Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,016
Рецензии: 821

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SK

Jun 05, 2020

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 795 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Kushal S

Feb 11, 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

автор: Malak M

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

автор: Saba A

Jul 10, 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

автор: Magdalena P

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

автор: MD. Z H

Jul 25, 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

автор: Franklin C O

Jan 07, 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

автор: Bonnie K

Feb 10, 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

автор: Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

автор: Harika s .

Sep 03, 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

автор: Nathanael W B W

May 12, 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

автор: namrata

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

автор: Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

автор: Mine I

Aug 09, 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

автор: SYED Q

Jun 19, 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

автор: Henry H

Mar 29, 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.

автор: Gaetano S

Apr 02, 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

автор: Mohamed Q

Jun 10, 2020

Very good course, it is straight to the point, I made tasks with my hand, and I've discovered creative ideas because of this course' instructions.

автор: Jennifer H

Sep 22, 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

автор: Aya F

Jul 07, 2020

Not biggest fan of type and using it in graphic design, i however loved how this course pushed me into it, and made me see it in a different way

автор: Christopher G

Jul 05, 2020

Really helped me! There is true quality content here! Even though I had done two semesters at Uni of Design I still learnt a lot of new things.

автор: Julie W

Mar 28, 2020

Very interesting content (surprisingly so). Loved the brevity of the lectures (lots of info packed in small spaces) and meaningful assignments.

автор: Chryssel M B

Dec 27, 2017

The course was really fun and knowledgeable. I am excited to apply what I have learned here and increase my chances of getting a full-time job!

автор: Gerdel P

Jun 10, 2020

This course was very well designed to learn typography. The assignments were accurate to understand type and it was overall an amazing course.

автор: Juan C E

Nov 14, 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

автор: Angelica B

Oct 31, 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.