Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,953
Рецензии: 577

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 550 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Liubov S

Dec 04, 2019

This was a very interesting course. It gave me an understanding of how to approach typefaces and what I should consider. But most importantly it was a lot of fun to complete assignments and in the end I got a result I'm very fond of.

автор: Lili C

Apr 12, 2016

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

автор: Олександр С М

Nov 07, 2018

Thank you so much for such a great course! For valuable knowledge, great editing and fun activities. I will be definitely recommending this course to my friends who are also interested in Graphic Design. Wish you all the best! Alex.

автор: Patricia A

Jan 24, 2017

This was a fantastic course in typography. I learned so much about "font". I never imagined all the work that goes into creating new typeface. I was impressed by the history, the process and the strong messages behind each typeface.

автор: Shirlena R

May 24, 2016

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

автор: Kristen F

Jul 08, 2017

This class ended up being way more interesting than I originally expected it to be, and the last project was a great way to tie in all of the things we have learned up to that point. I definitely feel like I learned a lot.

автор: Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

автор: Alexandra K

May 31, 2016

For me as a complete beginner in typography that was a really informative course. It is a beginner's level, lets you understand if you want to study typography further or that would be enough for your purposes. Thanks!

автор: Maged E S

Apr 18, 2018

please update the videos as soon as possible because found in this course and other courses that the videos were recorded in 2013-2014 and the quality some times is horrible and maybe to improve sound quality as well.

автор: Askargali A

Dec 03, 2018

It is informative, accurate and laconic. It has the least degree of subjection, which makes it easier to do tasks and assess your peers work. I enjoyed taking this course and it helped me to become more confident

автор: Maureen O

Oct 09, 2019

GREAT TEACHERS! GREAT COURSE OUTLINE! GREAT ASSIGNMENTS AND QUIZZES..WORKED MY ASS OUT. I'M GLAD I TOOK THIS COURSE..IT HAS AIDED ME IN LEARNING ABOUT TYPOGRAPHY AND ITS USAGE AND IMPACT IN DESIGNING TODAY.

автор: Andrea R

Aug 16, 2019

Because letters are not just letters... You can communicate more than just words and ideas, you can communicate a time, place, feelings, etc when the correct typography... this is what this course is about.

автор: Rhonda C

May 31, 2019

This course is a very good introduction to typography - it's history, technological advances, layout design and composition. It helps prove how important it is in choosing the right typeface for a project.

автор: Rita K

Jan 19, 2018

In the Graphic Design Specialisation this course is my favourite so far. The videos are great, the assignments are interesting. After this introductory course I would love a Typography specialization too.

автор: Anastasia W

Oct 10, 2016

I learned so much from this course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a quick introduction to typography. The instructor does an excellent job in both explaining and illustrating topics.

автор: Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

автор: Jillian C

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

автор: Lidia B

Apr 08, 2016

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

автор: Hongjoo Y

Aug 24, 2016

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

автор: Jennifer V H

Apr 30, 2016

I learned so much in 4 weeks! Knowing the terminology is wonderful, but I'm excited to start using a grid for my layouts and be able to choose fonts based on the psychology behind their design!

автор: Ethan M

Jan 14, 2018

I highly enjoyed this class. I found it very helpful crash course on typography. The activities were engaging enough to help me understand more of the importance of typography in graphic design

автор: Elizabeth O

Dec 18, 2017

Reviewed some of what we learned about Typography in the first course (Fundamentals of Graphic Design), but did expand in some areas. Interesting and informative and great course assignments.

автор: lhys

Sep 29, 2016

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

автор: Lee S

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.

I really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.

Thanks for the great course!!

автор: Junxu L

Jan 14, 2017

Great Course. It is well-organized and instructive. I highly recommend the lectures, however, the assignments are not very challenging. Also, it is kind of theoretical instead of practical.