Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,749
Рецензии: 752

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

576–600 из 728 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Carlos V W

Mar 20, 2017

Very goo

автор: Sharmishtha T S

Jun 21, 2020

Awesome

автор: Samah M A E

Mar 20, 2020

شئ جميل

автор: LANA B

Jul 07, 2018

LOVE IT

автор: HASSAAN Z R

Sep 28, 2016

owesome

автор: Gabriel H A

Jun 18, 2020

Great!

автор: Padcha U

Dec 13, 2019

Superb

автор: Mohammed E E A

Apr 16, 2018

Thanks

автор: Aastha D

Jul 16, 2020

great

автор: Leonardo A E M

Feb 02, 2019

well!

автор: ruben

Jun 24, 2018

Great

автор: Ken D

Nov 08, 2017

goood

автор: Federico N

Jun 17, 2020

good

автор: Battina D G

Apr 30, 2020

GOOD

автор: 于楠楠

Apr 09, 2020

like

автор: cery m

Feb 11, 2020

good

автор: chise

Feb 09, 2020

good

автор: Mehrdad k

Jul 22, 2019

good

автор: Enas A M T

May 22, 2019

Good

автор: Medhat H M M

Jan 28, 2019

Nice

автор: Winnie W

Jun 30, 2017

good

автор: Владимир К

Jul 26, 2016

G

автор: Millicent E

Jul 31, 2020

Great course! I learned so much about typography in a short amount of time. The history of typography wasn't something I thought I would be interested in, but in this course you'll see how much typography is influenced by its history. The examples -- and there are dozens -- are also amazing, I ended up screenshotting a lot of them so I can look back later.

The only thing I would change is that I wish the example images were downloadable, so I didn't have to pause-screenshot-unpause the videos every few seconds.

Overall, time and money well spent.

автор: Rama A

Aug 13, 2018

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

автор: Melissa O

Aug 17, 2017

It was nice to work with type and our own words. It felt like a more "concrete" change from the first course in this specialization where we only worked with shapes and lines. It would have been nice to have slightly more involved projects. It instead felt like we were packaging and repackaging the same copy for a month. I know that the intent was for us to focus on layout and placement, but after a while it felt state to be moving around the same content.