Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,456
Рецензии: 928

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC
28 июля 2018 г.

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

776–800 из 903 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Meron N

7 июля 2020 г.

Some good introductions to typography and its history and also a good component of the 5 course graphic design specialty. Some frustration with individuals not giving feedback on assignments although you can resubmit assignments if looking for more peer reviews.

автор: Marilou M

10 дек. 2020 г.

The course is well organised and provideds you with key knowledge and some great inspirational material! I wish there would be more assignments and extra resources at the end of week 4 for people that would like to expand their portfolio, like myself.

автор: C. M C

14 апр. 2016 г.

I was not 100% motivated about this cours and I thought it would be easy...but I was wrong!, it was serious stuff to deal with typo and I learn so much in the process, I saw some pretty works of my peers and it gave me the push to make my best!

автор: Kristín L

5 июня 2016 г.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. My only input is that it could be a bit more advanced. I realize it's an "Introduction" course, but if you have just the smallest interests in typography, theres a lot of these things, you already know.

автор: Raquel Z W

17 июля 2017 г.

It was really good to learn about the fundamental of Typography in this course. The only con is that, in my point of view, it is really hard to give a consistent feedback for other colleagues when you are just a beginner.

автор: Natascha B

4 февр. 2021 г.

Sometimes there are other participants that don't bother grading peer assignment correctly, but otherwise I mostly had pleasant contact with peers. The course taught me a lot, and I'm sure I can use this in my job life!

автор: Sakshi J

12 мая 2018 г.

It was a wonderful course with brief but concise delivery of various aspects of typography. I wish the grading was done by experts and not peers, as it would have helped me receive some valuable expert feedback.

автор: Leroy S

23 мая 2016 г.

Very good overall explanations on the basics of Typography. Anther Kiley did a great job of explaining things in a simple yet detailed format. I never realized there was so much to letters and words in type!

автор: Helen H

20 мар. 2019 г.

I liked the course overall and found it informative. I think that the topics in week 3 and 4 could be combined. I also wasn't sure where I could post questions to clarify something in the assignments.

автор: Rose G

2 авг. 2019 г.

I was excited to learn about typography, these assignments were fun to do. I wished there were more assignments to create more posters for this typography course, overall I enjoyed and learned a lot.

автор: Roger X M

10 апр. 2018 г.

Good way to start with typography. The only problem I see is that there is not enough practice. I think that maybe with two or three more exercises it would be better. But in general, good course!!

автор: Louise D

14 июня 2017 г.

Clear content and actual homework that lets you understand what you just studied. A very useful course ! Thank you so much for sharing this, it's incredible to be able to learn from home.

автор: Allison C

26 нояб. 2016 г.

I would have liked a few more / longer videos, but I really found the assignments helpful. I like how each one built off of each other, so the final project did not feel so overwhelming.

автор: Stefano S

1 авг. 2020 г.

It was a nice course with a lot of information and good practice good for the beginning. As always I would like to have some recommendations of books and web sites from the teachers.

автор: Md. N M H

14 мая 2020 г.

I recommend enrolling in online courses that allow you to gain insights into how you want to build yours typography differently. All of this can be done if you take this course.

автор: Sazidur r

24 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course. The instructor was able to communicate the importance aspect of typography. Being an introductory course, the content was really diverse. Thank you,

автор: Harshal B

29 нояб. 2016 г.

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

автор: Emmelie K G

26 янв. 2020 г.

In general a great course where you learn a lot about typography. But it was a little to easy I think. Worked through this course in 1 week and didn't feel pressured at all.

автор: Christos C

18 авг. 2016 г.

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

автор: Ana M

14 дек. 2020 г.

Thanks to Coursera for providing these courses. Thanks to the teacher, it was very clear and the classes were didactic. Thanks to the people who corrected my assignments.

автор: David V

15 мар. 2016 г.

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

автор: Katie S

7 июля 2020 г.

This was a great course--really introductory and yet also really informative. I will definitely take some of the things I learned into future design work! Thanks!

автор: Georgina P

20 сент. 2017 г.

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

автор: Paola H G

6 окт. 2020 г.

Me gustó bastante, es un curso introductorio pero que profundiza en algunos conceptos importantes para entender cómo funciona la tipografía en el diseño gráfico

автор: Christine

12 июня 2016 г.

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.