Chevron Left
Вернуться к Agile Development in Practice (Project-centered Course)

Agile Development in Practice (Project-centered Course), University of Virginia

4.6
Оценки: 77
Рецензии: 12

Об этом курсе

This project-centered course provides a guided opportunity for you to practice your agile development skills. Using the venture design process that frames the four courses in this Specialization, you will apply agile processes to a project of your choice or to a provided venture concept. From persona, problem scenario, and user story development to designing user testing and product launch, you’ll practice leading an agile project. You’ll finish the course with a portfolio-building design brief that demonstrates your learning and specialized skills in agile product development. To get the most out of this course, we suggest you first complete the other four courses in the Agile Development Specialization: Agile Meets Design Thinking; Running Product Design Sprints, Managing an Agile Team, Testing with Agile. By the end of this course, you'll be able to: --Formulate foundational positioning statements --Create, refine and test actionable personas --Conduct user interviews and analyze the results --Determine a 'happy path' to quickly test user stories --Run motivation and usability testing and evaluate the results As a Project Management Institute (PMI®) Registered Education Provider, the University of Virginia Darden School of Business has been approved by PMI to issue 40 professional development units (PDUs) for this course, which focuses on core competencies recognized by PMI. (Provider #2122) This course is supported by the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Лучшие рецензии

автор: RB

Dec 07, 2017

Great project-centered course. Very demanding, but worth every drop of sweat.

Фильтр по:

Рецензии: 12

автор: CHANDRA PRASAD KHANAL

Nov 12, 2018

This is an excellent course to resharpen your knowledge on Agile practices.

автор: Thomas Coffey

Nov 05, 2018

I thought the first four courses were great. This one not so much.

It's clear that the Venture Design Template (VDT) is a living, breathing document (as it should be) and that this course's instructions were based on a previous iteration of the document.

As a result, the homework instructions will refer to sections of the VDT that no longer exist.

In one of the Course 4 lectures, guest speaker Jim Rose states that 20% of time should be devoted to maintenance of existing features - I wish this course had gotten the maintenance that it needs.

Even when one gets beyond the issue identified above, homework instructions are a bit vague.

In previous courses you could see the grading rubric prior to submitting an assignment - this helped clarify what you were supposed to submit. For this course you'd only see the rubric after submission. Often, when reviewing classmates' work I'd think "I wish I'd known I was supposed to do that too."

Overall this resulted in a frustrating user experience and a lot of wasted time.

I spent extra time trying to figure out what I'm supposed to do (I want to spend my time doing - not figuring out what I'm supposed to do).

And I spent extra time grading - it was clear my classmates' were similarly confused (and it takes longer to grade and provide feedback on work that doesn't check all the boxes than one that does).

Simple suggestion to fix all of this: eliminate the dependency between this course and the VDT.

For each week's homework assignment create a submission template.

That would help students better understand exactly what they're supposed to submit each week and eliminate the problems that arise when the VDT is updated.

автор: Josue da Luz Dias

Jul 17, 2018

I have finished my journey couple weeks ago and still wait for someone to review my submission. I am going to pay 2 extra months having finished my course much earlier. It is just not fair.

автор: Andreu MARTINEZ NUEVO

Jul 14, 2018

I totally recommend this course. Well prepared, interesting interviews done by Alex to several professional with well-known reputation, good explanations, and well-prepared exercises. It’s totally worth to invest your time and money if you want to start in Agile.

автор: Erez Morabia

Apr 30, 2018

It might sound strange, but there are only a few good courses that really deal with agile development. This course is definitly one of them. I have enjoyed the format of this course and the journey it took me through. The live interviews with experts from the industry are a great bonus to the learning. Thank you Alex!.

автор: EJIKE NNAM EDE

Apr 29, 2018

Very interesting course

автор: Ricardo Bejarano

Dec 07, 2017

Great project-centered course. Very demanding, but worth every drop of sweat.

автор: xyz

Nov 06, 2017

nice

автор: Anders Lehr

Sep 21, 2017

This was an exciting, but also challenging learning experience.

автор: Andrew Beattie

Jun 27, 2017

Good course with decent guidance; I did not like that the grading rubric was not really aligned with the assignments. There is a vast disparity between projects, with some individuals creating 60+ page capstones which clearly took time and effort, while other projects/assignments were clearly not taken seriously. Due to the skewed grading rubric, individuals were able to spend far less time/effort completing the bare minimum, and were awarded the same grades as others who put the thought and effort into creating a well thought out project.