Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,835
Рецензии: 550

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 524 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Nicole F

Jun 08, 2016

For a short course it worked out very well.

автор: Andre M O

Aug 28, 2016

perfect the approaches to typography

автор: Torsten R

May 23, 2016

Initially, I took the course just for general interest in typography. The nice experience I made here convinced me to go deeper into the material in the future. I definitely learned something that took me some steps forward.

I especially liked the well-made videos. They are very good to listen to and they are very clearly designed, it is making things easy to understand.

In the exams and in the peer reviews, it seemed to make a difference that some students had already taken the Graphics Design Specialization.

I can definitely recommend this course.

автор: Katarina B

Nov 10, 2016

very good quality, very good teachers.

автор: Blanca

Apr 26, 2016

very useful

автор: Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

автор: Lili C

Apr 12, 2016

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

автор: Erhan D

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

автор: Tigran G

Oct 23, 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

автор: Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

автор: Tarang S

Mar 28, 2017

This course is brilliant... that's all I can say.

автор: Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

автор: Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

автор: Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo

автор: Kristian J L D R

Mar 19, 2017

I Really Enjoyed the course

автор: Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

автор: OlgaYermolina

Dec 01, 2017

very informative

автор: Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

автор: celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course

автор: Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

автор: Oleg R

Feb 01, 2018

Very nice cource

автор: Lynn K

Jan 25, 2017

This course is good to understand basic typography. Teacher had detail and good explanations.

автор: Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

автор: Fatin I

Aug 23, 2016

I've always wanted to learn typography but learning on it's own without any practice is really boring. The assignments are really good in applying what I have learnt, making the learning really enjoyable. The course teacher is super zen and loving his style of teaching. I would want to take this full design course some day.

автор: Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.