learn a lot of experience from the experts :-). One of the my assignments has been gradually developed into a more robust site at https://englishpicture.net

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 372 отзывов о курсе Building Web Applications in PHP

автор: Juan M R

May 03, 2018

This course is wonderfull.

I can see in the way he show the content; he have been doing this by years and years and he master it.

He go slow or fast , according to the complex of the matter.

In this course you will find some screen captures of code, and he will show you step by step how that code works.

The content are just the best you can get (music pictures etc..).

This course is a breaking point, for someone who have java or c knowledge

I made 200 web sites from 2008 to now running in apache, using php, and i have my own C.M.S. and i did not know the 98% of the power than php have , this course show me the moyo of php.

if i can travel in time and take a course in the past it will be this and get some bitCoins. =).

I'm just going true week 5 and i love it .

This course is much productive and useful, if you do it with some knowledge from before in java, python , c, c++ , or whatever .

This course is the result of years of thinking and developing. We will die and this course and some programs we will do in php will keep running in servers. This course show you hot to mix html and php. and introduce you in a way to work on db.

автор: Zachary C

Mar 03, 2018

Dr. Chuck does what so many - including Codecademy - fail to do: teach a programming language while making sure his students really understand its context and use. In one video he explains how HTML, CSS, SQL, and PHP all play their role in the request-response cycle in loading a web page. On its own, that video has done more for me in terms of understanding the web and its languages than any other online course I've taken. To top that off, Dr. Chuck takes care to guide his students through the perks, quirks, and nuances of each language.

All in all, as someone who's failed to really engage myself in learning a new programming language after fiddling around with others for so long - since "beginner" courses tend to be light on everything but syntax - this course was nothing short of perfect for me. Thanks, Dr. Chuck!

автор: Fabio B S D R M

Jan 17, 2018

Another "hit" from Dr. Chuck ( AKA Prof. Charles Severance) , this guy and his team are amazing. Too Much roots concepts given and Dr.Chuck has an amazing talent of explain what is important to learn, after that you can trail your own path. I think this is the 5th or 6th course that I take with Dr.Chuck and still fascinate by his way of teaching. Without mentioning that he is on development for such a long time that it seems he knows all programming languages. Words cannot express how grateful I'm to Dr.Chuck and Coursera people to give us this wonderful learning opportunity. It's very good to know that you can learn from the bests. Only who really wants to learn can understand that. Best Regards.

автор: Daniel S

Nov 06, 2017

I always stayed away from php for the exact reasons he mentioned most people do in the beginning of the course. However, I needed to connect the dots between front end and server side and this is a great way to do it. Furthermore, learning a bit of php is beneficial regardless of whether you make it your primary language or not. I just wish he would relax on the sloppy penmanship and explain things a little bit clearer. You are a great gift to the programming community, for your python and now php/sql course. Thank you!

автор: Jack

Jan 07, 2020

Good intro to PHP and server-side back-end development. This specialization uses the LAMP stack, and delves into the history of the internet too.

Course is a bit long because he reviews HTML5 and CSS3 at the start, but I strongly recommend knowing these before this course. You don't have to know/use JS until course 4 in the specialization. Might want to supplement with Hackerrank and work a dozen or so problems using PHP to get used to the quirky syntax.

автор: Wayne D J

Oct 04, 2019

A very good course in deed. A gentle introduction to PHP for complete beginners. I especially found the free text book very insightful and it helped me along in my studies. The assignments were not very difficult but just challenging enough to test one's programming skills. Above all, I really had fun learning from Mr Severence. His fun and quirky personality and teaching style made the course all the more enjoyable.

автор: Andres B

Mar 03, 2018

Very smooth flowing, easy to follow. Great Profesor Chuck's insights, historic perspective which helps you remember stuff and practical knowledge. However, more study needed to master syntax and get used to the language at this point, is not that now I feel I can go ahead and start developing stuff but I feel I can easily understand something I see, a snippet or something I add to one of y websites,

автор: Abdelkarim J

Mar 23, 2020

There are more things to say. first I would like to thank university of Michigan and Coursera that provide us a huge opportunity to learn more about web applications. also I would like to thank Mr.Charles Russell Severance who guide us and teach us a lot of materials about the web. I wanna say that I will continue this specialization until end. Highly recommend for everyone to take this course.

автор: iftekharchowdhury

Jul 08, 2018

Instructor is awesome. He is an experience professor. Content is awesome. Better than my university course. You will learn how to write logic step by step if you complete your assignment by yourself. Don't get frustrated. They give you the code. But you have to fix this code by reading and understanding. That's why you have to be carefully listen professor lecture video. I love this course.

