Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,790
Рецензии: 1,023

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 1,007 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Dudy M

18 янв. 2021 г.

I definitely learned a lot and look forward to learning more. Challenged me to keep diligent. Kept me motivated with many tools and reminders.

автор: Gerdel P

10 июня 2020 г.

This course was very well designed to learn typography. The assignments were accurate to understand type and it was overall an amazing course.

автор: Juan C E

14 нояб. 2016 г.

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

автор: Angelica B

31 окт. 2016 г.

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.

автор: Elina T

22 нояб. 2016 г.

Starting the course I wasn't that into typography. The seminar gave me an other more interesting and creative point of view on that field.

автор: Carissa F

31 мар. 2016 г.

great introduction to key concepts of typography and typographic design. lectures were easy to follow, assignments had clear instructions.

автор: Utpal B

9 февр. 2017 г.

This is a very helpful course with in depth coverage of typographic conventions, its impact and guide on creating marvellous type design.

автор: Esperanza A

8 мар. 2021 г.

Ha sido una experiencia satisfactoria, porque he alcanzado nuevas habilidades y conocimientos muy útiles para el logro de mis objetivos.

автор: Rui A M d S

20 мая 2020 г.

This was something I wanted to learn for a while. As an introduction, this part of the course worked really well and I'm very satisfied.

автор: Suneth

29 апр. 2020 г.

This was a great course! Learned a lot about the development of typefaces and importance of them in a design and how to manipulate them.

автор: Pranjal S

22 мая 2016 г.

This course is an essential if you want to be deft with Fonts and Typefaces.

Brilliantly explained! Thanks to the professor, loved it!!!!

автор: Elisabeth Z

4 мая 2016 г.

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

автор: Sakshi K

15 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent content, wonderfully presented. I had a great learning experience. Thank you so much to the instructor, CALARTS and Coursera!

автор: Katsiaryna K

17 дек. 2020 г.

A great tourse to start with the Typography studying. I like the amount of theoretical information and the practical assignments both.

автор: Alicia M

1 дек. 2020 г.

Really enjoyable experience became a bit tedious at the beginning of the course but once we reached the assignments it was really fun.

автор: Felicia C

7 июля 2019 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The assignments were manageable but still pushed you to be step out of the box and be more creative.

автор: Deleted A

18 мар. 2019 г.

Brilliant! Cool projects and very well explained. I learnt a lot. Thanks and pls keep up the great work. This course is very valuable.

автор: Sarah P

14 сент. 2021 г.

T​his one was great, I was concerned I would struggle, find it boring or dislike the subject of typography...but I LOVED it actually!

автор: Karina F

8 мар. 2021 г.

It is a good course where you learn how to manipulate the letters so that they are clear and easy to read. I love it, I recommend it.

автор: Javier J B

20 дек. 2020 г.

Really well structured and interesting course to get to know Typography and experiment with shapes, colors, denotation, connotation..

автор: Tawanna C

9 янв. 2017 г.

Great course! It's a very introductory type course into typography. Very easy to understand and learn about typography. I enjoyed it.

автор: Sabreen S

28 февр. 2021 г.

Informative and easy going course. Easy to be followed by anyone especially for those of us how is starting to learn graphic design.

автор: Martin L M I

6 сент. 2020 г.

This was such a great learning experience! I was always interested in Typography and this course was everything I expected and more!

автор: MUHAMMAD T Q

17 авг. 2020 г.

It enabled me to not just see the words but actually feel them, thank you for this amazing course CALARTS. More Power to you people!

автор: Mushtaq A R

17 окт. 2017 г.

I got to learn some useful techniques, terminology and creative ideas in this great course. It's very good especially for beginners.