Chevron Left
Вернуться к Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики от партнера Лейденский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,632
Рецензии: 636

О курсе

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Лучшие рецензии

LZ
22 мая 2016 г.

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20 сент. 2017 г.

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Фильтр по:

601–616 из 616 отзывов о курсе Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики

автор: Walter C L J

24 авг. 2015 г.

It is a great theme, but at many points the course focuses on "who said what", regarding authors and papers, and emphasizes this type of question throughout all the tests. I think a longer course where these statements and papers could be properly discussed and explained would easily be a 5-star rating. The instructor clearly knows a lot on the subject and the material is top quality.

автор: Saim S

12 апр. 2016 г.

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

автор: Matthys J U

14 сент. 2015 г.

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

автор: ANDRES H C

18 окт. 2020 г.

Interesting. It is not my prefer topic, but it's worth to learn somthing on the subject

автор: Janet Q

1 авг. 2019 г.

Unfortunately, articles listed as optional reading end up on the quiz at week's end.

автор: Martin M

27 мая 2018 г.

basic knowledge, nothing special.

автор: Christopher R

28 июля 2020 г.

Very good

автор: Roberto G G

25 июня 2020 г.

The Quizzes are more about the text that you will read, some of them wrote by the teacher, and inferred that the accessibility is by purchase some since links lead you to the sales page. Besides it, the mentioned quizzes are just word tricks. They do not intend to measure your general knowledge about the subject, but about details. I conclude it just because it is not my position to back down, and I was approved.

You can do better reading by yourself the recommended paper. Knowledged does not need someone to gratified it by contrivance.

автор: laura

30 нояб. 2015 г.

no se puede realizar el trabajo final en español, solamente en ingles, me parece mal, es un curso interesante y por supuesto enigmatico pero al no poderlo hacer en mi lengua me decepciona mucho

автор: jason m

29 мая 2020 г.

Instructor was engaging and informative. Course is dated with recent global events. Quizzes tested more of what student didn't know rather on what they were learning.

автор: Joel B

21 авг. 2016 г.

more about the study of terrorism than about terrorism

автор: Francisco E B A

26 сент. 2015 г.

Just for get our opinion.

автор: Genaro B

25 июня 2016 г.

Superficial

автор: Margot D

21 окт. 2015 г.

I've taken this course for a while but prefered to stop as I found it very not academic in terms of ethics and objectivity. It spreads anxiety and takes too much liberty with History.

автор: Meeran

22 мая 2016 г.

Can be better

автор: david c

18 нояб. 2015 г.

it was halful