Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,786
Рецензии: 547

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

426–450 из 521 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Alexander M A S

Nov 08, 2019

Excellent course and excellent teacher

автор: Egle H

Nov 08, 2019

Loved it! I thought the assignments were really meaningful for the future in design :) Enjoyed this course very much. There was a bit of repetition from the Fundamentals course, but I think it was necessary. Continuing with the other courses.

автор: Dzung N

Nov 09, 2019

Excellent course for beginners in graphic design!

автор: Benjamin g

Feb 22, 2019

Great way to learn terms and apply techniques.

автор: Helen H

Mar 20, 2019

I liked the course overall and found it informative. I think that the topics in week 3 and 4 could be combined. I also wasn't sure where I could post questions to clarify something in the assignments.

автор: Jordan W

Mar 25, 2019

Well made and instructive course.

автор: Alvaro M

Apr 03, 2019

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

автор: Artem T

Apr 07, 2019

A bit too basic

автор: Boula N S

Mar 08, 2019

It is a great course

автор: Patty N

Sep 13, 2016

Enjoyed the history of the typefaces

автор: Broderick S

Jun 20, 2016

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

автор: Bruce R

Feb 05, 2017

Fascinating and organized!

автор: Edward G C

Jun 24, 2016

Es un buen curso sobre tipografía... Debería tener subtítulos en Español.

автор: Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

автор: Niamh F

Mar 28, 2016

This class taught me a lot about the basics of typography, however I didn't feel too encouraged creatively compared to the last class in this series. I understand that type is a bit more structured and requires more attention to detail and rules than other forms of visual art, but I wish there was a bit more content similar to the content in week 4 where we are encouraged to get creative.

автор: Deb S

Jan 27, 2017

Good introduction to the topic.

автор: yariv d

Mar 30, 2016

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

автор: Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

автор: James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.

автор: Carolina A

Mar 16, 2018

Nice introduction for the typography and some important bases to start

автор: Harshal B

Nov 29, 2016

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

автор: Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

автор: Allison C

Nov 26, 2016

I would have liked a few more / longer videos, but I really found the assignments helpful. I like how each one built off of each other, so the final project did not feel so overwhelming.

автор: Ricardo B

Sep 11, 2016

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

автор: Mohini R

Aug 18, 2016

I had fun with this course and learned new things.