Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,798
Рецензии: 548

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 522 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Veena V

May 09, 2016

The course material is very informative and delves into the history and evolution of typography. The assignments are very interesting and help understand the concepts better.

автор: Jennifer H

Sep 22, 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

автор: Michael D

Mar 21, 2016

Lectures are great - very informative and interesting. I appreciate the work that went in to creating the course!

автор: Daniele C

Apr 19, 2016

Great course!!!!

автор: Renee T

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

автор: Govindarajan S

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent coverage. The assignments are good and the quality of the video is gret

автор: Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

автор: Ken M

Jul 09, 2017

Wonderfully informative intro to typography, its history and creative application.

автор: Daniel P

Aug 09, 2016

Claro, conciso. Cualquier persona a quien le guste la tipografía aprendería de este curso. Esta introducción permite agudizar la apreciación de la tipografía como el lenguaje no verbal de la escritura, y explorar el potencial estético y expresivo de las letras.

автор: Francisco C

Aug 07, 2016

Great Course

автор: Denisse C R T

Nov 13, 2016

i love it

автор: Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

автор: Marie-Noëlle W

Apr 20, 2016

This was a quite technical course which allowed me to learn a lot about typography and how it works. I found the video material very interesting and liked how all the assignments were linked to one other by building off each other. Great course!

автор: Jennifer T

May 05, 2016

Fantastic course!

автор: Kevin J

May 21, 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

автор: Anastasia W

Oct 10, 2016

I learned so much from this course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a quick introduction to typography. The instructor does an excellent job in both explaining and illustrating topics.

автор: Jose H

Oct 14, 2017

Great Course for extend typography knowledge.

автор: Hayden P

Nov 13, 2016

Really Enjoyed it. very Useful

автор: Aakanksha T

Apr 14, 2016

As a self-taught designer, this course helped me learn a lot more about typography than good ol' hands-on experience has, to date. Great course. Thanks so much! :)

автор: Anne-Sophie M

Aug 20, 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

автор: Sister E B

Jun 17, 2016

This was just a top-notch course. Despite the fact that the lectures were not particularly long, nor the assignments really onerous, I think I learned more in this course than in other similar courses. Perhaps it was because there were so many "aha!" moments, as I realized why my previous attempts to combine typefaces had not been so successful, or exactly what it was that attracted me (or not) to the appearance of a particular type family.

The story is that Steve Jobs was captivated by typography in the days when the text on the screen did not look at all like the text that would print -- people had to use codes for even simple things like bold-face or underline, and wouldn't know what it looked like until it printed on their single-typeface printer. He fell in love with type, and that contributed a lot to the way the Macintosh developed. I never understood that story until I took this course.

Thank you for a great course, and for giving me enough knowledge that I can continue to build on it.

автор: Utpal B

Feb 09, 2017

This is a very helpful course with in depth coverage of typographic conventions, its impact and guide on creating marvellous type design.

автор: Ellis W

Feb 19, 2017

Very cool, simple course. I had no idea that fonts could be so interesting. :)

автор: Sanskruti

Apr 18, 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

автор: Angelica B

Oct 31, 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.