Chevron Left
Вернуться к World Design for Video Games

Отзывы учащихся о курсе World Design for Video Games от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 647
Рецензии: 170

О курсе

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
20 сент. 2019 г.

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

JK
10 сент. 2020 г.

This is a fantastic course to run your imagination to it's top! You can built your own game world and show it to other students. The learning curve is definitely improving with this course!

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 162 отзывов о курсе World Design for Video Games

автор: Petros K

3 дек. 2015 г.

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it

автор: Zineb B

3 июня 2017 г.

Really valuable and informative course.

автор: Ahmed M

20 июля 2017 г.

it is useful but very very basics

автор: Muhammad U

10 апр. 2017 г.

Simply Awesome.

автор: Mehar S

22 апр. 2020 г.

good

автор: Julio d O J

31 мар. 2021 г.

Lectures are a bit on the vague side, and most doesn't dive too deep on the concepts. The tasks however are very thoughtful and guide you towards slowly crafting a coesive world. I think that major problem with the tasks is that, since they are peer reviewd and the reviewers are chosen at random, it becomes increasingly difficult to understand the coesion of the peers worlds, and the feedback on your own tasks also ends up getting increasingly vague with each week. There should be a sense of progression in the tasks, powered by each iteration.

автор: Piotr K

5 апр. 2021 г.

I think the course is good overall, and in some way explaining the idea of World Design. I liked the tasks and how they are explained. My rating is 3 as the instructor, unfortunately, didn't have a great way of expressing the excitement about the topic of World Design. In some moments it was hard for me to listen as everything was on one note, no punctuation, no articulation, etc.

автор: Francois B

23 нояб. 2015 г.

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

автор: Deborah M M

10 дек. 2015 г.

Short, simplistic. Could be done in a week. Very much a beginner's course for those who have not mindfully observed the game worlds in which they play. The student may come away with a few new ideas and the greatest value is in having peers review the homework assignments. Worth the time, if you quickly breeze through it.

автор: David M

11 окт. 2019 г.

There are are very useful tips and ideas in this class and I appreciated completing the assignments. I have a much better vision of my game world now than I did beforehand. However, the pace and vocabulary of the teacher was at times confusing or redundant, making the process of taking notes much more complicated.

автор: Travis A

19 окт. 2016 г.

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

автор: Marcus J

1 авг. 2020 г.

It's adequate for learning world-building concepts, though it doesn't really go into what makes the process different in video games until the last assignment. Be advised: the instructor has a thick accent that makes it hard to understand him at times.

автор: Kucherov A

14 дек. 2020 г.

It's not that bad, actually, just don't expect the lectures to be specific, like the ones from the previous courses. I really recommend doing the assignments, finish them first and then write everything you've found important.

автор: André W L O

21 авг. 2017 г.

to me, this course was a little obvious... one thing here, other there... it is not a bad course... but I expected a little more...

about the teacher, he is good, I like it (4 stars)... but the content is very "lightweight".

автор: Chandan B

11 июня 2017 г.

The course is good for learning how to organize and visualize, however I was expecting some sketching assignments also. Such kind of assignment which actually helps the learner draw together a world bit by bit.

автор: Karl C R

12 янв. 2016 г.

Easy to follow and well-packed with good information and tips, but I would like to see some kind of quiz-function along the course to test the knowledge I've been learning.

автор: Francisco N

28 дек. 2015 г.

The course is fun but the content is too general. I like to know more methods and technics to develop a game world, considering genres, mechanics and gameplay options.

автор: Naila Z W

2 июня 2020 г.

The instructure has language barrier and its making hard to understand, but week 2 and 3 and 4 has some really great homeworks and enlightment

автор: Juan C D M

24 дек. 2015 г.

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other course do give).

автор: Nuno F A C

24 июня 2018 г.

Substitles are bad, it's hard to understand most of the times what is being said. Also, the narration could be better

автор: Andrey K

21 дек. 2015 г.

I wish the course would give me more structured information and examples of applications.

автор: Alvaro M

24 мая 2016 г.

The assignments and theory are interesting enough to get you started on world design.

автор: Jaime R

22 дек. 2015 г.

Useful but as with the first course of the specialization very light on content

автор: Aditya z

30 июня 2019 г.

getting a review in the peer grade assignment is so time cosuming

автор: Rafael R S R

11 мая 2020 г.

The assignments are good, but the videos don't teach much.