Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,782
Рецензии: 547

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 521 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

автор: Camila R

Jan 26, 2019

Excellent course, highly recommended! It provides a lot of useful concepts. You will love typography after it.

автор: Afifa A

Jul 12, 2018

I enjoyed it... :)

автор: Ivo M M C

Jul 11, 2018

It is a good introductionary course to Typography

автор: Manuel N C M

Jul 13, 2018

Really interesting

автор: Jillian C

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

автор: Isaac B

Jun 06, 2017

Fantastic course and well worth the time.

автор: Shivansh S

Mar 30, 2016

This is a very informative course. There are so many books available on Typography but I think this is best way typography can be defined for the graphic designer. As a person belonging to design and architecture fraternity, I would definitely recommend this course to every aspiring graphic designer and artist.

автор: Elisabeth Z

May 04, 2016

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

автор: Juachi O

Sep 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Helped me to really examine my typography choices instead of always working intuitively

автор: Gustavo P

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent teacher, course and specialization.

автор: Nathaniel M Z

May 10, 2016

I love this course my introduction to typography is great. The lesson wasn't too much to handle. We focused on the basics and I learned to appreciate type and it's usage

автор: Laura E

Jan 10, 2017

VERY INTERESTING COURSE

автор: Daniel D

Mar 06, 2017

Great course!

автор: Natalia A

Oct 17, 2017

Love this course!

автор: Juan C E

Nov 14, 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

автор: fernando V S

Apr 05, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!

автор: maria K

May 06, 2017

Great course!!!

автор: Chi C

Feb 02, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

автор: Nastassia

Mar 16, 2016

I do love this course!

автор: Dee M

Sep 14, 2016

Great course - really insightful

автор: John A W

Jan 26, 2017

I really enjoyed auditing the course as I've been meaning to take a short course on typography for a while. Some concepts I already knew, but others were new to me, especially some of the technicality of measuring and displaying type. For designers, I definitely recommend taking this course as part of a holistic graphic design concentration.

автор: Leticia C R

Jul 17, 2016

Loved the activities, it was a fun course to do.

автор: Ignacio R G

Nov 06, 2017

Good basics for beginners.

автор: Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!