Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,790
Рецензии: 547

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 521 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Aura M C

Apr 21, 2019

I absolutelly LOVED this course! I can't stop looking at letterforms after taking it. Gorgeous! :)

автор: Susan H

May 24, 2019

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

автор: Порфирьева А В

Apr 27, 2019

very well built course and compiled homework.

автор: asmita j

May 12, 2019

E

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

автор: guy k

May 12, 2019

Very good. The course gave me knowledge about typography and terms. the assignments can be improved, the last assignment shouldn't be based on the previous one in my opinion. in general the last week of the course can consist a bit more content.

автор: Guthrie A

Apr 15, 2019

This course was great! The assignments were challenging and so helpful for me to go through. I learned a tremendous amount of information and feel much more confident in my skills as a designer and gained a deep appreciation for type and typesetting.

автор: Anna V

Apr 29, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

автор: Doug W

Apr 29, 2019

This is a fantastic course! The video lectures were exceptionally concise and always compelling. The assignments were very effective in providing opportunities to explore and apply the ideas learned in the lectures. A wonderful learning experience all around!

автор: Donna B

May 14, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much.

автор: Konstantinos A

May 29, 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

автор: Maya R

May 14, 2019

Great introduction to typography!

автор: Mingtao W

May 16, 2019

Very good intro class. Learned a lot of practical skills when applying typography to design.

автор: Inas A M T

May 22, 2019

Good

автор: Gerry D C

Jun 19, 2019

I LOVE THIS COURSE..

автор: Russel Q

Jun 23, 2019

The discerning use of Type has always escaped me. This class helped me see Type blocks as objects in addition to understanding the characteristics of type. Good class by Anther Kiley.

автор: Adler A

Jun 28, 2019

That was a useful and practical course, like the rest in the CalArts specialization Graphic Design. There were some challenges when I got low scores because my work hasn't passed the subjective criteria score given by peers. I still think that subjective criteria are needed, but want to ask, please don't be tough to peers cause it can letdown newcomers in the area. And those who faced the same situation I want to encourage - sometimes it's really not because your work is bad, there is much of subjectivity also and depends on who reviewed it. Just continue.

автор: Darrick C

Jun 30, 2019

challenging, rewarding and i would recommend it to anyone =)

автор: Mehrdad k

Jul 22, 2019

good

автор: Dominique V

Jul 20, 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

автор: Valentina S

Aug 03, 2019

Great start in typography and very useful practical assignment. Highly recommend

автор: Rhonda C

May 31, 2019

This course is a very good introduction to typography - it's history, technological advances, layout design and composition. It helps prove how important it is in choosing the right typeface for a project.

автор: namrata

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

автор: Sandeep M

Jun 09, 2019

Thanks to this course, i learned a lot!!.

автор: Tony D

Aug 14, 2019

great class

автор: Jose A G R

Aug 17, 2019

Great course, easy to understand, a teacher with a lot of knoledge on the topic...