Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,355
Рецензии: 904

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Фильтр по:

776–800 из 877 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Carola M

10 июля 2020 г.

A well done course, but it doesn't actually explain you anything about programs of graphics. Assignments can be very hard if you have never used any of them

автор: Alvaro M

3 апр. 2019 г.

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

автор: Eunice M A

17 мая 2020 г.

Muy buen curso, interesante y aprendí muchísimo sobre la historia de la tipografía, creo que le falta más parte práctica, por eso le pongo 4 estrellas

автор: Lidya S

21 авг. 2019 г.

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

автор: Regina J

13 июня 2020 г.

The course was a little dry, but it was quite informative and made me look at typeface differently. I love that I gained new vocabulary.

автор: yariv d

30 мар. 2016 г.

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

автор: Daniil T

15 авг. 2016 г.

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

автор: Daria H

20 июня 2016 г.

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

автор: Diana C V S

13 сент. 2020 г.

I learned all the architecture of typography, how to recognize them from their parts, their style and their place in history.

автор: Syed M A

16 апр. 2020 г.

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.

автор: Tóbiás L

2 янв. 2021 г.

It is a great start to learn Typography, maybe the course could go a bit more further, and depen the knowledge it gives.

автор: Britt B C

11 июня 2017 г.

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

автор: Alexander H

1 февр. 2020 г.

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

автор: Broderick S

20 июня 2016 г.

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

автор: Ricardo B

11 сент. 2016 г.

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

автор: Devi R

8 мар. 2017 г.

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

автор: Simmy S

11 мая 2020 г.

The course was exactly what I was looking for, I would have loved to have a more advanced course too.

автор: Gyula W

22 янв. 2017 г.

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

автор: Chris L

24 сент. 2019 г.

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

автор: Robert O A

25 авг. 2017 г.

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.

автор: Sasha B

29 мар. 2017 г.

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

автор: Amélie P

2 июня 2018 г.

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

автор: Kirstin H

30 июля 2020 г.

Wish we where given more direction and examples of what was wanted.

But enjoyed the instructor.

автор: Abbie W

11 апр. 2017 г.

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

автор: Margaret T

16 мая 2020 г.

I understand more about typography and learnt the theory behind. The assignments are useful