Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,237
Рецензии: 864

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SZ
27 авг. 2020 г.

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 838 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Hasnat A H

4 сент. 2020 г.

The course shows one the influences and impacts of typefaces in different medias. The peer-graded assignments were very enjoyable. Experimenting with various typefaces was fun.

автор: Yunshu

8 янв. 2017 г.

I have learnt a lot from this introduction course. The peer reviewed assignments also give me the opportunities to see works from other students and inspire me more. Thank you!

автор: QUIAWAN, D M (

25 окт. 2020 г.

Thank you very much!!! In a short period of time, I have learned new terminologies and gained new design perspectives that are remarkably significant to my chosen career path.

автор: Eva H

26 нояб. 2017 г.

Great course. I love the videos; they are short, specific and right to the main points. I enjoyed all the assignments and creating my designs from scratch.

Thanks to the tutor!

автор: Veena V

9 мая 2016 г.

The course material is very informative and delves into the history and evolution of typography. The assignments are very interesting and help understand the concepts better.

автор: Malena P

9 нояб. 2020 г.

This course shares valuable information, the facilitator is clear and friendly in his explanations and the exercises are interesting. Really enjoyed the experience. Thank you

автор: Audrey R M

23 окт. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. The video presentations are not only informative but interesting as well. The prof is knowledgeable and good at explaining concepts. Five stars.

автор: Eugenia R

12 мая 2020 г.

I really appreciated the clarity with how the classes are given, and the projects really makes you understand or at least put into use all that was given in the weeks videos.

автор: udit k

25 дек. 2017 г.

I liked it. I am graphic designer by profession, but some things are highlighted only when you make the effort to take such courses which provide a brief in-depth overview.

автор: Mirza B

22 авг. 2017 г.

A must take course for Graphic Designing learners. Faculty was very helping and lectures & assignments are not too difficult for the ones having some background knowledge.

автор: Kassandra G C

28 мая 2020 г.

I think the course is excellent but I stumble upon different cases of plagiarism in the assignments. So maybe the instructions could be clearer to avoid these situations.

автор: Angel D M G

3 апр. 2020 г.

Excelente curso, una muy buena forma de enseñar la denotación y connotación de las letras y palabras, el impacto que pueden tener y las composiciones que se pueden lograr

автор: Joshua B

16 мая 2018 г.

Love this course, really inspired a love a typography in me that i never new existed, as well as teaching me some handy skills. Words will never look the same. 5 stars :)

автор: Hezekiah A

19 июня 2017 г.

I will recommend all student who attempted the graphic design course to also take on the introduction to typography, its necessary i n understanding fonts and their use.

автор: Nathaniel M Z

10 мая 2016 г.

I love this course my introduction to typography is great. The lesson wasn't too much to handle. We focused on the basics and I learned to appreciate type and it's usage

автор: Stefan D

14 мар. 2016 г.

If you get confused every time you open the font selection dialog then this course is for you. It well structured has a lot of visuals. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Mark H

8 сент. 2020 г.

I learned so much about Typography in this course. In my opinion, this course requires the most note-taking of the five classes in the Graphic Design Specialization.

автор: Joel D B

19 нояб. 2017 г.

Very good and well-structured introductory course. Information is clearly laid out in engaging videos, and each new exercise builds satisfyingly on the previous week.

автор: David A V D S

29 апр. 2018 г.

In this course I took a new experience in relation to what I knew I have several years as a freelancer and only now I understand how to get to know the types. Great!

автор: Anusha M

2 июля 2020 г.

The course is very detailed and informative. Provides very good material on typography, history of typography and efficiently dissects the properties of typography.

автор: Leisa R

17 февр. 2017 г.

This was my first introduction to Typography. I played around a little with calligraphy as a hobby. I learned so much from taking this class and by far my favorite.

автор: Tristan S

11 янв. 2018 г.

A really informative course. The lectures tie in nicely with the assignments, which have given me a much greater understanding of how to use typography in my work.

автор: Aakanksha T

13 апр. 2016 г.

As a self-taught designer, this course helped me learn a lot more about typography than good ol' hands-on experience has, to date. Great course. Thanks so much! :)

автор: Brianna P

6 апр. 2016 г.

This class gave a great introduction to Typography! The instructor did a great job at bringing Typography to life. The content of the course was very approachable.

автор: SHAFIA N

31 июля 2020 г.

Its amazing!

In this cours i read about typefaces and create logo.

I don't know! What is topography?

But when I read about it ,then I am understand topography .