Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Science of Well-Being

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Science of Well-Being от партнера Йельский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 9,498
Рецензии: 3,468

О курсе

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Лучшие рецензии

MV

Jan 31, 2019

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

BT

Nov 27, 2019

Loved the practical "rewiring" assignments that helped me with understanding what really makes us happy. Not only this course changed my life perspective but enriched the lives of the people around me

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 3,540 отзывов о курсе The Science of Well-Being

автор: Alyona

Oct 11, 2018

This course is absolutely great and it met almost all of my expectations! Lectures with professor Laurie Santos were interesting, motivating and enjoyable. Sometimes I felt my mood lightening only by watching them. Also I really liked interviews with guests and students. It was really nice to see and hear points of view of other people on topics discussed.

The course has scientific approach rather than spiritual one. That suited me well, though sometimes I caught myself wanting to know more about how to decipher and interpret graphs. During this course I've discovered miswanting and how to handle it, power of gratitude and WOOP technique. It was interesting to read, what other students chose to practice during rewirement challenge and how they managed to achieve their goals.

Overall I'm really grateful for this course and for the work done to make it. Thank you!

автор: Raybeth D M S

Jun 23, 2019

I did this course in order to find real and genuine reasons for happiness, I have recommended it to several people around me, but beyond that I want to thank Yale University, the Coursera platform and all the people who just as I seek answers from life, your comments were good contributions. I feel happy and satisfied to have finished the course and to see that, through the promotion of wellness tools, little by little my perspective of happiness was changing, but the most important thing was to feel it practicing kindness, social connection, time affluence, mind control and health practices. I learned that understanding theory is necessary, but it is in the action that our real desire for change is centered. I will continue working to meditate every day, it is the commitment that I have with myself. Thank you.

автор: Sally M

May 18, 2018

I enjoyed everything about this course and I felt supported by

the whole framework of the course and the very personal, friendly and

empathetic way it was presented by Professor Santos. I think I subconsciously

responded to the way that she included herself in the exploration too from the

start - in that I didn't feel I was being told what to do (which makes me rebel)

but rather I felt invited to be part of an exciting experiment with a group of

others, so I also felt part of a team. This feeling continues now and I intend to

continue with my new well-being habits and so far, it feels really easy to do that.

I am definitely experiencing the benefits of having done this course and I think it's a course that everyone can benefit from - from teenagers through to elderly people.

Sally M. Australian, 45 years old

автор: Phyllis M

Jul 17, 2018

Laurie has a good mix of facts, research and stories. The course is very informative. I have bought several books and learned a lot about myself that will help me be happier. It also found that things I do make me happy even though others may not rate them as high as I do. For example I do not have a significant other but I have many friends both near and around the world. I love the work I do as a professor and corporate trainer. I also have several life long hobbies. I often enjoy them and lose track of time. I love the final outcome of my hobbies.

Thanks Laurie. Great class. I would recommend it to others. I read several of Martin Seligman's books and that path led to you. I also read Shawn Achor's books and loved his YouTube video which I reference in my professional courses on Lean and selling.

автор: Connie S H

May 09, 2020

Wow. Just wow. This course changed my life.

In February 2020, I quit smoking after 26 years (it is a very depressing process). Three weeks later, I got fired from my Executive-level job. Two weeks after that, I was home-bound by the pandemic. I was having panic attacks pretty much 24/7.

I started the class with little hope--not that I had hope in anything. But, I have a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology, so obviously I believe in mental health.

The change wasn't immediate, but once I started the rewirement process, it all took hold. I read three of the books that were referenced in the course-FLOW, Stumbling upon Happiness, and Mindset. These also helped solidify the information in my mind.

Thank you. I plan to work on getting happier and happier!

автор: David L G

Jun 14, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! I had quite a few ah-ha moments. I would recommend this course to anyone that has been "chasing" happiness and wellness and is looking for research proven strategies to finally achieve some form of wellness in their life. Surprisingly, I was already on track with many of the strategies the course recommended but did learn some new things, which I have begun incorporating in my life. I also can't tell you how terrific it is to have access to all of the books, Ted Talks, and research articles that support the videos and other instructions, along with the surveys you can take for free to gain a little insight into who you are, how happy you are currently, and what your strengths are. This was just a terrific course!

автор: Zahid B

May 14, 2020

To summarize this course: The most impactful lessons in life are often the most simplest!

The content in this course has been thought provoking and life changing. I wish this course could reach the younger generation, as they can develop these productive and positive habits before they enter further education and the world of work! The leaders in our society/media organisations have a duty to showcase a purposeful and productive life, whilst promoting positive well-being in work places if they want to see a happier society. Courses like this are a priceless way of helping people to find solutions to their low mood, negative health habits and ungratefulness. Dr Laurie Santos is a remarkable and inspiring woman who is a role model for many!

