Chevron Left
Вернуться к World Design for Video Games

Отзывы учащихся о курсе World Design for Video Games от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 615
Рецензии: 159

О курсе

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Лучшие рецензии

SA

Sep 21, 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

JK

Sep 11, 2020

This is a fantastic course to run your imagination to it's top! You can built your own game world and show it to other students. The learning curve is definitely improving with this course!

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 152 отзывов о курсе World Design for Video Games

автор: Juan C L R

Jun 17, 2019

I very basic, I would like to learn how to create a deeper world but still I loved the course

автор: SFUA

Sep 01, 2016

Contents were short and great but some tools and practicle s/w should be introduced in it.

автор: sebastian c

Nov 28, 2015

i really like the material, i feel that i learning the basic of video game development

автор: Alex M

Nov 17, 2016

Good course content. However, the classes feel a little short for such a long topic.

автор: Zheng L

Jun 28, 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

автор: Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

You could improve it a little more making the videos more dynamic.

автор: Aaron S

Dec 18, 2015

I had good assignments, but less content than I expected.

автор: Deiverson J L d S

Mar 23, 2017

Excelent! But I miss the interaction with the teacher.

автор: Jatin G

Jun 26, 2020

Great course, really helped me shape my game world.

автор: Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it

автор: Zineb B

Jun 03, 2017

Really valuable and informative course.

автор: Ahmed A E M

Jul 20, 2017

it is useful but very very basics

автор: Muhammad U

Apr 10, 2017

Simply Awesome.

автор: Mehar S

Apr 22, 2020

good

автор: Francois B

Nov 23, 2015

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

автор: Deborah M M

Dec 10, 2015

Short, simplistic. Could be done in a week. Very much a beginner's course for those who have not mindfully observed the game worlds in which they play. The student may come away with a few new ideas and the greatest value is in having peers review the homework assignments. Worth the time, if you quickly breeze through it.

автор: David M

Oct 11, 2019

There are are very useful tips and ideas in this class and I appreciated completing the assignments. I have a much better vision of my game world now than I did beforehand. However, the pace and vocabulary of the teacher was at times confusing or redundant, making the process of taking notes much more complicated.

автор: Travis A

Oct 19, 2016

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

автор: Marcus J

Aug 01, 2020

It's adequate for learning world-building concepts, though it doesn't really go into what makes the process different in video games until the last assignment. Be advised: the instructor has a thick accent that makes it hard to understand him at times.

автор: André W L O

Aug 22, 2017

to me, this course was a little obvious... one thing here, other there... it is not a bad course... but I expected a little more...

about the teacher, he is good, I like it (4 stars)... but the content is very "lightweight".

автор: Chandan B

Jun 12, 2017

The course is good for learning how to organize and visualize, however I was expecting some sketching assignments also. Such kind of assignment which actually helps the learner draw together a world bit by bit.

автор: Karl C R

Jan 12, 2016

Easy to follow and well-packed with good information and tips, but I would like to see some kind of quiz-function along the course to test the knowledge I've been learning.

автор: Francisco N

Dec 28, 2015

The course is fun but the content is too general. I like to know more methods and technics to develop a game world, considering genres, mechanics and gameplay options.

автор: Naila Z W

Jun 03, 2020

The instructure has language barrier and its making hard to understand, but week 2 and 3 and 4 has some really great homeworks and enlightment

автор: Juan C D M

Dec 24, 2015

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other course do give).