Chevron Left
Вернуться к Зрительное восприятие и мозг

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Зрительное восприятие и мозг от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 236

О курсе

Learners will be introduced to the problems that vision faces, using perception as a guide. The course will consider how what we see is generated by the visual system, what the central problem for vision is, and what visual perception indicates about how the brain works. The evidence will be drawn from neuroscience, psychology, the history of vision science and what philosophy has contributed. Although the discussions will be informed by visual system anatomy and physiology, the focus is on perception. We see the physical world in a strange way, and goal is to understand why....

Лучшие рецензии

DB

11 июня 2020 г.

This is a great course dealt meticulously. The carefully crafted audiovisual study material and quizzes together with very inspiring video lectures helped understand and learn with great enthusiasm.

PC

28 февр. 2020 г.

I am currently undertaking a PhD in visual inspection techniques for aircraft maintenance tasks and i found this course excellent. Dale is a wealth of knowledge and delivered an excellent course.

Фильтр по:

51–62 из 62 отзывов о курсе Зрительное восприятие и мозг

автор: Simonov O

11 мая 2017 г.

This course gave me another view at the problem of visual perception. The course relates more to psychology than to medicine. Essay writing is mandatory for the completion of the course. Thanks to Professor Purves and his team from the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences.

автор: Carol L M H

29 мар. 2022 г.

I really liked Dr. Purves as a lecturer, and I really got a lot out of this course, including some really good illustrations and explanations. However, it was a very difficult course, and I felt the final assignment was very difficult to complete.

автор: Alessandro R

27 янв. 2018 г.

The course is very interesting, it explains the basic features of the human visual system in a nice and understandable way, providing many interesting example of how our perceptron is affected by the external world and our own experience.

автор: Shreya T

26 янв. 2017 г.

It is a must for all those who would love to explore vision at the perspective of neuroscience and evolution.

автор: Himanshu A

17 июня 2018 г.

Although the course material is absolutely fantastic. Some concepts should be elucidated further.

автор: Sharon R

5 сент. 2016 г.

Very well researched and articulate professor, incredibly knowledgeable.

автор: Luna A

28 февр. 2022 г.

Interesting course, although the peer-review part could use some work

автор: David B

20 апр. 2017 г.

Great Job!

автор: 黎宣位

6 июля 2022 г.

The course is more about psychophysics rather than neuroscience. It is relatively the combination of psychology and neuroscience (more psychology but it can inspire thoughts about neuronal pathway). Personally I have alternative thoughts against some of the ideas in this course. 

The empirical thoughts explain everything using human experience. But the lecturer took it as a fact rather than a hypothesis that needs testing. Obviously there are correlation between those factors but it is really the ‘reason’? 

Human experience is a vague word. What part or aspect of experience is related to the perception is not explained or at least mentioned. For example, in the geometry section, my hypothesis would be it was caused by perspective: We artificially put identical figures into picture with perspective (reflection of 3D world). Our brain will analysis the context according to the experience of the real world and then define curving, distortion or depth at different sites of this imagine. By retrospective referring, the analyses about figures at different locations will differ. So it could be, not the perception, but the analyses (information processing in parts of the prefrontal cortex, higher ‘level’ of visual cortex etc. which shares the similar structures in cerebellum) that gives ‘illusions’. 

The data from ‘Frequency of Occurrence of Angles’ is too good to be true. 

Again, the explanation of the angel perception is not credible enough. 

If this ‘illusion’ is based on human experience, it is imaginable to do similar behavioural test on human babies to see the actual window and amount of experience that a human need to gain this psychophysical discrepancy. (Genetical and structural analysis is also applicable) 

In the courses of motion, it will be better to have video for demonstration. 

After all, it is a very inspiring course and it generates a perspective of view for (potential) neuroscientists. 

автор: Dorothy H

15 авг. 2016 г.

I don't like that the 3 and 4 star reviews are missing!

Coursera seems to sometimes remove reviews with lower numbers of starts.

I thought that this course was going to be mostly on the brain, but it wasn't at all.... just a small section.

If your main interest is in vision then it might be different, but for me being interested only in how vision relates to the brain, there was very little useful information in this course for me.

автор: Tammy H

22 мая 2020 г.

The Professor explains things in a long and sometimes confusing manner, it takes a while to get used to and understand concepts.

автор: ­최광민

30 сент. 2021 г.

Plain r​epetition of a single theme. Pen needs to be used appropriately. Grading is extremely slow - took a month.