Chevron Left
Вернуться к Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,322
Рецензии: 633

О курсе

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Лучшие рецензии

FY
5 июля 2018 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Фильтр по:

476–500 из 623 отзывов о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

автор: Luciana R V

28 июня 2020 г.

I have really enjoyed the course and found myself thinking about while working and building my own arguments or listening to others. The books is good support material if you want to review the content and I would recommend reading it before completing the final test.

I like the fact that it uses videos and quiz and open questions as different ways of learning and keeping the attention.

It is a shame to see the lack of quality in the overall participation in the discussion forums. Many people clearly do not even make an effort to answer properly. To be fair, some questions are quite confusing. Maybe the discussions forums could help add points to the final test if answers are adequate and motivate others to participate and discuss further?

автор: Jodi J

10 июня 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I was looking for a course that would be interesting, would be relevant to my everyday situations, and would be mentally challenging. This course ticked all those boxes, plus the instructor was engaging and amusing. I withheld one star because I kept expecting the second professor to appear as "advertised" and he never did, which was (oddly) distracting and also because I found some of the quiz questions to be debatable and/or not adequately explained and I often had feelings of frustration around this. However, this is my first online class and frustration could be an unavoidable consequence of not having access to a live instructor.

Thank you very much for this really enjoyable learning experience.

автор: Yada P

23 июня 2020 г.

This course is really good and introduces a more complex and challenging way of thinking for me, which is really good. Another thing I really like is how the professor teaching this course is really funny, nice and knowledgeable, and is really passionate in this subject. However, there are some topics in this course that I found it hard to understand, such as the speech act etc. But still English is my second language, so that might be why. But overall this course is one of the better course on coursera and I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family. Finally, the professor explain most things really good, so I understand most things here quite well, and I’m only thirteen.

автор: Nanop S

13 мая 2020 г.

I need to state first that, this course provides very interesting knowledge and activities in the course and it provides great experiences to me. However, I think that it is a difficult course one if this is called as "Beginner level course". For non-English native users like me, it is quite hard to fully understand each word in details since it requires learner to have a good chunk of linguistic knowledge before taking this course, if I'm just a normal (not even a good one) user. So, it would be more fit if this course is "Intermediate level course" (Level 2) rather than "Beginner level course" (Level 1).

автор: Natalia M

3 июля 2020 г.

This course is a very good introduction to critical discourse analysis. It both presents key concepts that facilitate this kind of analysis and illustrates how to apply them step by step. I like that it applies a number of notions from mathematical logic in analysing arguments, but at times it feels like it might be easier to actually introduce these notions explicitly in order to clarify a few ideas. I could, of course, be wrong in thinking that would help, but it felt contrived to avoid them. Thanks for the careful, detailed lectures!

автор: Choong S Y (

9 мая 2020 г.

This can be quite a content-heavy course but the lecture videos are very engaging, making the learning experience extra fun! Loved that there are plenty of examples mentioned in the videos to illustrate the concepts. Practice quizzes after every lecture video was extremely helpful in keeping track of your understanding on that particular topic. They prompted questions after each lecture to open for discussion challenged me to think about that topic deeply and more critically. Overall a pleasant learning experience!

автор: Vicky

10 апр. 2018 г.

Very well organized course, with many videos and exercises. Professor Armstrong explains everything really well and in a funny way. Unfortunately the discussions in the forums are not something really interesting, since most of the people don't participate or write something just to pass. All in all I would recommend this course but be prepared, cause it takes at least 4-5 hours of participation per week. Also, something I noticed is that sometimes I felt like we were over-analyzing. But this can be me.

автор: Kaze B

4 сент. 2020 г.

It is not a basic course in debating or arguments. It is quite theoretical and assesses logical questions in places. If you are looking for a course on basic debating and or arguing, this is not it. It did help me, however, to see the theory behind some of the arguments I make. I look forward to practically applying some of it, in my line of work.

It is also taught quite clearly and with enough focus, it is easy to follow. Even when it gets challenging. I would recommend.

автор: Dore B

9 июня 2020 г.

This was a very challenging course. Most online courses feel very basic and take far less time than expressed in the course details but this one has legitimately taken the full 4 weeks. It made me think philosophically about the structure of arguments and from a English language perspective to understand the premises and conclusions as well as the underlying assumptions to enable arguments to be interrogated.

автор: Haran S

8 июля 2020 г.

