Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,941
Рецензии: 574

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

476–500 из 547 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Christine

Jun 13, 2016

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.

автор: Alvaro M

Apr 03, 2019

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

автор: Laurensia L S

Aug 21, 2019

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

автор: yariv d

Mar 30, 2016

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

автор: Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

автор: Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

автор: Britt B C

Jun 11, 2017

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

автор: Alexander H

Feb 01, 2020

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

автор: Broderick S

Jun 20, 2016

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

автор: Ricardo B

Sep 11, 2016

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

автор: Devi R

Mar 08, 2017

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

автор: Gyula W

Jan 23, 2017

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

автор: Chris L

Sep 24, 2019

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

автор: Robert O A

Aug 25, 2017

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.

автор: Sasha B

Mar 29, 2017

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

автор: Amélie P

Jun 02, 2018

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

автор: Abbie W

Apr 12, 2017

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

автор: P Z C

May 27, 2017

Typography got really interesting after the teacher told many different artists in history.

автор: Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

автор: 邱菁

May 16, 2016

Nice course! Hope the teacher can give us more instruction about how to design typography.

автор: Shaivy B

Oct 17, 2017

not being able to submit my assignments even though I took a financial aid, please help

автор: spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

автор: Sandesh S

Feb 22, 2017

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

автор: Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

автор: James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.