Chevron Left
Вернуться к Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones от партнера Лейденский университет

4.7
Оценки: 285
Рецензии: 97

О курсе

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Лучшие рецензии

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 95 отзывов о курсе Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

автор: Douglas M

Dec 13, 2016

This course is very interesting with well thought-out content that involves the student very actively from the first lesson. The assignments are challenging but also very exciting. I consider is a unique innovation in MOOC courses. The professor give excellent information interspersed with interesting case studies. Unfortunately, there was no interaction in my iteration of the course, or any apparent involvement whatsoever, from any TA's or mentors. All questions remained unanswered (except by other students), and frustrated calls for help and advice were ignored. The majority of the course's mark (60%) is determined by fellow students using a rubric which leaves little true 'wiggle room' between pass and fail marks. The mystery cases on which we worked during the course were never 'resolved' or explained in any way, which would have been nice after the effort that went into them. I would recommend the content of the course 'for fun' but if anyone is looking for an accurate assessment of material learned, try another course.

автор: Daina N A

Dec 11, 2018

I absolutely love this course (and I haven't even finished yet - almost done with the final module). The instructors are great and there videos are very informative. The optional videos are great ways to better visualize the lecture courses. I thoroughly enjoy the challenge and experience working of each module assignment that culminates into one overall project/case. The assignments are thought provoking, and it is interesting to see the different approaches and conclusions that other's reach upon reading their work for peer review.

The only reason I gave this course 4/5 stars is because, as someone who doesn't have a background in Anthropology or Archaeology, there were times when the technical content was hard for me to conceptualize. I wish that there were reading assignments that can be read in preparation for an upcoming video or module. I think that available reading assignments would have significantly improved my learning experience and understanding of the lesson material.

автор: Yelena L

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderfull course, one of the best on Coursera that I have seen. Assignments give students opportunity to try actual methods of osteoarchaeology themselves. Quality videos and interesting case studies.

автор: Melissa S

Feb 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much! I learned a lot and I will looking for more courses in the same field.

The lectures, extra videos, and the invited guests explaining a bit about their work were some of the best I've seen in a MOOC. Perhaps I missed my calling when I didn't study osteoarcheology.

This is an awesome course and I'd love to see a followup course.

Congratulations on a fantastic job, Dr. Andrea Waters-Rist and team!

автор: Di A

Oct 15, 2016

Love the content, tutorials etc. but the peer review way of marking is not fair.

I unfortunately withdrew because of this. I & others were never going to succeed. This is because peers who are also having problems, not sure of what they are doing are the ones marking the assessments.

Not giving refunds after the 2 week cut off is also unfair. This must be how you make your money for these free courses.

автор: Jacquelene B

May 13, 2019

Very interesting subject matter. Lecture content is well presented and just challenging enough to make you think a little when you're completing the course assignments. It would be nice if the work was a little more detailed (purely because my interest has now been peaked) and if the assignments were a little more spaced out (I found one a week was a bit of a push for me)

автор: Noemí R G

Apr 06, 2019

¡Uno de los mejores curso online que he realizado!

Este curso ha cumplido mis expectativas totalmente, me ha enseñado más de lo que yo esperaba y ha hecho que me guste el estudio de los huesos animándome a aprender mucho más sobre este tema.

One of the best online course I've done!

This course has fully met my expectations, has taught me more than I expected and has made me like the study of bones by encouraging me to learn much more about this subject.

автор: Ivana S

Feb 28, 2019

I liked this course very much, lessons were well prepared, and easy to understand even for me - beginner in the osteoarcheology area. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in anthropology.

автор: Krystyna S

Feb 20, 2019

Fascinating and very informative course

автор: Yenny A A S

Feb 12, 2019

Excelente curso, contenido especializado pero muy claro, con muchos ejemplos y bibliografía.

автор: Pauline D

Feb 06, 2019

Good introductory material without being simplistic.

автор: E M B

Dec 17, 2018

This course provided great illustrations and information regarding the various specialties in human osteology.

автор: Wojciech W

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course with wonderful teachers and materials. I learned a lot of things about bones and how they help archeologists to understand the past better

автор: LUDOVIC C

Oct 03, 2018

Course extremely well built and documented. Very nice and exciting.

автор: Veronica E

Sep 20, 2018

I learned a lot and found the assignments relevant and useful for achieving a better understanding the material. Great course!

автор: A. R

Sep 01, 2018

The course is magnificent for people in and outside of the osteoarchaeology field. For beginners, it is a good way to know what our profession does and the multiple branches and data it might reach. To students of archaeology or biological anthropology, it is a good way to re-study the bases and learn minor details very important to us that could help us specializing in one of the many fields we have.

автор: Hasan m

Jun 23, 2018

good

автор: Mike B

Jun 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this course , it taught me a lot about the Human Skeleton and I will now look at Bones in a very different way, and will be able to "read" them a little, my thanks go to Dr Andrea Waters-Rist and her Team for an interesting time, thank you . Mike Brogan

автор: Melissa v R

May 21, 2018

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

автор: Ziggy

Apr 08, 2018

This is an awesome course but they have the cheesy "Peer-Reviewed" assignments. Even if you get 100% on the quizzes you still must do peer reviewed assignments. The course is basically impossible because the other "learners" are assholes who give you 3/5 and fail your ass.

автор: Roger F

Mar 27, 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!

автор: Gleb E

Mar 26, 2018

Just a perfect course!

автор: Olivia K

Mar 12, 2018

Detailed course with excellent staff and challenging assignments.

автор: Paul R

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent

автор: kouassi n c

Feb 03, 2018

Je ne connaissais pas tout cela sur mes os et mes dents quelques trucs mais rien de plus, je suis satisfaite de ce cours il est très instructif