Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 5,060
Рецензии: 1,098

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG

3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS

12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Фильтр по:

901–925 из 1,084 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Mohammed E E A

16 апр. 2018 г.

Thanks

автор: Aastha D

16 июля 2020 г.

great

автор: Leonardo A E M

2 февр. 2019 г.

well!

автор: ruben

24 июня 2018 г.

Great

автор: Ken D

8 нояб. 2017 г.

goood

автор: shubham c

18 июня 2022 г.

Nice

автор: Erick E H C

22 нояб. 2021 г.

Nice

автор: Nixon M V

4 мая 2021 г.

nice

автор: Mahesh N

1 нояб. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Federico N

17 июня 2020 г.

good

автор: Battina D G

29 апр. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: 于楠楠

8 апр. 2020 г.

like

автор: cery m

11 февр. 2020 г.

good

автор: chise

9 февр. 2020 г.

good

автор: Mehrdad k

22 июля 2019 г.

good

автор: Enas A M T

22 мая 2019 г.

Good

автор: Medhat H M M

28 янв. 2019 г.

Nice

автор: Winnie W

30 июня 2017 г.

good

автор: Huy T T

30 окт. 2021 г.

nc

автор: Abdel O G

20 мая 2022 г.

k

автор: Anna R M

23 мая 2021 г.

-

автор: Владимир К

26 июля 2016 г.

G

автор: Millicent E

31 июля 2020 г.

Great course! I learned so much about typography in a short amount of time. The history of typography wasn't something I thought I would be interested in, but in this course you'll see how much typography is influenced by its history. The examples -- and there are dozens -- are also amazing, I ended up screenshotting a lot of them so I can look back later.

The only thing I would change is that I wish the example images were downloadable, so I didn't have to pause-screenshot-unpause the videos every few seconds.

Overall, time and money well spent.

автор: Rama A

13 авг. 2018 г.

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

автор: Melissa O

17 авг. 2017 г.

It was nice to work with type and our own words. It felt like a more "concrete" change from the first course in this specialization where we only worked with shapes and lines. It would have been nice to have slightly more involved projects. It instead felt like we were packaging and repackaging the same copy for a month. I know that the intent was for us to focus on layout and placement, but after a while it felt state to be moving around the same content.