Chevron Left
Вернуться к Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones от партнера Лейденский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 367
Рецензии: 125

О курсе

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Лучшие рецензии

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

GV

May 17, 2020

Absolutely loved the course ! Very well structured and thorough introduction to the topic! Thank you so much for providing us with fantastic lectures, exercises and study material :)

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 123 отзывов о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

автор: Douglas M

Dec 13, 2016

This course is very interesting with well thought-out content that involves the student very actively from the first lesson. The assignments are challenging but also very exciting. I consider is a unique innovation in MOOC courses. The professor give excellent information interspersed with interesting case studies. Unfortunately, there was no interaction in my iteration of the course, or any apparent involvement whatsoever, from any TA's or mentors. All questions remained unanswered (except by other students), and frustrated calls for help and advice were ignored. The majority of the course's mark (60%) is determined by fellow students using a rubric which leaves little true 'wiggle room' between pass and fail marks. The mystery cases on which we worked during the course were never 'resolved' or explained in any way, which would have been nice after the effort that went into them. I would recommend the content of the course 'for fun' but if anyone is looking for an accurate assessment of material learned, try another course.

автор: Di A

Oct 15, 2016

Love the content, tutorials etc. but the peer review way of marking is not fair.

I unfortunately withdrew because of this. I & others were never going to succeed. This is because peers who are also having problems, not sure of what they are doing are the ones marking the assessments.

Not giving refunds after the 2 week cut off is also unfair. This must be how you make your money for these free courses.

автор: Anne M

Nov 04, 2016

Positive: Very interesting and informative lectures and subject matter.

Negative: Fellow "students" who have no knowledge of the subject (other than what they themselves are learning) are required to submit case studies for "peer review" by other students who have no more knowledge of the subject than they do. These case studies are heavily weighted and if the person is reviewed negatively (for whatever reason), they must resubmit it never knowing why they were given low scores or what the correct answer should have been. No instructor assistance is given. Huge turn-off for me and many of my fellow students. I want to withdraw (drop) this class and take another with more clearly drawn parameters.

автор: Ziggy

Apr 08, 2018

This is an awesome course but they have the cheesy "Peer-Reviewed" assignments. Even if you get 100% on the quizzes you still must do peer reviewed assignments. The course is basically impossible because the other "learners" are assholes who give you 3/5 and fail your ass.

автор: Stacey M

Oct 30, 2016

While the course is very interesting, I found the peer review process unsatisfying. I did not enjoy grading others without knowing if I was right. Grading a fellow student on their accuracy when I don't know if they are actually wrong is something I never want to do again. After completing the course, I had hoped to learn if any of my assignments were actually correct. I am disappointed in the outcome.

автор: Annigje F

Dec 30, 2016

The peer-review rubrics need adjustments.. it's very hard to grade anyone this way. Especially when the answers are just wrong.

The staff/teachers/instructors CAN BE A LOT MORE INVOLVED ON THE FORUM!

автор: Melissa S

Feb 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much! I learned a lot and I will looking for more courses in the same field.

The lectures, extra videos, and the invited guests explaining a bit about their work were some of the best I've seen in a MOOC. Perhaps I missed my calling when I didn't study osteoarcheology.

This is an awesome course and I'd love to see a followup course.

Congratulations on a fantastic job, Dr. Andrea Waters-Rist and team!

автор: Yelena L

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderfull course, one of the best on Coursera that I have seen. Assignments give students opportunity to try actual methods of osteoarchaeology themselves. Quality videos and interesting case studies.

автор: Daina N A

Dec 11, 2018

I absolutely love this course (and I haven't even finished yet - almost done with the final module). The instructors are great and there videos are very informative. The optional videos are great ways to better visualize the lecture courses. I thoroughly enjoy the challenge and experience working of each module assignment that culminates into one overall project/case. The assignments are thought provoking, and it is interesting to see the different approaches and conclusions that other's reach upon reading their work for peer review.

The only reason I gave this course 4/5 stars is because, as someone who doesn't have a background in Anthropology or Archaeology, there were times when the technical content was hard for me to conceptualize. I wish that there were reading assignments that can be read in preparation for an upcoming video or module. I think that available reading assignments would have significantly improved my learning experience and understanding of the lesson material.

автор: Nathalie W

Jan 06, 2020

I like the course, things are quite clear and straightforward. I particularly like the fact that you need to do some work yourself, with the mysteries. You need to practice what you learned rather than just read a course. I am going to university as a mature student where I will study archaeology but eventually, I would like to work in osteology/osteoarchaeology. This is one of the reasons I did this course.

What I like less about it, is that peers have to review your work. Now, I have not had issues personally (I passed with 92.5%). But there is so much wriggle room with wrong/right answers and we are not trained in properly grading work.

The other thing I didn't really like is the fact that there is no help available. There is a forum, but there are no longer any volunteers who can help with questions and issues (course work-wise).

These last 2 things are the reason I have given it 4* instead of 5*.

