Chevron Left
Вернуться к Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Story and Narrative Development for Video Games от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,039
Рецензии: 259

О курсе

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Лучшие рецензии

CS
30 дек. 2015 г.

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA
6 нояб. 2017 г.

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 254 отзывов о курсе Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

автор: Niam I

6 мар. 2016 г.

I am enjoying this course a lot. As a storyteller with screenwriting experience, it is interesting to learn of how the story dynamics work in the world of Game Design. Dariush is an engaging teacher and he provides a lot of good material to work with, as well as references.

автор: Sarah E

12 апр. 2021 г.

This course hepls me A LOT to bring a proper structere into my story. That was exactly what I needed. In my opinion, Dariush Derakhshani is super competent. His teached methods are well worth taking this course if you are interested in writing a good, consistent story.

автор: Fernando S M

24 нояб. 2015 г.

This is a good course for both who is starting as for those who already have a knowledge and seek advice and new ideas to develop stories for games.

However, I think that is ideal for everyone who wanted to learn how to communicate for team the idea of the game.

автор: 高飞

24 апр. 2018 г.

这个课程非常有趣,而且能够扩展你的写作技巧。不仅仅是制作游戏,有志于成为专业作家的学生也可以尝试学习一下。注意:有少量课程的视频没有中文字幕,中国学生可能会有一些理解困难。

This course is very interesting and can expand your writing skills. Not just making games, students who are interested in becoming professional writers can also try to learn.

автор: Oleg P

7 нояб. 2015 г.

It is more interesting course that I thought it to be, and the teacher, Dariush Derakhshani, is a very clever and charismatic person. He makes the student thinks for themselves, and the interesting assignments help them to foster their creative abilities.

автор: Rene R

12 апр. 2021 г.

I really loved how practical this course is! It really gives you a step-by-step guide on how to come up with a story! If I could improve one thing it would be to allow students to create their own stories instead of providing a fixed plot upfront.

автор: Farnoud F

30 янв. 2016 г.

This Course helped me a whole lot in process of writing and how to break down the process for better performance. I really liked how easy and well sorted were the Content of the course and how the assignment was purposely designed for that week.

автор: Joshua v d V

22 окт. 2018 г.

This course helped me learn the basics of storytelling, and I felt that with only 20 hours spent on this course I have grown a lot in this department. I would recommend this course to anyone who's into storytelling for video games.

автор: Laurene S

14 февр. 2017 г.

This is a very interesting course to learn the essentials of creating characters and stories that are captivating for the players, and how to ensure that your story works as a game. I really liked the assignement marked by peers.

автор: Daniil D

27 апр. 2021 г.

Great course with introduction to basic knowledge of narrative game design. The tutor, Dariush Derakshani, is really a good speaker. I also especially like that one of the games that were analyzed in the course was Starcraft II.

автор: Jhon S R M

25 мая 2020 г.

I really like the course, the feedback with other people really help, and although its a problem when there isn't sufficient people, in general i think that the course is good.

PS: the teacher is really good, I learnt a lot!

автор: Bojan P

27 янв. 2016 г.

This course is amazing for everyone who wants to learn more about story writing and presenting it, which than can be used for video games, but also for anything else as well.

Great course, my best recommendations.

автор: Alexandra

21 окт. 2015 г.

I was pretty upset by finding out there will be no Fran at this course, but Dariush is an amazing teacher too! I love how the material presents and exercises and examples are very interesting! 5 stars, no doubts!

автор: Miguel A P G

15 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed every week. The course provides a lot of precious information on story writing for video games and I think it is a great complement for those who can't attend an university course in the area.

автор: Ignacio J M

23 нояб. 2015 г.

A very interesting course about a subject that is probably overlooked by many gamers in favour of fun.

A compelling story (as well as memorable music and striking graphics) is what makes games an art form.

автор: Sandulela A

17 авг. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed the course and got some valuable feedback from my peers and am looking forward to taking the skills I learnt forward. The work was manageable and lessons were pitched at the right level.

автор: Tushar L

8 сент. 2020 г.

Thank you for this course. It was very intuitive, learned a lot about how to expand the game story in terms of "game-play", and how to write synopsis, character briefs and Game Story Presentation Scheme.

автор: Carlos E E S

30 дек. 2015 г.

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

автор: Yevhen L

25 нояб. 2020 г.

It is as much great as it is simple. Skills and practices are given in a clear and understandable way. Exercises reinforce taken knowledge effectively. Thank you a lot for this course!

автор: Liv

7 мар. 2019 г.

What a fun course! Really made me think about writing, how to turn a story into a game, and how to ideate and create bigger concepts from small ideas. Loved watching all the videos!

автор: Shuchao C

15 нояб. 2015 г.

The instructor carefully illustrates all points necessary for wring a game story. The logic is extremely clear, course materials intact and homework amount is decent for students.

автор: Adrianisa K S

8 янв. 2019 г.

The course is delivered very nicely with well-thought reading materials and lots of practicing. Like they always say, practice makes perfect.

Thank you for sharing the knowledge!

автор: Panagiotis A

28 сент. 2020 г.

Great instructor, very good material used for guidance and all concepts were fairly easy to understand. Highly recommend for beginners interested in narrative and story design.

автор: Manuel V

24 окт. 2020 г.

Very well structured course with pretty straightforward homeworks that teach a lot about importance of elaborating on details that make a good story strong and entertaining.

автор: Steven V

1 нояб. 2015 г.

The basics of this course are well defined and prepare you for proper story and narrative development in video games. I like the step-by-step process this course takes.