автор: Nakshatra S

May 04, 2020

This course is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time. I want to talk about the course in detail. The course is detailed and I am sure you will almost double your happiness levels once you finish this course. Laurie is so good at teaching that it feels like you are physically there in the class attending the lecture. All the extra material that is provided with the course just widens your perspective towards various things. It doesn't matter for whatever reason you are thinking to take this course, once you finish it you will have much more than that. Thank you so much Laurie for this, I can't wait to meet you some day. But Thanks for creating this I feel happy, excited & motivated to do things even while writing this.

автор: Amlesh R

Apr 30, 2020

So very grateful to Prof. Laurie for navigating such a meaningful and life-enhancing course in such a lucid and convincing way. Her candid confessions of her own deficiencies in some aspects of happiness, was so disarming. I have learned so much about the fundamentals of well being and happiness and how and why our mind is often the biggest hurdle in our quest for happiness. Be it knowing, what really makes us happy and understanding why we keep making wrong choices for our happiness, in every aspect, this course is spot on. Not a surprise that The Science of Well-being course by Prof Laurie is the best ever at Yale. Hope, this course is done by many. many more across the world in every age group. I am ensuring that my wife

автор: Homa F

Jun 08, 2018

This was my first course on coursera and I enjoyed every bit of it. I have learnt so much by putting the knowledge into practice, with positive results. I didn't expect the course to take as much time as it did, but that could be due to my time schedule and not how much the course demanded. I paid for the course so I would take it seriously which helped me in being more disciplined and of course to also get a certificate. I would recommend this course if you are trying to lear how to rewire your mind and having a better understanding of 'Misconceptions about Happiness' - 'Why our expectations are so bad' -'What stuff really increases happiness' - 'Strategies to reset you expectations' and 'Putting strategies into practice'.

автор: Amanda M

May 17, 2020

Dr. Santos does an excellent job to teach us the science behind well-being and seeking happiness. The timing of the class was fantastic as I needed the refocus on happiness and gratitude during the Covid-19 quarantine. Dr. Santos was intelligent and easy to understand. Her examples and lectures were interesting and helpful. I am very grateful that I took this online class as I was able to choose a rewirement that has made me more happy and is helping my well being. The videos and transcriptions were excellent to use on a laptop. The online class was not as user friendly on a cell phone. The quizzes were easy if you paid attention. The peer reviews and forums were amazing to learn from people from all over the world!

автор: Michael D

Aug 28, 2019

I have been lucky enough to have a couple of months of downtime as I consider a significant transition in my life. Serendipitously, I stumbled upon this course and engaged out of curiosity. It was the right medicine at the right time. I learnt a lot and was given the language and logic to articulate several matters of personal significance . Before the course, I was feeling relatively content. Upon completion of the course, I am in a very good place. I found the content well presented, engaging and fascinating. I enjoyed the intellectual stimulation of reading around the topic but I particularly enjoyed the experiential nature of the course. Undertaking this course has been time very well spent on a number of levels.

автор: Romona J W

Jul 10, 2019

The instructor for the course was exceptional. She made taking the course delightful. Her approach to teaching put me at ease and caused me to be open to learning things from a different perspective. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to help other's by being an example themselves and that doesn't mean that they should be perfect, but conscious enough that they soon can recover from any setback or mistake and move forward. We need more models such as this. Models that lead through relations with holding themselves accountable too. The instructor, presented herself as authentic and shared with us some of her vulnerabilities too. I am now developing new skills and I am the wiser. Thank you, Coursera.

автор: Sandra G

May 27, 2020

The course gave me a broader perspective of how to gain happiness. Extremely helpful and I'm really happy I took it. I now find myself thinking of many of the lessons daily. And it can help my mood or my approach to something I’m dealing with. Being aware of how the rewirements also help you physically is a good motivator. It’s difficult at times to not revert back to certain negative feelings, but now I have a way to deal with those times, or a way to replace them with helpful thoughts and behaviors. This is an excellent course…very enlightening, interesting, and informative. Also, very helpful. Actually, I think it would be great if all Americans would take this course. The whole world, actually.

автор: Jan M

Jun 28, 2019

This was a great course. I honestly lived this course every day, and it worked. It was good fun too, and not too taxing. The professor was fun, and if you want this certificate, you'll get it. It was fun, not challenging, but the strategies rubbed off. It is a perfect course for a beginner, or someone who has been doing the more difficult courses on Coursera, and needs a light-hearted break, for a few weeks. Real life strategies, ppl, real life strategies! There is a mass of references in this course, so if you want to get into psychology, and you want access to primo readings, I recommend. I didn't think it could be possible but Laurie is the coolest professor out. Loved the course!!! Go and do it, ppl!!!