автор: Sofia M G L

Feb 08, 2019

I really liked this course and found it very useful despite the fact I'd actually been working with php for a few months beforehand. The course really helped me to understand the structure of the web to be able to work better with it. I thought the lectures have a great rythm and the later assignments were a nice way to introduce good practices in security without being too preachy.

автор: JMF

Oct 29, 2017

Outstanding! Dr. Chuck and his team are so amazing... I took this class specifically because Dr. Chuck is teaching it, and I learned so much. I knew nothing about PHP going into this course (and have minimal Python experience, and some very rudimentary very old HTML experience), and I feel so much more confident about learning programming. And it turns out I really love PHP!

автор: Nikhil A

Apr 11, 2018

It was an amazing experience learning this course at coursera. I thank coursera for providing this wonderful course to us and helping us to learn new things and add skills to our resume. Finally i would like to appreciate Dr. Charles for teaching us in such a cool way. Hope to find new and wonderful courses like this one on coursera more often.

автор: Subham S

May 02, 2020

A wonderful course... I am very new to web development and I had very limited knowledge on front-end (HTML,CSS). Now I am equipped with broader understanding of the subject and more confident in developing better web apps. Dr. Chuck's lectures are easy to follow and the course material is very organized. Has a blast while learning!

автор: Fang X

Nov 07, 2017

I love this course. The lectures are great, and Dr. Chuck shows us the history background of web making which makes us see the bigger picture and understand the logic better. The assignments are awesome, some are a little challenging but not too hard to complete. Can't wait to go through the rest of the courses of this series.

автор: Andrea M

Mar 14, 2019

I know several programming languages and I have been programming for a while but I think that this course really made understand much better how the web works and gave me solid foundations to build on top of for PHP. I also think the length is pretty reasonable and the assignment really make you realize what is the code about

автор: Brandon A

Aug 23, 2018

Very good class in PHP. The end of this class ties in wonderfully with all topics learned. I didn't have a background in PHP only SQL only. This is a great class to learn and take, especially if you are interested in HTML,CSS and PHP. All of these things are covered in detail and swiftly but are needed for the end assignment.

автор: Samuel A

Aug 10, 2018

I had some background experience in HTML/CSS/JS before taking this course, so I was able to jump quickly through the middle part of this course. Overall, this course gave me a good introduction to some of the syntax of PHP, and the instructor did a great job of explaining the request-response cycle throughout each week.

автор: Soh W K

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent Course!!! If you can speed up and keep focused, it's very possible to complete this course within 1 week! However, you have to maintain at least 8 hours of focused learning per day to ensure that you understand what Dr. Chuck is offering. His wealth of experience allow you to learn the course very quickly!

автор: Dan H

Oct 24, 2017

This is really an excellent course

Have learnt a great deal and feel I could master PHP now.

I loved the way it was presented, the challenging assignments, all the help we were given; just everything about the course. This course definitely fills a big gap in available courses and the other 2 as well.

автор: Raghunaath R R

Feb 12, 2020

One word "Awesome". Who ever wants to learn the web application using PHP i will recommend this course 200%. In depth detail and every details count while your creating an web application.

Special thanks to Charles Russell Severance, Clinical Professor, School of Information and also Coursera team.

автор: Ashley U

Oct 06, 2019

Excellent introduction to PHP. Just the right degree of difficulty such that you are not given all the answers in advance, have to do some exploring and modifying the code yourself, and will therefore retain the information. Dr. Chuck was an excellent instructor and very engaging, even virtually.

автор: Sankalp S

Feb 19, 2018

Its was a great course, well taught, the forums and support was excellent. I had a great time solving the somewhat challenging assignments of the last two weeks. The course encourages you to find your own solution to problems and does not spoon feed. Overall i loved it.

автор: Peter K

Apr 16, 2020

WOW! Simply AMAZING! This class was one of the BEST classes I have ever taken in my life!

Prof. Severance is very gifted and knows how to convey the new information in a very helpful way. The material covered is AWESOME, the pace is perfect. Thank you, Prof Chuck!!!

автор: Javier E

Nov 06, 2019

Very enjoyable course filled with plenty of information to get you started with bot HTML and PHP.

The course materials are of good quality and the course is well structured. The lectures are engaging and easy to follow. The explanations and examples are clear.

автор: Harshvardhan S

Mar 13, 2018

I very much like this course & I'll surely be suggesting this to my colleagues. Charles sir were great in there. I've enrolled in his other courses too. The way he takes us back to the origin of the programming languages & his experiences with it is amazing!