Chevron Left
Вернуться к Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones от партнера Лейденский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 456
Рецензии: 165

О курсе

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Лучшие рецензии

SS

7 нояб. 2016 г.

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

20 нояб. 2016 г.

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 167 отзывов о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

автор: Alisse S

27 мар. 2017 г.

Incredibly informative, builds upon itself, and gives ample opportunity for application in case study assignments.

автор: Marisol D A

29 окт. 2021 г.

It was a great pleasure to do this course, thank you very much to all the collaborators, teachers and students.

автор: Mark E v A

1 мар. 2017 г.

Very enjoyable. Cool information and the assignments really force you to think critically about your reasoning.

автор: E M B

17 дек. 2018 г.

This course provided great illustrations and information regarding the various specialties in human osteology.

автор: Elisabeth R M

9 авг. 2020 г.

It was a really wondeful course! I learned so much, thank you very much for all your hard work and time.

автор: Anne-Marie G

23 янв. 2017 г.

Loved this course. Allows you to go into more detail if you wish. Friendly lecturer. Facinating subject.

автор: Maria H

15 авг. 2017 г.

Loved this course! I learned the basics of everything I wanted to learn and I really enjoyed it!

автор: Kathlyn T

5 мая 2017 г.

Fantastic, informational, and very fun. I truly enjoyed this course from Universiteit Leiden.

автор: Yenny A A S

12 февр. 2019 г.

Excelente curso, contenido especializado pero muy claro, con muchos ejemplos y bibliografía.

автор: Pat B

18 янв. 2021 г.

Great course! Made me think and want to learn more. Recommending it to everyone I talk to.

автор: Richard I M

4 июля 2020 г.

This was a very intense and thoughtful course. I found it quite challenging and enjoyable.

автор: Laura G

4 янв. 2017 г.

I learn a lot about ancient skeleton and also about my own, in very enjoyable lessons!

автор: Sam T

20 мар. 2020 г.

This is a well structured and delivered course covering a fascinating subject.

автор: Melissa v R

21 мая 2018 г.

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

автор: Suzanne B

7 авг. 2022 г.

L​oved this course! I learned so much about osteoarchaeology! Thank you!

автор: Dan C

14 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course. Very well taught and offered. Instructors were amazing.

автор: matid c

23 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course and material. A must take for aspiring Archaeologists!

автор: Marcela K

12 окт. 2017 г.

Great course, never knew all the things that can be told from bones!

автор: LUDOVIC C

3 окт. 2018 г.

Course extremely well built and documented. Very nice and exciting.

автор: Matthew R

17 авг. 2017 г.

very enjoyable and I learnt a lot of really useful information

автор: Colin A

11 июля 2017 г.

A great course very well presented. Really enjoyed it.

автор: Helen E

7 сент. 2020 г.

Fantastic course with great detail and knowledge.

автор: hareesh

9 февр. 2022 г.

​enlightening and highly resourceful faculties.

автор: Antonio N L

4 июня 2017 г.

I have enjoyed envery single bit of this course

автор: Vivek B

8 дек. 2021 г.

Brilliantly conducted course, I learnt a lot.