автор: Joe M

May 31, 2020

This class was extremely hard not so much the learning aspect but the work you need to put in. To find out in oneself that you are ungrateful was a big reality check for me,yes it hurt but truth does. Finding kindness for me mended,fixed,and rewired my heart which made me a better person. I enjoyed all the classmates, their real input made it much easier to go through a struggle or obstacle you can't seem to get the answer for yourself. Professor Santos was amazing and brilliant, she always came from a different side of things making you use your creative mindset. I never had Teacher/Professor so unique. Great course, mindful thinking has greatly improved my well being. Thank You to everyone.

автор: Binh T L

Apr 29, 2020

The course is well established and very engaging thanks to Prof. Laurie's friendliness and good sense of humour. The scientific contents are just of the right levels, without being too technical; informative, and very interesting as some research findings are completely opposite to what we normally perceive. The rewirements accompanying the lectures are a plus as they can be put into practice directly. In other words, positive effects on well-being can be seen as you are learning. I would highly recommend this course to anyone regardless of how one thinks about their state of well-being. This course could, in any way, bring about improvements to your health and happiness.

автор: Kerstin

Aug 05, 2018

This is by far the best and most helpful course I've ever completed online, probably even in person. Laurie Santos is an absolute pleasure to watch on camera, something where many other courses, despite being informative, really fall behind. The material is presented in a really interesting and informative way and it set me up with the necessary tools to fall out of a deep hole I wasn't able to get out of. I didn't know why I was unhappy but this course helped me to realise that I was chasing the wrong things, how to find out what I really wanted and reminded me of some tools I can use now and in the future to prevent this from happening. I haven't been happier since.

автор: Corinne S

May 30, 2020

Incredible to do this class during COVID-19. It was a helpful tool in dealing with so much uncertainty during this time. This class helped me understand my own triggers for happiness, and they weren't necessarily the things I thought they were. After understanding the science of what makes us TRULY happy, I feel I'm in a surer place to choose what I absolutely know DOES contribute to my wellness and positive state of mind - even under incredibly challenging circumstances. The additional resources (books, readings and Tedtalks) were exceptionally helpful and fascinating. Lori is a great guide in sharing and presenting information. So grateful I discovered this class!!

автор: Kyriaki S

Apr 19, 2020

Dr. Santos, I am a SEN teacher, speciality in autism. This course has been extraordinarily helpful because I have my health, my family and its very nature a time of life that can be difficult. I am fortunate to be an active yoga devotee. I was prompted to take this course by the difficult mental health stress that I have passed earlier.

I wanted to pass on to you that this course has helped me recenter and to feel that there are things that I can do to enjoy living without perseverating about the negatives. I have read Thanks and Mindfulness for Beginners. And I have become an advocate of the course, sharing details with friends I hope will take it.

Thank you,

Kyriaki

автор: Christi L E

May 20, 2018

Highly recommend this course IF you are willing to dedicate your time to not just learning the material, but to the actual application of it to your own life on a daily basis. In order to achieve the maximum benefit and return for putting forth the effort to obtain a life of happiness . The educational material provided does not just start and end with the course, but will continue for a life time.This is an amazing course and I am so glad I found it extremely engaging, challenging and participated with my entire heart and mind to soak up as much as possible. I am planning on continuing my path of self learning and advancement for the betterment of myself.

автор: Emesh F

Apr 29, 2020

Absolutely awesome course. Well designed, and well put together to keep us engaged and motivated. I always wanted to attend an IVY league institution, but of course financially, and academically I was not up to par with those dreams even if I was an honors student. Being able to attend "virtually" and complete this course, as well as receiving a certificate of completion at the end, is pretty solid. I learned a great deal and promoted this to many military members I know as well as Friends and Family as I believe they can benefit immensely from this course. Thank you Prof Santos and YALE for allowing us the opportunity to attend and complete this course.

автор: Taoufiq J

Apr 19, 2019

What I learned from this course that we could live all our life without knowing the real meaning of happiness, simply because we haven't the right information.

However now I could say that all my exeptations (Grades, Job, Money, Material things, Love, ...) in life had another impact on my daily life

In Addition, I learnt how to react when I have annonyings futures and replace it with new habits as Gratitude, Support situation, Savoring, Exercice, Social support, bref I have a new Happiness Mindset

Finaly I could say thank you to the teacher Laurie Santos and Yale University, because of you, Now I see life from another perspective

Thank you :)

Taoufiq Janati

автор: Karen F

Dec 13, 2019

Very methodical. All assignments were challenging. The time for the duration of the course seems appropriate. I liked the reading materials and purchased a few of the books. I noticed the biggest change was when I practiced my character strengths. I wonder why it took me so long to just do the things that make me happy! The science is fascinating. It confirms some of the things I suspected, and also introduced me to new information, especially about how the brain works. I am more appreciative of simple solutions. I feel a forward momentum towards more joy and happiness and I couldn't be more grateful. Thank you Laurie Santos! You did an amazing job!