Chevron Left
Вернуться к Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики от партнера Лейденский университет

4.7
Оценки: 2,213
Рецензии: 540

О курсе

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Лучшие рецензии

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Фильтр по:

501–521 из 521 отзывов о курсе Терроризм и борьба против терроризма: сравнение теории и практики

автор: John G

Mar 02, 2017

Interesting and informative, but the material seemed dated. The paper on Jihadi terrorists in Europe is from 2006, and information from the global terrorism database is from 2010, for example. Some of the lecture content also seemed years behind the times -- like the omission of any mention of the increase in terrorist attacks in Western Europe. (Yes, the lecture on foreign fighters was more current.)

Maybe it's there somewhere, but all MOOCs should disclose when the lectures were recorded.

автор: Scott A C

Aug 26, 2016

Good review of the theory but course is outdated given the number of events in the last 2 years that relate to the information provided in the course -- particularly as it relates to attacks

автор: Matthias C

Feb 24, 2016

Average. Doesn't really like the Professor's style. He spends too many time trying to explain that he feels really concern about the victims etc. I feel that the content of the class could have been interesting but the organization was messy. Finally it gives the impression that academics know barely anything about the subject. I would have prefer a more historical approach. Overall i've watched all the content but in the future i won't spend much time checking for new Mooc from him. Thanks for the try though

автор: Kerstin K

Mar 29, 2016

Altogether a useful introduction to an interesting topic -- despite the generalizing approach and the sometimes conservative instead of neutral presentation.

автор: Matthys J U

Sep 14, 2015

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

автор: RBUlrich

Sep 04, 2016

In general good, but not updated - seems from around 2013, so the new developments are not mentioned.

автор: Saim S

Apr 13, 2016

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

автор: Paulo D

Jan 13, 2016

Bien explique pour le instructeur. bravo!

Manque quelque tractions en FRANCE

автор: Elena D

Mar 27, 2016

Not updated data

автор: 4124

May 28, 2018

basic knowledge, nothing special.

автор: Janet Q

Aug 01, 2019

Unfortunately, articles listed as optional reading end up on the quiz at week's end.

автор: Bruno M

Sep 29, 2019

Some readings were not up to date anymore

автор: Joel B

Aug 21, 2016

more about the study of terrorism than about terrorism

автор: Francisco E B A

Sep 26, 2015

Just for get our opinion.

автор: Thomasybruce

Aug 15, 2015

A very good and thought provoking course.

It is a re-run of an archived course and sadly a number of reference materials that had been on the dashboard are not reposted with it. Also there are references to discussion forums that don't exist. If the missing material and content were up to date it would be a strong and complete course.

автор: laura

Nov 30, 2015

no se puede realizar el trabajo final en español, solamente en ingles, me parece mal, es un curso interesante y por supuesto enigmatico pero al no poderlo hacer en mi lengua me decepciona mucho

автор: Genaro B

Jun 25, 2016

Superficial

автор: Kyle F

Oct 07, 2016

Material was interesting, but mentors/teaching assistants and the course director were non-existent. Hard to get any significant discussions going.

автор: Margot D

Oct 21, 2015

I've taken this course for a while but prefered to stop as I found it very not academic in terms of ethics and objectivity. It spreads anxiety and takes too much liberty with History.

автор: Meeran

May 22, 2016

Can be better

автор: david c

Nov 18, 2015

it was halful