Chevron Left
Вернуться к Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Story and Narrative Development for Video Games от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,053
Рецензии: 261

О курсе

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Лучшие рецензии

CS

30 дек. 2015 г.

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

6 нояб. 2017 г.

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 256 отзывов о курсе Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

автор: Daniel

24 февр. 2016 г.

This course gives actionable ideas about design characters and story lines.

автор: Antonia P C

30 мая 2017 г.

I enjoyed a lot this course, showed quite well technics and tips to write

автор: Anirudh C

17 дек. 2018 г.

pretty interesting. so many aspects to learn about story writing.

автор: Carlo S C

10 сент. 2016 г.

A nice course, but there is lack of teachers participation.

автор: Angel A S M M

2 июня 2021 г.

Curso para aprender a redactar historias y sus personajes

автор: Mikiodelg

17 нояб. 2015 г.

Really nice way to know hot to present a Story!

автор: Andrea G A

16 июля 2021 г.

Good course but a little bit less talking head

автор: Ruaan G

30 нояб. 2018 г.

Best part of this specialization

автор: Samin M

8 июля 2020 г.

Very informative.Helped me alot

автор: Oscar Z

6 сент. 2021 г.

A bit boring to write story.

автор: 万锦阳

3 мая 2017 г.

The course was good!

автор: Petros K

3 дек. 2015 г.

quite enjoyable :)

автор: 19MSC13 J V

22 окт. 2021 г.

Challenging...

автор: Fernando B B

29 сент. 2017 г.

Great course!

автор: Alexis P C

7 июля 2020 г.

Taking the Story and Narrative Development for Video Games have helped me gain a basic understanding of developing stories for video games, etc. I was fortunate enough to learn from the constructive feedback received from peers in the class, which helped me improve and expand on my ideas in the course assignments. This course helped me apply exercises introduced in the course to everyday life when watching movies and reading stories.

I'm giving 3/5 stars because again, the course mentors did not seem involved in students' questions posted on the discussion forums. I posted a question regarding an assignment's missing grade only for it to be answered a week later. Many students have posted questions on the discussion forums from previous courses and this one only for most left unanswered.

I've left a similar review regarding lack of involvement of course mentors, and I'm disappointed to leave another review about it again. When course mentors are actively involved, it helps us learners to understand course materials and make learning enjoyable when interacting with others.

автор: Shanna S

19 мар. 2019 г.

This course was a little bit a shock for me. It had no continuity with the previous one, which was kinda a pity. Also, I had a hard time with the last two homework of week 3 and week 4, since a ''story'' is imposed to you, and you have to re-write within that...I would have preferred that we did the same exercise with the kid story chosen in the first two lessons(week 1 and 2). I wouldn't recommend it if you have already experience with writing because it was very discouraging for me, I almost wanted to skip the course, but I want that specialization so I had to complete it. But if you don't have experience in writing at all, maybe it could help you because the teacher explains to you his method to help you find your ideas for building your narrative, and also for describing your characters and their motives etc.

автор: Brit T

17 нояб. 2016 г.

I appreciate knowing more now than I did before about story writing. I know better now how to approach assessing a story and critiquing it, and I really want to work on a story of my own next!

Not going to lie, though, this course was difficult to immerse myself in simply because of the examples: I'm not into guns, not into muscle, not into violence, and every single example was either of men, or how a female's mission centered around the men in her life. If I could suggest a change in this course, it would be to consider all the different backgrounds of the people taking the course, and give examples that are more inclusive.

автор: amberlimshin

27 дек. 2020 г.

There were some insightful points and the instructor is clear and concise. The teachings were also made clearer by using actual written examples of games/stories. The reason for 3 stars is because the peer feedback is lacking. Maybe it's because this course requires more reading. People don't give critique or feedback. Just one-liners like "this is good" or "nothing to change". An important element of writing (especially for games) is feedback from others, which makes the feedback in this course frustrating.

автор: vanessarocks

1 мар. 2018 г.

I like that the instructions and lessons are easy to follow for a beginner. I am not a hardcore gamer but still I was able to understand the lessons and the examples given were quite helpful. What could be improved though is the Peer Review mechanics - I have submitted my assignment early but the review of my work came late. I don't want to pay for the course again in the next month, I really wanted to finish on time, but apparently that is not even in your control even if you submit on time.

автор: Laura R

24 авг. 2020 г.

Although I did enjoy the challenges proposed, the content was rather basic. I feel like the work we've done on week 1 and 2 where wasted as soon as week 3 came. My suggestion is to integrate all the challenges. I'd only suggest this course for real beginners.

автор: Kristen F

16 авг. 2017 г.

This was ok, but not really for me. I feel like this can be very helpful for some who struggle with story and narrative writing, but for those who have taken courses and studied this already, it was repetitive and tiresome.

автор: Татьяна Т

18 февр. 2022 г.

I'm disapointed. Basic knowleges of drama structure, making characters. And 0 about narrative mecanics. If You are already screenwriter or writer You will find nothing new.

автор: M L W

16 окт. 2016 г.

Concepts are interesting, the assignments are not. Writing and re-writing about the teacher's generic game example. Not much opportunity to work on your own content.

автор: Tatiana W

20 сент. 2018 г.

Great course content but only 3 stars because after being finished for over a month I am still waiting for someone to review my final assignment.

автор: Juan C D M

24 дек. 2015 г.

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other courses do give).