Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,789
Рецензии: 1,023

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

AS
12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Фильтр по:

901–925 из 1,005 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Tóbiás L

2 янв. 2021 г.

It is a great start to learn Typography, maybe the course could go a bit more further, and depen the knowledge it gives.

автор: Britt B C

11 июня 2017 г.

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

автор: Alexander H

1 февр. 2020 г.

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

автор: Broderick S

20 июня 2016 г.

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

автор: Ricardo B

11 сент. 2016 г.

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

автор: David K

30 янв. 2021 г.

Good overall. Interesting videos and assignments. Could go in more depths for a four-week course though.

автор: Devi R

8 мар. 2017 г.

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

автор: Simmy S

11 мая 2020 г.

The course was exactly what I was looking for, I would have loved to have a more advanced course too.

автор: Gyula W

22 янв. 2017 г.

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

автор: PANCHAL H B

18 апр. 2021 г.

It was really nice to learn about typo on this platform. With the help of lectures and assignment.

автор: MistopherChristopher

24 сент. 2019 г.

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

автор: Robert O A

25 авг. 2017 г.

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.

автор: Sasha R

29 мар. 2017 г.

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

автор: Amélie P

2 июня 2018 г.

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

автор: Kirstin H

30 июля 2020 г.

Wish we where given more direction and examples of what was wanted.

But enjoyed the instructor.

автор: Abbie W

11 апр. 2017 г.

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

автор: Margaret T

16 мая 2020 г.

I understand more about typography and learnt the theory behind. The assignments are useful

автор: P Z C

27 мая 2017 г.

Typography got really interesting after the teacher told many different artists in history.

автор: Chris S

4 февр. 2017 г.

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

автор: 邱菁

15 мая 2016 г.

Nice course! Hope the teacher can give us more instruction about how to design typography.

автор: Shaivy B

17 окт. 2017 г.

not being able to submit my assignments even though I took a financial aid, please help

автор: spencer z

5 авг. 2017 г.

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

автор: Sandesh S

22 февр. 2017 г.

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

автор: Andrea S A

28 июня 2020 г.

It's very helpful to understand how important is the typography in any composition

автор: Rose J

18 апр. 2021 г.

This course was really interesting too much history about different type faces.