Chevron Left
Вернуться к Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,504
Рецензии: 677

О курсе

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Лучшие рецензии

FY
5 июля 2018 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Фильтр по:

526–550 из 668 отзывов о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

автор: Renato M P C

7 нояб. 2017 г.

Very nice course! Actually learned a lot from these guys.

Pros: nice content, easy language, freedom to do it at will.

Cons: some videos are longer than necessary and some mixed up subs. But nothing largely demeaning.

Give it a try if you want to improve your communication skills :)

автор: Amitabh S

4 мая 2020 г.

Initially, you might be overwhelmed. But stay on course and complete this course cause you will never look at a passage or a conversation like before. A slightly difficult topic which has been explained very well by Walter and with good humour. Thank you and enjoyed the course.

автор: Edward L

5 сент. 2020 г.

Prof. Sinnott-Armstrong is lively, and his lectures are captivating. The course material is also crafted. Perhaps having more exercises and some optional extra readings would have made it even better. Looking forward to the next part of the course!

автор: Matthew A

24 дек. 2019 г.

A very well-crafted intro to analysis of arguments. From how people try to convince others to deconstructing why they are right or wrong. The only downside is that the Close Analysis quizzes are a bit user-unfriendly. Otherwise, simply wonderful.

автор: Dylan J O

7 авг. 2020 г.

The instructor presented the material methodically, at times a little too slowly for my liking, but he was clear and thorough. The pace of the course seemed quite reasonable and I hope to use some of it to help my students analyze arguments.

автор: Matthew B

14 июля 2020 г.

I think the course would benefit from more complex questions, and even a component of written analysis, such as a task where we are provided with a full article to reconstruct.

Otherwise, terrific course. I will continue onto Think Again II

автор: Karim M

27 авг. 2017 г.

Nice experience, it was my first time to do a course from COIRSERA and I like the format and technical delivery of the of the program. I would like to thanks our professors at Duke for consolidating this wonderful program.

автор: YOUSEF A Z E

11 дек. 2019 г.

This course is very useful for me, but actually it is very hard to understand all material especially the English is not my native language and must know the small different between the meaning of words and using its

автор: Lee J Y

29 июня 2020 г.

The course grinds the brain a lot. There's a lot of linguistics involved, which can get tiresome really fast, but I supposed it's there to prepare students for II, III, and IV, which I shall continue after some rest.

автор: Esther M

8 янв. 2018 г.

The lectures were a little long but were thorough. I didn't realize this course was part of a series. I think I would like to see a more condensed version. I will have to take the other course(s) to find out.

автор: RAFAEL A M A

15 февр. 2017 г.

Percibí áreas de oportunidad en la claridad de algunos de los ejemplos que el expositor empleó a lo largo del curso. El caso que más crítico fue el de "Búfalo, Búfalo, Búfalo.... hasta llegar a 11 Búfalos..."

автор: Chua C X

12 июня 2020 г.

It has been good in strengthening my understanding and structure of arguments. It is a very fun subject looking at some of the small things that make up arguments. Do try this out on your own free time.

автор: Pablo E

3 янв. 2018 г.

A structured way to make and understand arguments. I recommend it. Advice for future students: Pay strong attention in the lectures to the concepts of validity, soundness and argument markers.

автор: Daniel M

4 июля 2020 г.

It was something completely new to me. I had a bit of a rough time understanding to begin with, but pushed through. Glad I did. I'll be continuing with the remaining four soon. Great stuff.

автор: Amal K

28 июля 2019 г.

Many thanks, i have had fun in the course. Material was easy to comprehend and flow easy to follow . I am just giving it 4 stars, as i think more practical examples should be provided

автор: Deneil L

15 мар. 2017 г.

I found this course to be very interesting. I certainly gained a better understanding of arguments, my own shortcomings and steps I can take to improve/put into practice. Thank you.

автор: Jesus E S M

5 нояб. 2020 г.

I found this course full of useful information, now I am starting to analyse my daily talking with other persons in a complex way. It was a great start for the serie's think again

автор: Dysprosium

25 июня 2017 г.

Great intro course. The skills taught can be useful for both academic pursuits as well as making our way through the bombardment of information we navigate in our daily lives.

автор: Berren D

26 окт. 2020 г.

I learned a lot about arguments and reasoning, and the Professor does a good job explaining things. The lectures, too, are (for the most part) not too long and not too short.

автор: Thảo Q N

10 мая 2020 г.

This course helps me improve knowledge about arguments a lot. I studied many interesting things with a friendly professor. But I found hard to apply it to practice.

автор: Bridgette F

15 июля 2019 г.

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

автор: Andrew C

16 нояб. 2016 г.

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

автор: Guillermo P

4 авг. 2017 г.

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

автор: Ricky S S

18 окт. 2017 г.

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

автор: Gregory R

8 сент. 2020 г.

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.