Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
Оценки: 447
Рецензии: 133

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 132 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: Pedro J R D

Jan 05, 2018

I loved this course, it touched all the key areas of music production

автор: LeAttol ( E L

Aug 23, 2017

Loudon Stearns at First Impression Seems like a person Rushing You through a course. But In Contrast; He's a very hard Teacher to Please. Which is good because You Learn More. I've Learned a lot. ThankYou

автор: Steven S

Dec 12, 2017

I was able to learn technical concepts such as filters and compressors and be challenged by very specific quizzes! I liked being able to showcase beats in the class and see how classmates reviewed concepts as well. Nice!

автор: scott f

Feb 18, 2018

excellent class learned alot

автор: Daniel W

Jan 11, 2018

From the start it's all the main points you need and have to know. Coursera & Berklee have taken what usually costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and years to accomplish and gave the rest of us that same chance. This class is absolutely killer!

автор: Justin E

Aug 23, 2017

Very Good!It‘s so helpful for me!

автор: Dan C

Jul 07, 2018

This is a great course! Loudon is a great teacher and speaker. He has great pacing in his lessons. Ton's of great information packed into this one course! I also really like the idea of the assignments making us teach a topic back to the class. It is a great way to master a topic.

автор: ANGELO C D

Apr 16, 2019

master class

автор: Arturo F C F

May 04, 2019

I found the technical info really useful, especially because understanding what's going on physically while recording, gives you a more accurate sense of what needs to be done to improve the settings timing, leaving you with more time of fun instead of frustration.

автор: Sergio S

Apr 27, 2019

He disfrutado mucho haciendo este curso y aprendido mucho más de lo que podría haberme imagino gracias

автор: Garegin A

Mar 27, 2019

useful and great course !

автор: Tao S

May 27, 2019

Good course.

автор: Angel R

Jun 08, 2019

Excellent course i recomend it

автор: Dmytro K

Jul 06, 2019

Great presentation! Did this having some experience in production already, and it was valuable and generally exceeded expectations. Amazing production quality, good material, well planned, pleasant to go through. Done over a weekend.

автор: Golovastikov M

Jul 22, 2019

The great course! I'll recommend it to my friends.

автор: Ventsislav I

Aug 18, 2019

I was a great course! I was taught so much things!

автор: Diego B

Sep 05, 2019

I'm just finishing week 2, and I can see this is what I was missing to advance in my production.

Covering from the simplest hardware, passing thourgh all of the relevant configurations of DAW software, this completes all the pieces I was missing.

автор: Austin W

Dec 18, 2018

A well established & detailed class about music tech its very much opened my mind to the DAW and how it can apply for my own sound design. :^J

автор: Daniel S

Dec 05, 2018

Definitely lots of helpful material!

автор: JUAN S L D

Oct 17, 2018

Good course. Lack of help in the discussion Forums.

автор: Jairo B

Mar 28, 2017

good course!!!

автор: Francis G

Mar 08, 2018

Great foundational course. Lectures and content well curated and presented. Coursework is lacking imagination somewhat

автор: Hielmi A

Jun 06, 2017

Overall I felt this to be an excellent course, covering many aspects of Music Technology, in sufficient detail for students to gain a basic all round understanding of the subject.

автор: Wellington J

Jan 15, 2017

Vey informative

автор: Dhruv D

May 20, 2017

Great stuff! But can go a bit more into depth about music production itself.