автор: patricia z c

Jul 24, 2019

Dejar la evaluación en manos de otros alumnos me parece vergonzoso, he tenido que repetir el curso tres ediciones hasta conseguir que alguien revisara mis trabajos. Como consecuencia, he recibido mi certificado más tarde y no he podido adjuntarlo a mi curriculum. Deberían cambiar esta metodología. Por otra parte, el precio me parece un poco excesivo para el contenido del curso. No lo recomendaría.

автор: Cynthia R

Mar 26, 2017

This is a wonderful course for someone who knew absolutely nothing about osteoarchaeology or that osteoarchaeology is even a field! The lectures were stimulating and full of information - so much was new to me that I listened to all of them twice. The general format was perfect - a very good combination of lectures, discussions (the teaching assistants' information videos were very helpful), interviews, quizzes and homework assignments. The homework assignments were particularly useful in in helping me to absorb all of the information presented in the lectures, forums, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Thank you so much for creating it.

автор: Tracy N

Nov 03, 2016

Amazing course... what set this apart from other online learning experiences is the highly informational and instructional video content. This course was developed thoughtfully, allowing for various learning styles to be successful. Students are able to enjoy the experience of learning, and method engagement required is both fascinating and educational. The lead instructors of this course are highly engaging and present material with perfect clarity and purpose. I highly recommend this course and will be looking for more from this university and the authors.

автор: Genevieve S

May 25, 2017

I am taking this course over even though I passed all the assignments because it's so fascinating! If you have any interest in archeology, you should take this course! I also appreciate the open-mindedness of the instructor and her teaching assistants. It's a rare thing in today's world to find teachers who openly encourage you to look at the world from a religious viewpoint (if you are so inclined), as well as a scientific one, and to acknowledge that these two ways of thinking are not mutually exclusive.

автор: Megan W

Aug 23, 2019

This course was really informative and thorough. I enjoyed it immensely. Discussion prompts with my fellow classmates resulted in a truly interesting and interactive experience. The only potential con I could let people know about, is that there are quite a few quizzes and assignments. These are necessary given the volume of information provided, but it does make this course more of a commitment on top of a full-time job, and other life stuff. Cheers! :)

автор: Noemí R G

Apr 06, 2019

¡Uno de los mejores curso online que he realizado!

Este curso ha cumplido mis expectativas totalmente, me ha enseñado más de lo que yo esperaba y ha hecho que me guste el estudio de los huesos animándome a aprender mucho más sobre este tema.

One of the best online course I've done!

This course has fully met my expectations, has taught me more than I expected and has made me like the study of bones by encouraging me to learn much more about this subject.

автор: James A

Jul 13, 2020

A wonderful course. I came to this with no prior knowledge and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it was not easy, it was certainly do-able and a nice stretch. It encourages thought and is really well put together.

One improvement though would be the programme running behind it - it kept thinking I had missed coursework (when I hadn't) and asking me to resent my deadlines. Just a glitch that needs sorting out!

That aside, highly recommended.

автор: A. R

Sep 01, 2018

The course is magnificent for people in and outside of the osteoarchaeology field. For beginners, it is a good way to know what our profession does and the multiple branches and data it might reach. To students of archaeology or biological anthropology, it is a good way to re-study the bases and learn minor details very important to us that could help us specializing in one of the many fields we have.

автор: Agustin O

Nov 07, 2016

I think it was a great introduction to the field and I hope to learn more in the near future. Thanks to all the people that helped create it. My only criticism is the lack of understanding by the other students when they grade others papers. Giving low scores without giving any feedback is not helpful.

All in all, I had fun taking this course.

автор: Brandon E K

Dec 07, 2016

Absolutely a fantastic and brilliant experience, one in which I would recommend to anyone choosing a history, archaeology, anthropology or anatomy related career path. I learned so much and gained both a new insight in studying the human anatomy and a new interest in what I would like to study further for my career.

автор: Anthony

Sep 15, 2017

The "solve a mystery" structure of the course makes the assessment part a lot of fun whilst echoing the kind of Problem Based Learning approach common to some of the best university courses. All the materials and contributors work well together to create a fun, welcoming learning environment.

автор: Mike B

Jun 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this course , it taught me a lot about the Human Skeleton and I will now look at Bones in a very different way, and will be able to "read" them a little, my thanks go to Dr Andrea Waters-Rist and her Team for an interesting time, thank you . Mike Brogan

автор: Małgosia K

Nov 05, 2016

It was short, therefore it touched all the matters very superficially, however it was definitely a course on an academic level and it gave solid basis for future studies, and it's not just a rhetoric figure. Thank you, I am proud of myself, that I passed.

автор: Maria N A

Nov 06, 2016

A truly stellar experience. The course structure is very well thought off and the information given just about right for a short seminar. I would love a sequel with the topics that we did not cover. Thank you very much for this educational experience.

автор: Kari P

Jun 01, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The information was presented well and the videos were easy to view on a busy schedule. I appreciated the organization and structure of the modules as they pertained to the weekly objectives. I learned a lot!