Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,767
Рецензии: 756

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SK

Jun 05, 2020

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

701–725 из 731 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Boula N S

Mar 08, 2019

It is a great course

автор: rwaa h

Jun 19, 2019

i think it is good

автор: NATASHA F

Jun 08, 2016

really good intro.

автор: Matt A

Mar 28, 2016

Very informative.

автор: Artem T

Apr 07, 2019

A bit too basic

автор: Syahrul R

Aug 01, 2020

Sangat mantab

автор: prajakta a

Jun 10, 2020

good course!

автор: Hugo A R G

Apr 12, 2020

Buen curso

автор: Muhammad F K

Jul 10, 2020

Good.

автор: Mufizul I

Jan 29, 2017

Good!

автор: DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

автор: Deanna M

Apr 26, 2020

Learned a lot about typography, but I feel the certificate is worthless, peers don't really take the time to review your work, offer feedback or constructive criticism, sometimes don't even understand the directions, do it wrong themselves and then grade you based on their misreadings. There needs to be some oversight of this course for it to work properly.

автор: Evan M

Aug 19, 2018

I enjoyed learning about the typographic types but wish I could have learned more about the creation of diverse typographical projects. Showing several posters from professional graphic designers is a good way to see what all is out there, but does not help in the creation process.

автор: Markus R

Apr 21, 2016

Very interesting topic, but even for an introductory course not nearly enough to justify a full 4 week course for € 71!

The first course, Fundamentals of Graphic Design, had more content, more (optional) assignments, and covered Typography, too.

автор: Rania M S M

Oct 27, 2017

i think some point in the course need more explanation , too much information in little time

i wish that the instructor give his feed back about all the assignments , this will be very helpful and useful , but the course is good and useful

автор: SHUBHANGI G

Aug 06, 2020

The overall course was nice and helpful. I just feel like the last assignment should have more parts. Like the course should at least one example video on how to design the poster, before giving an assignment on designing a poster.

автор: Sergio G F

Jul 25, 2020

I learn that typography is much deeper than I thought but some of the theoretical explanations about how readable some typefaces are are subjective and it depends on each individual or what they are used to.

автор: E. C C

Jan 24, 2017

Basic overview of Typographical ideas, terms and so forth. A bit short and not very technical, but playing with Type as an integral part of design was really fun and inspirational.

автор: Dax C

Jun 15, 2020

The course itself is great, however, the comments were not helpful, wrong and downright disrespectful, coursera should pay attention to this problem.

автор: Pajera D

May 28, 2020

If you are beginer, this is suit to you. But if you have experience in graphic design field, this is too easy.

автор: Adrienn B

Jun 27, 2020

In the first 2 weeks there was no hands-on project, literally nothing exciting just dry material.

автор: Euan M

Apr 07, 2016

Would have welcomed more or longer lectures, and more variety in the assignments.

автор: Carlise T

Mar 31, 2016

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.

автор: Xinjuan D

Jun 20, 2019

too boring

автор: israa h h

Mar 09, 2019

nice