Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,380
Рецензии: 912

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 884 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Stefan D

14 мар. 2016 г.

If you get confused every time you open the font selection dialog then this course is for you. It well structured has a lot of visuals. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Mark H

8 сент. 2020 г.

I learned so much about Typography in this course. In my opinion, this course requires the most note-taking of the five classes in the Graphic Design Specialization.

автор: Joel D B

19 нояб. 2017 г.

Very good and well-structured introductory course. Information is clearly laid out in engaging videos, and each new exercise builds satisfyingly on the previous week.

автор: David A V D S

29 апр. 2018 г.

In this course I took a new experience in relation to what I knew I have several years as a freelancer and only now I understand how to get to know the types. Great!

автор: Anusha M

2 июля 2020 г.

The course is very detailed and informative. Provides very good material on typography, history of typography and efficiently dissects the properties of typography.

автор: Leisa R

17 февр. 2017 г.

This was my first introduction to Typography. I played around a little with calligraphy as a hobby. I learned so much from taking this class and by far my favorite.

автор: Tristan S

11 янв. 2018 г.

A really informative course. The lectures tie in nicely with the assignments, which have given me a much greater understanding of how to use typography in my work.

автор: Aakanksha T

13 апр. 2016 г.

As a self-taught designer, this course helped me learn a lot more about typography than good ol' hands-on experience has, to date. Great course. Thanks so much! :)

автор: Brianna P

6 апр. 2016 г.

This class gave a great introduction to Typography! The instructor did a great job at bringing Typography to life. The content of the course was very approachable.

автор: SHAFIA N

31 июля 2020 г.

Its amazing!

In this cours i read about typefaces and create logo.

I don't know! What is topography?

But when I read about it ,then I am understand topography .

автор: Zackary A K

5 июля 2017 г.

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.

автор: Giovanny V

15 сент. 2019 г.

clear, concise information delivered on every lecture... I really enjoyed the assignments they got me out of my comfort zone and challenged me to experiment...

автор: Kristen B

24 мая 2018 г.

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

автор: Sanskruti

18 апр. 2016 г.

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

автор: Stephen M H

8 авг. 2020 г.

Anther Kiley provided a very concise, yet detailed, history of typography that kept my attention, hitting upon many of the big events in typographic history.

автор: Ginger H

23 мар. 2016 г.

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

автор: Maria F

20 июля 2020 г.

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

автор: Konstantinos A

29 мая 2019 г.

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

автор: Saeed A

18 дек. 2020 г.

This course is the best course in typography, it gives you a good insight about the typography starting from its history all the way to the best practices.

автор: Kushal S

11 февр. 2018 г.

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

автор: Zulhaj R

21 сент. 2020 г.

The course give many insight about designing related to the typefaces; selecting different typefaces and its impact, modifying its properties, and so on.

автор: Malak M

18 июня 2020 г.

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

автор: Saba A

10 июля 2020 г.

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

автор: Magdalena P

14 июня 2019 г.

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.