Chevron Left
Вернуться к Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы от партнера Мэрилендский университет в Колледж-Парке

4.7
Оценки: 225
Рецензии: 66

О курсе

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 62 отзывов о курсе Понимание терроризма и террористической угрозы

автор: Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

автор: Eduardo F

Dec 21, 2018

Great Course.

Well presented

автор: Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

автор: Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

автор: abdirizak m h

Apr 06, 2018

helpfull

автор: Nabin C J

Oct 13, 2017

Very nice course and flow of materials. A good learning for Urban socio-political Disaster

автор: Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.

автор: Alfred W P I

Jun 20, 2017

This was an excellent course that gave me a broad view of the terrorism threat. At the same time, we examined many specifics particular to certain groups and and challenges faced when dealing with terrorism. I highly enjoyed the course and will continue my studies on this subject.

автор: Joseph A J

Mar 28, 2017

I loved this course! I have taken a variety of other terrorism courses over the years and this is definitely one of the best courses I have ever been involved in. I will recommend this course to anyone seeking to expand their knowledge base!

автор: Melissa J H

Dec 16, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Much of the knowledge I thought I had coming into the course was erroneous or skewed by the media. Highly recommend this course to anyone in the law enforcement field/homeland sec field, or who just wants to learn more on the subject!

автор: José W B d S M

Apr 24, 2018

Very interesting content presented by very good professors .

автор: BILU K

Feb 24, 2017

I love this course..thanks to coursera and professors for the course..wonderful

автор: Nathan R

Mar 23, 2017

Start is a great program with lots of resources

автор: Livingstone N M

Dec 21, 2016

A very good course in the modern times where there is increased terrorism threat across the globe,,

автор: Sohail N K

Aug 11, 2017

An excellent course well designed to elucidate the chores of terrorism through an empirical perspective so as to base the countering endeavours on a logical edifice of practical and appropriate solution to eradicate this menace from the civilized world. Well done.

автор: Panagiota K

Jul 17, 2017

Great course! The lectures are very interesting!

автор: Conrado T D J

Oct 07, 2016

Absolutely engaging & informative course!

автор: José F G Á

Jul 16, 2017

Great MOOC!

автор: Diego R C

May 25, 2017

Great introducion course with new ideas and concepts.

автор: Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

автор: Muhammad Y B S

Feb 26, 2017

A refreshing course that widens your opinion on Terrorism with information and datas to back up the research.

автор: Nev D

Apr 23, 2017

Great course. Thank you. The information was very comprehensive, and thorough, and very professionally presented. Very enjoyable and I learned a lot.

автор: Sam B

Apr 16, 2018

Outstanding material and great use of the GTD

автор: Diganta B

Jul 19, 2017

Well researched course documents and very nice video lectures, which really helped me to grab the understanding of complexities of terrorism. Thanks a lot..!!

автор: Beka K

Jul 31, 2017

I would change nothing in this course. It’s very comprehensive and enlightening one. I have enriched and increased my supply of knowledge about terrorism. Presentation slides are perfect and I’m excited about high quality of interaction of existing professors. There are quizzes, which are not overwhelmingly complicated and also final peer-graded assignment about particular terrorist group. Thanks to University of Maryland for such a great adventure. Besides, there is no need of any previous knowledge and by this mean, I recommend this course to everyone generally interested in the issues of terrorism.