Chevron Left
Вернуться к Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы от партнера Мэрилендский университет в Колледж-Парке

4.7
Оценки: 208
Рецензии: 60

О курсе

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 57 отзывов о курсе Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы

автор: Ivan A B C

Dec 03, 2018

excelente me entrego las herramientas necesarias para poder iniciar mi trabajo en el campo designado.

автор: Eduardo F

Dec 21, 2018

Great Course.

Well presented

автор: Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

автор: Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

автор: Carlos A

Aug 16, 2018

Excellent Course!

автор: sion p

Oct 19, 2018

Great course, really enjoyed it.

автор: James C

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

автор: Dominic B

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

автор: Tan J F

Nov 18, 2018

Great Course!

автор: Panagiota K

Jul 17, 2017

Great course! The lectures are very interesting!

автор: Conrado T D J

Oct 07, 2016

Absolutely engaging & informative course!

автор: Diego R C

May 25, 2017

Great introducion course with new ideas and concepts.

автор: José F G Á

Jul 16, 2017

Great MOOC!

автор: Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

автор: Muhammad Y B S

Feb 26, 2017

A refreshing course that widens your opinion on Terrorism with information and datas to back up the research.

автор: Nabin C J

Oct 13, 2017

Very nice course and flow of materials. A good learning for Urban socio-political Disaster

автор: Nathan R

Mar 23, 2017

Start is a great program with lots of resources

автор: Beka K

Jul 31, 2017

I would change nothing in this course. It’s very comprehensive and enlightening one. I have enriched and increased my supply of knowledge about terrorism. Presentation slides are perfect and I’m excited about high quality of interaction of existing professors. There are quizzes, which are not overwhelmingly complicated and also final peer-graded assignment about particular terrorist group. Thanks to University of Maryland for such a great adventure. Besides, there is no need of any previous knowledge and by this mean, I recommend this course to everyone generally interested in the issues of terrorism.

автор: Nev D

Apr 23, 2017

Great course. Thank you. The information was very comprehensive, and thorough, and very professionally presented. Very enjoyable and I learned a lot.

автор: Sam B

Apr 16, 2018

Outstanding material and great use of the GTD

автор: Diganta B

Jul 19, 2017

Well researched course documents and very nice video lectures, which really helped me to grab the understanding of complexities of terrorism. Thanks a lot..!!

автор: KATSIVARDEAS V

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent work!!!!!!

автор: Aren F

Jun 20, 2017

It was an excellent course. A follow up course should be done with greater focus on organizational analysis.

автор: Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations to understand the threats out of terrorism and counter-terrorism aspcts. It is inter-disciplinary oriented and putting analysis in context to frameworks from psychology and sociology and considers in depth as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to a structured understanding of terrorism basics, the use of terrorist incidents data as well as in particular on getting view into the radicalisation process and dynamics of indidviduals, groups and organisation being involved in terrorism.

автор: Ahmad T B M S

Jan 01, 2018

A good and comprehensive introduction course on understanding terrorism.