The Professor is very entertaining and the lectures are very clearly explained. The explanations for the practice quiz answers are also very helpful. The only minor quibble is that some of the points in the lectures can be laboured at times. Perhaps one improvement would be to devise a quiz where we are let loose on a passage to perform close analysis (without the aid of multiple choice prompts).

автор: Nick G

9 янв. 2018 г.

Professor Armstrong can be a bit long-winded at times, but the course is still engaging and worthwhile. The frequent use of pop quizzes helps to break up the monotony and apply concepts to real, if often lighthearted, arguments. I plan to continue on with the remaining 3 courses so that I can better separate the wheat from the chaff in my own beliefs as well as those of others.

автор: Barbara L

15 авг. 2020 г.

This is a rather difficult course to follow. It requires lots of logic and reasoning which can get you lost along the way. However, if you stick to it, it all gets tied together and starts to make a lot of useful sense. I will definitely be able to identify the structure of arguments better in the future based on my understanding of the concepts learned in this course.

автор: Niki F

23 мая 2020 г.

Towards the end, it got a bit confusing and difficult, but I enjoyed the challenge! The professor was definitely entertaining and you could tell he enjoyed teaching this subject. I also enjoyed the philosophical touches of, "Why are we doing this in the first place?" every so often. I definitely came out learning more than what I had expected to learn.

автор: Cindi A

8 июня 2020 г.

Very challenging! Which is not a bad thing, I hope to be challenged by the courses I take. Unfortunately, I do feel that I would have to take the course again in order to move on to the next course in this series. The instructor is engaging, and I will definitely consider re-watching the videos in order to clarify any gaps.

автор: Cliff S

11 сент. 2016 г.

This is one of the better courses on Cousera. The instructors are passionate, the material is challenging, but well explored and it is one of the most practical courses on logic as it talks about how to form and interpret practical arguments.

The only real downside is lack of interaction from mentors/ta's in the forum.

автор: Lam A T

21 мар. 2020 г.

I find this course somewhat challenging to and difficult to get a hold of it , but the course is very engaging , the professor made it clear and easy to understand , overall this course really help me improve my understanding a logic of arguments and how important it is to know what kind you getting in .

автор: Renato M P C

7 нояб. 2017 г.

Very nice course! Actually learned a lot from these guys.

Pros: nice content, easy language, freedom to do it at will.

Cons: some videos are longer than necessary and some mixed up subs. But nothing largely demeaning.

Give it a try if you want to improve your communication skills :)

автор: Amitabh S

4 мая 2020 г.

Initially, you might be overwhelmed. But stay on course and complete this course cause you will never look at a passage or a conversation like before. A slightly difficult topic which has been explained very well by Walter and with good humour. Thank you and enjoyed the course.

автор: Edward L

5 сент. 2020 г.

Prof. Sinnott-Armstrong is lively, and his lectures are captivating. The course material is also crafted. Perhaps having more exercises and some optional extra readings would have made it even better. Looking forward to the next part of the course!

автор: Matthew A

24 дек. 2019 г.

A very well-crafted intro to analysis of arguments. From how people try to convince others to deconstructing why they are right or wrong. The only downside is that the Close Analysis quizzes are a bit user-unfriendly. Otherwise, simply wonderful.

автор: Dylan J O

7 авг. 2020 г.

The instructor presented the material methodically, at times a little too slowly for my liking, but he was clear and thorough. The pace of the course seemed quite reasonable and I hope to use some of it to help my students analyze arguments.

автор: Matthew B

14 июля 2020 г.

I think the course would benefit from more complex questions, and even a component of written analysis, such as a task where we are provided with a full article to reconstruct.

Otherwise, terrific course. I will continue onto Think Again II

автор: Karim H A M

27 авг. 2017 г.

Nice experience, it was my first time to do a course from COIRSERA and I like the format and technical delivery of the of the program. I would like to thanks our professors at Duke for consolidating this wonderful program.

автор: YOUSEF A Z E

11 дек. 2019 г.

This course is very useful for me, but actually it is very hard to understand all material especially the English is not my native language and must know the small different between the meaning of words and using its

автор: Lee J Y

29 июня 2020 г.

The course grinds the brain a lot. There's a lot of linguistics involved, which can get tiresome really fast, but I supposed it's there to prepare students for II, III, and IV, which I shall continue after some rest.