Chevron Left
Вернуться к Vector Calculus for Engineers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,082
Рецензии: 297

О курсе

Vector Calculus for Engineers covers both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

Лучшие рецензии

DK
22 мая 2020 г.

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB
14 мая 2021 г.

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 303 отзывов о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers

автор: Jorge L

16 июля 2021 г.

It is an outstanding course based on five weeks. It includes all basics you need to know to be involved in Vector Calculus. From Vectors, Operators, Differentiation, Integration (Line and Surface integrals), Curvilinear Coordinates, and Fundamental Theorems. Also, it provides a book with detailed information on each topic. So then, Jeffrey Chasnov thanks for this amazing journey.

автор: 173 N T 1

24 июня 2020 г.

This is a magnificent and top-notch course! The professor is very student-friendly and explains all the concepts in very good detail. Even difficult topics are made to look easy. The structure, organization, content and the flow of the course are very well-maintained and excellently planned. Overall, it is a course I would recommend to everyone trying to learn Vector Calculus.

автор: Arowosegbe D O

25 июня 2020 г.

The course topics were arranged accordingly to help students understand each of them completely using knowledge from previous topics and also serving as a sort of revision for previous topics. The lecture also had examples that made it easier to understand the topics and layout for the course. The questions were okay and reliable feedback after submission.

автор: SCHIFFMANN

1 мая 2020 г.

It has been a pleasure to study with prof Chesnov. I had difficulties to deal with Einstein Sommation Convention (the fundamental rules of this game were not explicitly given, I found them some other place) and to get some gradient calculus in spherical coordinates.

But as I said, the total amount of joy exceeds the sum of the pains!

Thank you

автор: Andres P

13 апр. 2021 г.

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. The course is well structured, the videos include very good explanations and the exercises are challenging. Congratulations for a very well designed online course. I enjoyed with this vector calculus course that helped me remember contents I had not used for around 20 years.

автор: Azan B

19 окт. 2020 г.

While being keeping the interest and challenge at a constant high throughout the course; this is a fabulous course to learn the calculus of our world. The best part is the consistent use of real world problems and derivations to some of the most famous and important equations of modern science and engineering.

автор: Oren L

25 июля 2020 г.

Excellent overview. I took vector calc in university about 15 years ago and needed a detailed refresher for my current job. Tha God, Prof. Chasnov, comes through once again. I've actually taken all 3 of his elementary engineering math courses over the last couple months, and they are all excellent. Thank you!

автор: Chloe M G

4 июня 2020 г.

brilliant teaching style and the professor makes the hardest of concepts easier to grasp. Would recommend 10/10 to anyone who is going to/has done engineering at university, as this helped me finally understand concepts of degree i was doing that i just could not understand with the university explanations.

автор: Navneet R

17 июня 2020 г.

Absolutely loved this course by Prof. Jeff Chasnov. Being an engineering undergraduate student i found it difficult to grasp the concepts of the vector calculus class i had at mt University. This course greatly helped me bridge that gap and rekindle my confidence in multi variable calculus.

автор: Aswin V

12 сент. 2020 г.

I felt that diagrams should have been given along with some questions to help in its visualization. Otherwise, the course is really good. It helped me brush up on my fundamentals as well as learn new things like the Levi-Civita symbol, etc. I thank Mr. Jeff Chasnov for making this course.

автор: Gregory T

24 нояб. 2020 г.

This was a great course that taught many concepts that are important in other fields. I'm learning orbital mechanics but I haven't studied math in over 25 years. This was a great refresh, and since I had forgotten pretty much everything, it was a good reintroduction to the topic.

автор: Achintya h s

10 янв. 2021 г.

Useful for college students who want an introduction in multi-variable calculus. At times it is challenging but the notes have plenty of resources and problems for practice. There is a lot to learn in this class and it was a very informative for me ! Thank you Professor Chasnov !

автор: RLS

2 авг. 2020 г.

This is a very good course. It covers a lot of ground in a clear manner but it don't think they have allowed enough time for students to get fully familiar with something before the course moves on to the next topic. Each of the last two weeks should be expanded to two week each.

автор: TJ L

9 мар. 2020 г.

Awesome course! I could have used more detail in the solutions given for some of the derivations at the end. This might just be because I haven't taken any physics yet. This course was a huge help in getting a handle on the divergence theorem, Green's theorem and Stokes' theorem!

автор: Kazem A

13 апр. 2021 г.

Very good and well--organized course accompanied with concise and useful notes. It is just a bit too much to be completed in five weeks compared to many other Coursera courses. I would like to thank Professor Chasnov for the time and effort he has invested in this useful course.

автор: Richard G

28 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent!. This is a really heavy course that covers a broad range of material in a very short time. If you are already proficient with calculus an vectors, it's a good review. If you are knew to calculus and vectors, it's a lot of time and work, but definitely worth it.

автор: Gilberto U

15 сент. 2021 г.

I​ am a retired engineering professor reviewing my knowledge of mathematics, and I found this course excellent for that purpose. The instructor was direct and to the point, yet he covered all interesting subject matters on vector calculus. I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Timur C

27 мая 2020 г.

Lectures notes came very handy, a lot of good stuff there. Prof. Chasnov compresess information to the core essentials so i recommend using some complementory material as you pass his course. Overall great experience looking forward for his diff equations course!

автор: Tadeo A

21 окт. 2020 г.

Este curso es una excelente fuente de información.

Los temas son variados y están muy bien enseñados, con una profundidad muy adecuada.

A pesar de que en ciertos momentos puede hacerce desafiante, es un gran curso para aprender sobre cálculo vectorial.

автор: Robert B

4 дек. 2020 г.

This is a good course for the more practical students. It is well titled "for Engineers", but also provides a good basis for going on to other courses that might delve deeper into the more developmental and proof oriented vector calculus material.

автор: SOUGAT P

22 нояб. 2020 г.

I loved this course. Especially the application of vector calculus in fluid mechanics and electrodynamics and the physical meaning of divergence and curl were excellent. Thanks a lot, Prof Chasnov for this superb course. Forever indebted to you.

автор: KEVIN A C M

29 авг. 2020 г.

It is a good course of vector calculus, but I think it is helpful mainly for students who have already taken this course before. Overall, I enjoyed this course. (Sorry if my writing has some mistakes, English is not my native language).

автор: Weli R R

11 авг. 2020 г.

i really enjoyed the course as it was explained to my detailed understanding. i learned a lot from this course as a mathematics student. Thank you for this great lecture. my name is Rikenga Weli and i am a student of covenant univeristy.

автор: Stephen M

13 авг. 2020 г.

Well presented; concise with examples; suitable for Physics undergrads in addition to Engineering students; the extensive PDF "book" with everything from the lectures + practice quizzes and worked answers makes an invaluable resource.

автор: Holger W

28 июля 2020 г.

Very good course, clear explanations, helpful examples and exercises and on top an excellent tutorial!

Trainer is very good in explaining these mathematical concepts. One of the best online courses I came across so far :-)