Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,849
Рецензии: 1,042

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 1,026 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Jennifer V H

29 апр. 2016 г.

I learned so much in 4 weeks! Knowing the terminology is wonderful, but I'm excited to start using a grid for my layouts and be able to choose fonts based on the psychology behind their design!

автор: Rahul K S

11 мая 2020 г.

Ffirstly i need to say thanks to my university they provide me a best platform for learn more about my subject. And i get more knowledge from my forign mentors. I am Thankfully to your support.

автор: Ethan M

14 янв. 2018 г.

I highly enjoyed this class. I found it very helpful crash course on typography. The activities were engaging enough to help me understand more of the importance of typography in graphic design

автор: Elizabeth O

18 дек. 2017 г.

Reviewed some of what we learned about Typography in the first course (Fundamentals of Graphic Design), but did expand in some areas. Interesting and informative and great course assignments.

автор: lhys

29 сент. 2016 г.

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

автор: Катерина Л

25 окт. 2021 г.

I really like this course! All the information is structured and clear. I extremely enjoyed reviewing other student`s works. I think, it is the great way to practice and learn something new.

автор: Juan F Z R

5 апр. 2020 г.

Como estudiante de arquitectura, este curso me ha ayudado bastante para la diagramación de láminas y el correcto uso de la tipografía. Gracias Coursera y CalArts por este maravilloso curso.

автор: Junxu L

14 янв. 2017 г.

Great Course. It is well-organized and instructive. I highly recommend the lectures, however, the assignments are not very challenging. Also, it is kind of theoretical instead of practical.

автор: Gustavo S d S

20 июля 2020 г.

Great course on typography, we learn about spacing, form, scale, historical context of typefaces, differences between font and typeface, building posters and challenging assignments. 5/5 !

автор: Ellie R

17 сент. 2018 г.

Highly useful information to beginners in typography with very well made videos. Balanced exercises push students to implement the knowledge they acquired mixed with their own creativity.

автор: Solange C

8 июня 2021 г.

Learning about the story behind the typefaces was astonishing. This course made me learn some history and think outside the box to make a representation of the typeface on Adobe InDesign

автор: Pratik R K

24 июня 2020 г.

Fabulous course! Learnt a lot in this course about various typefaces, history of the typeface, and how to use it effectively and efficiently and in a very appealing way. Thank you a lot!

автор: Maria E S

8 мар. 2021 г.

I enjoyed this course so much. It's incredible how the design can totally change with the type you use, and this course helps you notice that. Thank you! Great, friendly instructor too.

автор: Ahmed H K

29 авг. 2020 г.

To some designer typography may be their bread and butter. But to some it is their kryptonite. And I fall into that later group. Hopefully I will have better chance with Typography now.

автор: Russel Q

23 июня 2019 г.

The discerning use of Type has always escaped me. This class helped me see Type blocks as objects in addition to understanding the characteristics of type. Good class by Anther Kiley.

автор: SecB_310_Dhanshri P

17 апр. 2021 г.

It's a very helpful course for the learners and a kickstart to the Graphic Designing aspirant.

This course helped me for making my basics more clear in Graphic Designing ...Loved it !

автор: Alim B

17 дек. 2020 г.

This is some really professional grade knowledge. I did not know that this course could have such a great impact on my ideology of design. This changed everything I think about design.

автор: Susan H

24 мая 2019 г.

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

автор: Rolando R

8 апр. 2021 г.

Muy recomendable, principalmente por los conceptos y herramientas.

Las prácticas dan la oportunidad de comparar tu trabajo con el de otros compañeros, lo mejor desde mi punto de vista.

автор: Rosa P M V

26 авг. 2017 г.

I didn't have any idea about all concepts related to Typography. I learned so much that now I see the world in a different way. Now I understand the relation between words and things.

автор: Jemma H

14 апр. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course as a photographer who studied design I did not go into detail in my degree as to the specifics of typography. I found it beneficial to fill in some gaps.

автор: Shreya S

8 апр. 2018 г.

This course helped me understand the basics of typography as well as propelled to experiment with layouts, the composition and collaborate with peers. It was fun learning experience.

автор: resta a

9 февр. 2021 г.

There are some things that I don't understand about typography with this course, making me understand the basics of typography, the history of a letter and the inventors of letters.

автор: Tsvetelina M

14 апр. 2020 г.

Typography has always been hard for me. This course makes it way easier to understand typography and how to use it to convey the correct message. I will have so much fun designing..