Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Obesity

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Obesity от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 374
Рецензии: 94

О курсе

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Лучшие рецензии

AD
18 авг. 2017 г.

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

MC
19 авг. 2020 г.

The science behind the Obesity, its effects, addiction, control methods are explained clearly and helped to take a self motive step towards healthy living.

Фильтр по:

76–93 из 93 отзывов о курсе Understanding Obesity

автор: Amna T

30 авг. 2020 г.

amazing

автор: Elsemarie V d W

28 апр. 2020 г.

Some interesting studies are mentioned, dispelling some common beliefs around obesity. I was hoping for more instructive conclusions that could be applied to assist in relieving obesity. I would like to receive a sporadic summary of truly useful action steps from the last assignment in the course when consolidated by the research team at the University of Edinburgh.

P.S.: item 2.3 seems to be missing from the structure of the course.

автор: Adhithya S

23 апр. 2020 г.

This course was well constructed, it took a conversational approach of discussing and explaining the concepts. I felt that the instructors could have tried to summarize every session. It would have been beneficial. Overall a good insight into obesity and weight related disorders.

автор: Ange R

1 окт. 2017 г.

Great for a podcast-type learning experience. I question some of the research results they mention, which is my only concern. Otherwise a great course and very educational! Corrects a lot of common misconceptions and does a good job of getting in-depth without being specialized.

автор: Helen B C

7 мая 2018 г.

This course was really interesting, it covered a wide range of topics and supported assertions with evidence. It was quite quick and easy to complete, but I certainly learned new ways to tackle my own unhealthy eating habits. Thank you

автор: Monica

21 авг. 2017 г.

Updated introduction and understanding of this popular topic in health. Worth to take time to learn not only for health promoter but those want to help friends and family members on this.

автор: Borbála B

2 нояб. 2017 г.

It is a great course but I didn't was so happy when I could only listen. I prefer the videos, this is why I give only 4 stars. But it was really interesting, thanks a lot!

автор: Afonso J

10 янв. 2018 г.

Great experience

This was great experience, with thouthful insight’s.

Looking forward for STEP 2 - Episode 2, “UNDERSTANDING OBESITY_Univ Edinburgh”…

автор: Rosario C d l G V

27 авг. 2020 г.

Course was great, but it was unfortunate many sections where blocked therefore,I took so long to complete it

автор: Kate B

7 мар. 2019 г.

Why wasn't the world's sedentary lifestyle not discussed as a cause of weight gain?

автор: Dr. S

16 сент. 2020 г.

Role of gut microbiota on obesity should be included

автор: Fumio S

19 сент. 2018 г.

It was a very interesting lecture.

автор: Ahmad A

6 янв. 2018 г.

thanks for an excellent course

автор: Leigh-Ann S

19 февр. 2017 г.

A good introduction for "beginners", aka people who are not involved, educated or interested in public health, healthcare. Alternatively, seek another course because it is very simple.

автор: Sean W

13 янв. 2021 г.

A Good Introduction to the field, certainly easy to absorb informative and short enough to establish the current areas of interaction in the realm.

I recommend.

автор: Iram A

6 дек. 2017 г.

Because can only take the final quiz once and its not really related to what i studied... :(

автор: Mark

25 авг. 2017 г.

Covers the basics well, but a little more simplistic than I was expecting.

автор: Karla i H V

2 июля 2020 г.

Es muy lamentable que sólo este en inglés y no en otros idiomas como el español, es el cuarto cursó en Línea que tomó aqui en cursera y fue triste quere aprender y que el idioma fuera un impedimento