Chevron Left
Вернуться к Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,467
Рецензии: 667

О курсе

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Лучшие рецензии

FY
5 июля 2018 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Фильтр по:

626–650 из 657 отзывов о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

автор: Ralfe P

23 янв. 2021 г.

I learned some very useful theory and techniques for assessing arguments. However, I felt that the content was quite short (I completed it in a few days) and there was very little interaction in the forums.

автор: Anthony N

23 дек. 2020 г.

Perhaps simplify lectures. And best not to use the Robert Redford example. Stick with an example and simply and clearly reflects the argument you are trying to make. My two cents.

автор: Dorothy H

17 авг. 2016 г.

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

автор: Wong H Z

7 мая 2020 г.

Some of the examples are useful/helpful in illustrating the concepts, but there are too much time spent on elaborating the unnecessary or repeating the points.

автор: Ana I R M

26 апр. 2020 г.

Se ofrece el curso traducido a varios idiomas pero sólo los videos están traducidos. Los cuestionarios y las preguntas emergentes no están traducidas.

автор: Joanna C

19 апр. 2020 г.

There should be more written resources available given the volume of content covered. It was a little hard to retain it all by watching the videos.

автор: Chandana P

26 сент. 2020 г.

It was interesting but later i found it boring .But it was a good experience.

Walton sir you were very good.Thank you for giving this class.

автор: Kseniia L

6 мар. 2018 г.

First part is quite intresting, but then lectures are too long and repetitive. I suppose previous course was much better.

автор: Charles E D

16 февр. 2018 г.

One of the questions I got wrong on the final quiz suggest all birds fly as a correct answer, wrong ALL BIRDS do not fly.

автор: Regina C

5 авг. 2020 г.

This course was a struggle for me. The quizzes were sometimes hard to follow when it came to breaking down arguments

автор: Aijaz A

23 июня 2020 г.

The course is overly theoretical with little real world application. This is the reason I lost interest.

автор: KatieD

24 окт. 2017 г.

Videos cut off before the end and would instantly start replaying from the beginning

автор: Gloria L

6 авг. 2020 г.

I am not too fond of the examples used

автор: Marilyn M

27 мая 2020 г.

A lot of "okays?' Interesting class

автор: Charmaine

5 авг. 2020 г.

A bit boring, sometimes confusing.

автор: Roger K

9 июля 2020 г.

Pretty heavy on the linguistics

автор: Emil

11 июля 2020 г.

This was a strange course.

автор: Nicole R

22 мая 2018 г.

Somewhat outdated videos.

автор: Ricardo S

13 июля 2020 г.

No es lo que esperaba

автор: Deepali

17 мая 2020 г.

Super

автор: Stella O

15 сент. 2020 г.

I learned a lot about arguments. However, I feel that it was at times very confusing and difficult to understand. There was not enough practice to learn how to apply the theories and concepts of arguments. It was as difficult as taking a Math course without tools for practicing the problems of the concepts and theories. Also, the instructors should refer to other Cousera MOOCs that make learning material easy to recall and fun such as Mindshift (from McMaster University) ; Learning How to Learn (from several partners); Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills (from the University of Pennsylvania); Psychological First Aid (from Johns Hopkins University); and the Science of Success (from the University of Michigan). The professors who teach these courses make it so easy to understand the material and remember it. I have even gone back to review these courses and recommended them to my family members. I will not recommend this course. This MOOC was the first MOOC that I had problems with. I had to take the final quiz more than once in other to pass it. The presentation of the material needs to be improved. This explains why lots of people are not taking the course.

автор: Eric D

18 авг. 2020 г.

Not what I was expecting at all... Rather than being called "How to understand arguments" this should be called "How to understand what IS an argument and what parts it is made of. This "course is very theoretical and doesn't really explain how to spot fallacies, shortcuts etc, or how to construct a good, clear argument, which is what I expected from this course. So maybe I just took the wrong class, but to be honest I am disappointed with the time spent and what I've actually learnt.

автор: ΑΙΚΑΤΕΡΙΝΗ Μ

5 февр. 2021 г.

ΕΝΔΙΑΦΕΡΟΝ ΑΛΛΑ ΔΥΣΚΟΛΟ ΓΙΑ ΜΕΝΑ..

автор: Rocio d M T

19 февр. 2021 г.

Not what I'm looking for. The instructor chose a way of teaching that is not to my entire satisfaction with lots of joke-like prompts and too many details that make a simple explanation too long in my view. No wonder he extended the courses in four parts. I do not agree in making things unnecesary long in order to achieve more. I am dissapointed and I'm therefore unenrolling from this. Good luck.

автор: Paola S

6 июля 2020 г.

In my view, this Course is meaningless. I could pass the final test after completing 1,5 weeks instead of 4. I still can't understand which is the aim of this program. Nevertheless, the teacher is very smart.