Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,849
Рецензии: 1,042

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Фильтр по:

901–925 из 1,026 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Christos C

18 авг. 2016 г.

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

автор: Ana M

14 дек. 2020 г.

Thanks to Coursera for providing these courses. Thanks to the teacher, it was very clear and the classes were didactic. Thanks to the people who corrected my assignments.

автор: David V

15 мар. 2016 г.

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

автор: Katie S

7 июля 2020 г.

This was a great course--really introductory and yet also really informative. I will definitely take some of the things I learned into future design work! Thanks!

автор: Georgina P

20 сент. 2017 г.

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

автор: Paola H G

6 окт. 2020 г.

Me gustó bastante, es un curso introductorio pero que profundiza en algunos conceptos importantes para entender cómo funciona la tipografía en el diseño gráfico

автор: Christine

12 июня 2016 г.

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.

автор: Carola M

10 июля 2020 г.

A well done course, but it doesn't actually explain you anything about programs of graphics. Assignments can be very hard if you have never used any of them

автор: Alvaro M

3 апр. 2019 г.

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

автор: Eunice M A

17 мая 2020 г.

Muy buen curso, interesante y aprendí muchísimo sobre la historia de la tipografía, creo que le falta más parte práctica, por eso le pongo 4 estrellas

автор: Lidya S

21 авг. 2019 г.

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

автор: Regina J

13 июня 2020 г.

The course was a little dry, but it was quite informative and made me look at typeface differently. I love that I gained new vocabulary.

автор: yariv d

30 мар. 2016 г.

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

автор: Daniil T

15 авг. 2016 г.

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

автор: Daria H

20 июня 2016 г.

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

автор: Diana C V S

13 сент. 2020 г.

I learned all the architecture of typography, how to recognize them from their parts, their style and their place in history.

автор: Syed M A

16 апр. 2020 г.

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.

автор: Tóbiás L

2 янв. 2021 г.

It is a great start to learn Typography, maybe the course could go a bit more further, and depen the knowledge it gives.

автор: Carmel R

1 дек. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the course and learned a good deal about typography. Unfortunately, the peer grading model has its drawbacks.

автор: Britt B C

11 июня 2017 г.

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

автор: Alexander H

1 февр. 2020 г.

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

автор: Broderick S

20 июня 2016 г.

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

автор: Ricardo B

11 сент. 2016 г.

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

автор: David K

30 янв. 2021 г.

Good overall. Interesting videos and assignments. Could go in more depths for a four-week course though.

автор: Devi R

8 мар. 2017 г.

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.