Chevron Left
Вернуться к VLSI CAD Part II: Layout

Отзывы учащихся о курсе VLSI CAD Part II: Layout от партнера Иллинойсский университет в Урбане-Шампейне

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 255
Рецензии: 46

О курсе

You should complete the VLSI CAD Part I: Logic course before beginning this course. A modern VLSI chip is a remarkably complex beast: billions of transistors, millions of logic gates deployed for computation and control, big blocks of memory, embedded blocks of pre-designed functions designed by third parties (called “intellectual property” or IP blocks). How do people manage to design these complicated chips? Answer: a sequence of computer aided design (CAD) tools takes an abstract description of the chip, and refines it step-wise to a final design. This class focuses on the major design tools used in the creation of an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or System on Chip (SoC) design. Our focus in this part of the course is on the key logical and geometric representations that make it possible to map from logic to layout, and in particular, to place, route, and evaluate the timing of large logic networks. Our goal is for students to understand how the tools themselves work, at the level of their fundamental algorithms and data structures. Topics covered will include: technology mapping, timing analysis, and ASIC placement and routing. Recommended Background: Programming experience (C, C++, Java, Python, etc.) and basic knowledge of data structures and algorithms (especially recursive algorithms). An understanding of basic digital design: Boolean algebra, Kmaps, gates and flip flops, finite state machine design. Linear algebra and calculus at the level of a junior or senior in engineering. Elementary knowledge of RC linear circuits (at the level of an introductory physics class)....

Лучшие рецензии

NS
15 июня 2020 г.

This course is good for anyone who wants himself in the EDA industry. The teacher is very passionate and engaging, the content is thorough and well prepared.

MM
13 мая 2020 г.

It was a great course, I learned a lot of new things from it. And the presentation and explanation of concepts by Prof. Rob A. Rutenbar were amazing!!!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 46 отзывов о курсе VLSI CAD Part II: Layout

автор: Divyang T

7 июля 2019 г.

A very good course for students who want to have an understanding of Physical Design process in semiconductor industry. I want to thank professor for making this course so informative. A must for people looking to dive deep into Electronics.

автор: Mohammad H

1 сент. 2018 г.

It was a great experience, really great lecturer without exaggerating, but the programming assignment 3 (which is optional) was totally a nightmare, I wrote about 1000 line of code to do both the essential and the extra parts, but not yet.

I hope there was another course for design using HDL like Verilog or System Verilog.

автор: 17E653 V K M

13 авг. 2020 г.

Very well structured and thoughtfully and intelligently explained. The professor is very enthusiastic, fluent ,concise and effective in his explanation. Please do note however that the course is quite rigorous and challenging and you might have to allocate quite some time for it as the problem sets require way more time than what is mentioned in the website.

автор: shant c

27 мая 2020 г.

This is a wonderful course for new collage graduates as well as working professionals. I want to sincerely thank Dr. Rutenbar for creating this course. He is easy to understand, and has structured the topics very well. The examples and quizzes are very well designed.

автор: Robin M

29 дек. 2018 г.

As a software developer without background in EE I have always wondered how Boolean logic is turned into actual physical hardware, and this course (along with its predecessor "VLSI CAD Part I: Logic") has answered all my questions.

автор: Mahesh J

1 янв. 2021 г.

Great teaching material, Challenging assignments to test our knowledge, goo quizzes and an amazing learning experience overall. I recommend this course to everyone who is interested in making Physical ASIC design as their career.

автор: Gaurav K

2 мая 2021 г.

The video lectures, study materials, etc. everything has been expertly designed and the instructor makes it super easy to understand the basics of even seemingly difficult and complex topics. Hats off !!

автор: Shanvi K

14 июля 2021 г.

Very well curated course! It is exhaustive in terms of the invigorating assignments and the lucid explanations help satiate the curiosity about the journey from Logic->Layout in VLSI.

автор: Naman S

16 июня 2020 г.

This course is good for anyone who wants himself in the EDA industry. The teacher is very passionate and engaging, the content is thorough and well prepared.

автор: Mythili M

14 мая 2020 г.

It was a great course, I learned a lot of new things from it. And the presentation and explanation of concepts by Prof. Rob A. Rutenbar were amazing!!!

автор: Gourav S

24 апр. 2020 г.

Nicely explained and well structured course and the best part of the course is the way of teaching and assignment ..Keep learning and keep growing..

автор: Chang-Hun K

18 мар. 2021 г.

Thank you for your great Lecture! It is really helpful to understand the basic principal of Layout & techmap algorithm.

автор: Azwad T

14 июня 2020 г.

It delivers what it promises in a structured and concise manner which makes the whole experience fast and effective.

автор: Vincent T R

30 мая 2020 г.

Great course with a lot of specific knowledge I would not have been able to find online on my own.

автор: kanishk j

30 июля 2019 г.

Good course content and prof. `s teaching method makes it easy to comprehend quite quickly.

автор: Sujoy M

19 июня 2020 г.

Great great great course. Highly recommended for people interested in VLSI CAD design.

автор: SANATH K T

22 июня 2020 г.

Excellent ; every on who's specialisation is VLSI has to do this course;

автор: Devansh S

23 сент. 2019 г.

An awesome course which I can put to great use in my academic life.

автор: Akash L

21 окт. 2018 г.

Great basic overview of the core design principles for EDA

автор: Md. F K

3 авг. 2019 г.

Another interesting and well-taught course.

автор: Yash R

27 июня 2020 г.

excellent course to learn vlsi design.

автор: Shaanvi M

11 мар. 2019 г.

very helpful, and delivered very well.

автор: Ramakrishna

15 окт. 2020 г.

Informative and knowledgeable course

автор: Hemanth .

25 июля 2020 г.

Loved it. Very effective teaching.

автор: SREEPOOJYA P

3 мар. 2020 г.

very useful course for my career.