Chevron Left
Вернуться к Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds от партнера Альбертский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 987
Рецензии: 312

О курсе

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Лучшие рецензии

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 305 отзывов о курсе Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

автор: RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 25, 2020

good

автор: Mona A A

Jun 04, 2020

G

O

O

D

автор: wahaab A

Nov 30, 2016

nice

автор: Deleted A

Apr 27, 2017

F

автор: Crystal B

Dec 08, 2016

L

автор: Jakob G

Jul 16, 2019

This was a great course to grasp the relationship between theropods and birds, and also to follow the development of therapods and realize the big differences between these.

Having English as a second language, I'm quite used to getting around even in an academical context that is fully English. However, I had a hard time with all the anatomical references, especially bone parts that apparently are referenced in Latin rather than English. I had to give the course another round, carefully building my glossary as the course went on. I did this to have some kind of reference document during the course, and it actually worked fins, but if you ask me in a month or so I will probably have already forgot which one is a sternum and which one is the tibia :-)

автор: João L d S

Jun 22, 2020

It is a good introductory course. Since I am pursuing a career in paleontology I found some little inconsistencies that are not great problems. But one bothers me: saying that Huxley said birds descended from dinosaurs. This is not true.

SWITEK, Brian. Thomas Henry Huxley and the reptile to bird transition. Geological Society, London, Special Publications, v. 343, n. 1, p. 251-263, 2010.

автор: Lily A N

Aug 02, 2017

This was a very well put together and thought-out course. Overall, the information presented was well ordered and the learning aids (lecture notes, tree of life, & glossary) matched/expanded the video content. Tho only issues would be that: the quizzes were a little too easy and, when book-marked, the pdf file links provided would no longer work.

автор: DC

Jul 11, 2018

The cladistic and taxonomic terminology is overwhelming, interspersed with absurdly easy quizzes, but all in all a good course and all materials are available for free. As usual, Dr. Persons can get a bit out of control with the theatrical gestures and facial expressions but I would recommend this course.

автор: Dr. J S

Mar 25, 2016

Perfect course. I learned lot of stuff and really enjoyed it. I am only giving 4 stars because as a non-paying student I could not benefit from the graded assignments. As person who would never use the knowledge professionally (working in IT), I did not want to pay for the certificate.

автор: Stephanie V

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting and very informative. Well-presented and engaging videos. These were often quite long though (25 - 30 mins) and could perhaps have been broken down into two smaller chunks which would have made the information (of which there was lots) more digestible.

автор: David D

Jan 25, 2019

Great course. My first thoughts were learning about bird evolution might need seem all that interesting but because it all starts with the dinosaurs we are somewhat familiar with, this approach makes it highly stimulating.

Well spoken and well presented.

автор: Skylore M

Jul 02, 2017

The course is exceptional, but loses track near the end. In the beginning it has detailed taxonomical images of relevant bone-structure which is entirely missing by the final chapter.

автор: Angel A M

Apr 12, 2017

Es un curso muy útil ya que nos enseña como fue el proceso de evolución de los dinosaurios para finalmente convertirse en voladores..

автор: Cindy G L

Mar 17, 2020

Fantastic course on theropods, I just wish they went a bit more into detail with some of the anatomy

автор: kim p

Sep 14, 2017

I really liked the subject of this course. I love to see more bird related courses

автор: Maria W O

Mar 30, 2016

Overall good course, although at times narrow understanding of right answers.

автор: Rebecca E

Feb 22, 2016

Very interesting course, kept me involved and was very interactive.

автор: Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

Tough to pass. Great scientific info. Instructor born to teach.

автор: Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

автор: Erick J A O

Mar 20, 2016

I'd like to be able to take a free version of the quizzes.

автор: Tom H

Mar 03, 2016

Really interesting, nicely presented.

автор: Javier

Jun 17, 2017

Podrían poner traducción al español

автор: Richard K

May 26, 2017

well done